## DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACTS, 1894 AND 1896.

RETURN of OUTBREAKS of the undermentioned DISEASES for the Week ended December 21th, 1898, distinguishing Counties (including Boroughs\*).

ANTHRAX.			GLANDERS (INCLUDING FARCT).			
County.	Outbreaks reported.	Animals Attacked,	,		Animals which remained	Animali
NT 4 1 4	No. 1 1	No. 1 1	County.	Out- breaks reported	Diseased at the	
WALES.	1	2	ENGLAND.	No.	No.	No.
Haddington Orkney	1 1 1 1 1	1 2 5 1	Essex	2 1 6		1 2 1 7 3
TOTAL	7	13	TOTAL	12		14

<sup>\*</sup> For convenience Berwick-upon-Tweed is considered to be in Northumberland, Dudley is considered to be in Worcestershire, Stockport is considered to be in Cheshire, and the city of London is considered to be in the county of London.

## ORDERS AS TO MUZZLING DOGS.

THE Board of Agriculture have by Order prescribed, as from the dates mentioned, the Muzzling of Dogs in the districts and parts of districts of Local Authorities, as follows:

City and Metropolitan Police Districts .-- County of London, County of Middlesex, City of London, Borough of Croydon, Borough of Kingston-on-Thames, Borough of Richmond (Surrey), Borough of West Ham. Such parts of the Counties of Essex, Hertford, Kent, and Surrey as are situate within the Metropolitan Police District (6 April, 1897).

Hampshire.—The petty sessional divisions of Petersfield (excluding the detached part of Bramshot), Droxford, and Fareham, in the county of Southampton. Borough of Portsmouth (15 November, 1898).

ent.—(1.) The petty sessional divisions of Rochester, Bearstead, Malling, Cranbrook, Tunbridge Wells, Tunbridge, Sevenoaks, Bromley, and Dartford (except such portions of the petty sessional divisions of Bromley and Dartford as are subject to the provisions of the City and Metropolitan Police Districts (Muzzling of Dogs) Temporary Order of 1897), and the municipal borough of Tenterden, in the county of Kent. Boroughs of Chatham, Gravesend, Maidstone, Rochester, and Tunbridge Wells (2 November, 1897).

(2.) The following petty sessional divisions, namely Faversham, Home, Ramsgate, Ashford, Elham, Wingham; the liberty of Romney Marsh; the municipal boroughs of Deal, Faversham, Hythe, Lydd, New Romney, and Sandwich; and the Cinque Port liberties as have not separate Commissions of the Peace; in the county of Boroughs of Canterbury, Dover Folkestone, Margate, and Ramsgate (15 February, 1898).

Lancashire.—County of Lancaster (except the Hundred of Lonsdale North of the Sands). Boroughs of Accrington, Ashton-under-Lyne, Bacup, Blackburn, Blackpool, Bolton, Bootle,

Burnley, Bury, Chorley, Clitheroc, Colne, Darwen, Eccles, Haslingden, Heywood, Lancaster, Liverpool, Manchester, Middleton, Mossiey, Nelson, Oldham, Preston, Rawtenstall, Rochdale, St. Helens, Salford, Southport, Warrington, Widnes, and Wigan (1 June, 1897).

Staffordshire.—The petty sessional divisions of Penkridge, Rugeley, Lichfield and Brownhills, Tamworth, Wolverhampton, Bilston, Sudgley, Willenhall, Rushall, Handsworth, Smethwick, Wednesbury, Tipton, Rowley Regis, and Kingswinford and Wordsley, in the county of Stafford. Boroughs of Lichfield, Tamworth, Waisall, Wednesbury, West Bromwich, and Wolverhampton (1 June, 1897).

Surrey.—County of Surrey (except such portion of the county as is situate within the Metropolitan Police District provision as to which portion is made by a separate Order of the Board). Boroughs of Guildford, and Reigate (1 October, 1897).

Sussex.—(1.) The petty sessional division of East Grinstead in the Eastern Division of the county of Sussex; the petty sessional division of Horsham in the Western Division of the county of Sussex (9 September, 1897)

(2.) The petty sessional divisions of Burwash. Battle, Frant, Hastings, Hailsham, Rye, and Uckfield; the municipal borough of Rye; the liberty of Petit Iham adjoining the parish of Winchelsea (commonly known as St. Leonard Winchelsea), and the liberty of the Sluice Bexhill, both being liberties of the Cinque Port of Hastings; in the Eastern Division of the county of Sussex. Boroughs of Eastbourne, and Hastings (28 September, 1397).

(3.) The petty sessi nut divisions of Midhurst, Petworth, and Chichester, and the municipal borough of Chichester, in the Western Division of the county of Sussex (15

October, 1897).

(4.) The petty sessional divisions of Cuckfield, Hove, and Lewes, in the Eastern Division of the county of Sussex; the petty sessional