Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce that the undermentioned Appointments and Transfer in the Civil Service were notified to them in the month of December, 1893 :-

APPOINTMENTS.

Admiralty, John Ryan to be Assistant Expense Accounts Officer (Second Class) at the Dockyards.

Robert Harvey to be Pensioner Writer.

- Education Department, John Joseph Meadowcroft to be Assistant Clerk (Abstractor Class).
- Land Registry, Ebenezer Sheffield to be Third Class Clerk.
- National Education Office: (Ireland), William Philip Fogarty, Gervase Joseph John Patrick Neville, Joseph Maxwell Scully, and Peter Sullivan to be Abstractors.
- Post Office, Robert' Frank Bradford, Charles George Freeling, William Howson Harpham, John Arthur Kewley, Thomas Percy Sayer, Thomas Cathery Small, and Charles William Whitehurst to be Clerks in the Confidential Enquiry Branch.

William Niner Cooper (Esher) and John Gorman Roberts (Connah's Quay) to be Postmasters.

Eliza Costelloe (Buttevant) and Sarah Hargreaves (Chapel Allerton, S.O.) to be Postmistresses.

Charlotte Sophia Halsey, Ethel May King, Emily Anna Lightning, Jessica Mary Richards,

and Helena Mary Ridges to be Female Clerks. William Biggs to be Paper Keeper in the Registry of the Secretary's Office, London.

John Lyall McDonald to be Sorting Clerk, Edinburgh.

Thomas Francis Fay to be Sorting Clerk, Dublin.

- Prisons Department (Scotland), Archibald Selkirk to be Clerk of Works.
- Prisons Service (Ireland), John Wilson McClung and Patrick McHugh to be Clerks in Prisons.
- Public Works Office (Ireland), William Sneyd Taylor and Michael John Tighe to be Assistant Surveyors of Buildings (Second Class) in the Architectural Department.
- Science and Art Department, Charles Harry Wylde to be Assistant Keeper in the Art Branch, South Kensington Museum.
- Stationery Office, Henry Robert Davis to be Posting Clerk (Abstractor Class).

Clerks of the Second Division.

- Admiralty (for temporary duty), Thomas Henry Hart, John William Hayes, William Henry Robertson, George Henry Schafer, and Louis Frank Thorne.
- Education Department, Percy John Harcus.

Patent Office, Cecil Tom Browne.

Post Office, Thomas Holmes Baxter, Frederick Alexander Cairns, Thomas Albert Morgan, Frederick Simpson Simmons, and Frederick Joseph Taylor.

Prisons Board (Ireland), James Keogh.

Boy Clerks.

- Admiralty (for temporary duty), Frank Henry Melhuish, William Edwin Mylam, and Lawrence Arthur Smith.
- Charity Commission, Frederick Charles Edward Cox.
- Customs (for temporary duty), Edward Charles Bastin, Berti John Brown, George Julian No. 26472. B

Gilbert, John Sydney Hill, William Lefevre Hughes, John Robert Kemble, Alfred Lewcock, Edwin Charles Robert Mumby, Wilfrid Henry Coates Plummer, Lewis Herbert Rider, and Charles Alfred Thorogood.

Education Department, Charles James Davies. Home Office, Douglas Oliver Connell.

Fost Office, Alfred Percy Awbery, Alexander Malcolm Brodie, and Arthur Edward Nicholls.

Trade, Board of, Alexander James Monahan.

TRANSFER, with the approval of the Lords Commissioners of Her Majesty's Treasury :--

Post Office, Thomas York, Boy Clerk, from the Charity Commission.

[Extract from the Dublin Gazette of December 29, 1893.]

ELECTION OF A REPRESENTATIVE PEER FOR IRELAND. Crown and Hanaper Office,

29th December, 1893.

IN pursuance of an Act, passed in the fortieth year of the reign of His Majesty King George the Third, entitled "An Act to regulate the mode " by which the Lords Spiritual and Temporal, and " the Commons, to serve in the Parliament of the " United Kingdom, on the part of Ireland, shall be " summoned and returned to the said Parliament," I do hereby give notice, that Writs bearing teste this day, have issued for electing a Temporal Peer of Ireland, to succeed to the vacancy made by the demise of Robert, Baron Clonbrock, in the House of Lords of the said United Kingdom, which said Writs are severally directed to the following Peers, whose right to vote at the elec-tions of Temporal Peers of Ireland has, upon claims made on their behalf, been admitted by the House of Lords of the said United Kingdom :-James, Duke of Abercorn.

John Henry De La Poer, Marquis of Waterford.

- Arthur Wills John Willington Trumbull Blundell, Marquis of Downshire.
- Thomas, Marquis of Headfort.

George John, Marquis of Sligo.

- Charles Stewart, Marquis of Londonderry. Henry Francis, Marquis Conyngham. James Edward William Theobald, Marquis of Ormonde.
- Hubert George, Marquis of Clanricarde.
- Charles Henry John, Earl of Waterford.
- Richard Edmund St. Lawrence, Earl of Cork.

Anthony Francis, Earl of Westmeath.

- Reginald, Earl of Meath.
- Arthur James Francis, Earl of Fingall.
- Ponsonby William, Earl of Drogheda.
- William Thomas Spencer, Earl Fitzwilliam.
- Henry Charles Keith, Earl of Kerry.
- John Stuart, Earl of Darnley.
- Charles George, Earl of Egmont.
- Frederick George Brabazon, Earl of Bessborough.
- Somerset Arthur, Earl of Carrick.
- John Vansittart Danvers, Earl of Lanesborough.
- Alexander William George, Earl Fife.
- Arthur Saunders William Charles Fox, Earl of Arran.
- James George Henry, Earl of Courtown.
- John Charles George, Earl of Mexborough.
- Edward, Earl Winterton.

Henry Ernest Newcomen, Earl of Kingston.

William Philip, Earl of Sefton.

John Strange, Earl of Roden.

Ernest George Henry Arthur, Earl of Lisburne,