either directly or through any Bookseller, from Eyre and Spottiswoode, East Harding-street, Fleet-street, E.C., and 32, Abingdon-street, Westminster, S.W.; or John Menzies and Co., 12, Hanover-street, Edinburgh, and 90, West Nilestreet, Glasgow; or Hodges, Figgis, and Co. Limited, 104, Grafton-street, Dublin.

THE DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACTS, 1894 AND 1896.

THE Board of Agriculture have appointed Arthur Kenneth Kemble to be a Temporary Assistant Inspector for the purposes of the above mentioned Acts.

Board of Agriculture, 23rd May, 1899.

ORDER OF THE BOARD OF AGRICULTURE.

(DATED 24TH MAY 1899.)

(Swine-Fever Infected Area.)

THE Board of Agriculture, by virtue and in exercise of the powers in them vested under the Diseases of Animals Acts, 1894 and 1896, and of every other power enabling them in this behalf, do order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:

1. The Area described in the Schedule to this Order is hereby declared to be an area infected with swine-fever for the purposes of the Swine-Fever (Infected Areas) Order of 1896.

2. The said Area, so long as it continues to be a Swine-Fever Infected Area, shall not be subject to the Swine-Fever (Movement) Order of 1898.

3. This Order shall come into operation on the thirty-first day of May, one thousand eight hundred and ninety-nine.

In witness whereof the Board of Agriculture have hereunto set their Official Seal this twenty-fourth day of May, one thousand eight hundred and ninety-nine.



J. T. Tennant, Assistant Secretary.

SCHEDULE.

An Area comprising the petty sessional divisions of Bilston, Wednesbury, Willenhall, Rushall, Handsworth, Tipton, and Rowley Regis, and the parishes of Amblecote, Kingswinford, Brierley Hill, Quarry Bank, Himley, Wednesfield, and Heath Town, in the county of Stafford; and also comprising the petty sessional divisions of Oldbury, Halesowen, and Stourbridge (except the parish of Belbroughton), and the parishes of Northfield and King's Norton, in the county of Worcester; and also comprising the boroughs of Walsall, Wednesbury, West Bromwich, and Dudley.

Copies of the above Order can be obtained on application to the Secretary, Board of Agriculture, 4, Whitehall Place, London, S.W.

Civil Service Commission, May 26, 1899.

THE following Candidates have been certified by the Civil Service Commissioners as qualified for the appointments set against their respective names:— May 18, 1899.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Customs: Assistant of Customs, Frank Smith.

Post Office: Assistant Clerk (Abstractor) in

Dublin, Francis Valentine Lacy.

Male Learners, London, Francis Walter Bright, Frederick William Cook, Alfred Edwards, William Robert Letheren, John Odell.

Male Learners, John Goggin (Glasgow), Robert Wedderspoon Gray (Glasgow), James Laverty (Belfast).

AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Post Office: Male Learners, John Joseph Higgins (Dublin), Archibald Octavius Pike (Nottingham).

Paper-Keepers, Dublin, Herbert Francis Fahey, James Henebery.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Prisons Department, England: Subordinate Officer, Division I, Henry Moorhouse.

Post Office: Learners, West Hartlepool, Lillian Kate Acton, Helena Mary Clasper, Lillian Smurthwaite, Mary Whamond.

Learners, Anne Atkinson (Whitehaven), Emily Dancer (Leighton Buzzard), Ethel Steward Drew (Paignton), James Dunlop (Whitehaven), Edith May Fone (St. Austell), Maria Bertha Jones (Wakefield), Marguerite Kinsellé (Watford), William Henry Cragg Metcalf (Whitehaven), Alice Isabel Paling (Nuneaton), John Nicholls Richards (St. Ives, Cornwall), Alice Marie Scarlett (Ramsgate), Harold Wilby Smith (Wakefield), Edgar Vernon Thomas (Pontypridd), Cecil Hugh Walker (Wakefield).

Postmen, John Adam Bradley (Manchester), George William Doran (Belfast), William Fernley (Preston), John Gallagher (Londonderry), Herhert John Gardner (Wisbech), Thomas George Lee (Bradford-on-Avon), James McCracken (Belfast), George Arthur Mayoh (Manchester), William John Moore (Manchester), Alfred Nichols Parson (Leeds).

Temporary Assistant Postman, Manchester, John Bramley.

UNDER CLAUSE VII OF THE ORDER IN COUNCIL OF 4TH JUNE, 1870.

Second Division: Clerk, Alfred House.

May 19, 1899.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

War Office: Assistant Clerk (Abstractor), Francis
Arthur Green.

Post Office: Male Learners, London, Hector Isaac Jefferies, William Proctor, Percy William Thirkell.

Male Learners, Charles William Allen (Birmingham), Frederick Charles Etheridge (Brighton), Frederick George Henry Pasley (Cardiff), John James Power (Belfast).

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION AND UNDER CLAUSE VII OF THE ORDER IN COUNCIL OF 4TH JUNE, 1870.

Second Division: Clerk, William Campbell Sansom.

AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Post Office: Male Learners, London, Christian Rudolph Oberst, Benjamin James Towers.

Male Learners, Edinburgh, Archibald Campbell, William Weir McGregor, William Kennedy Watson.

Male Learner, Cardiff, William John Jones.