Post Office: Postman, London, William Thomas Chick Rumsey.

A-sistant Postman, Temporary

Frederick Henry George Bailey.

Learners, Alexander Bain (Macduff), Margaret Balfour (Crieff), Beatrice Clara Briggs (Flint), Mary Davey (Lewes), Kate Mary Davies (Pontypool), Winifred Anne Mary Davies (Pontypool), Winifred Anne Davies (Bangor), Kate Franklin (Henley-on-Thames), Robert Grieve (Hawick), Grace Grierson McKay (Stranraer), George Milne (Port Glasgow), Constance Elizabeth Rains-ford (Colchester), Charlotte Jane Reid (Newburgh, Fife), James Cormack Rosie (Wick), Clara Shardlow (Worksop), Annie Elizabeth Sims (Hemel Hempstead), Hubert Charles Suter (Ascot), Edith Watson (Burton-on-Trent).

Postmen, William Heath Burn (Hartlepool), James Hope (Kelso), Thomas James Jenkins (Lianelly), Harry Jones (Statford), Patrick Lynch (Limerick), Peter McLaren (Stirling), John McLeod (Stirling), Walter Scott Neilson

(Hamilton), Charles Henry Wright (Brighton).
Temporary Assistant Postmen, Cardiff, William Carter, Samuel Grills, William Thomas

Temporary Assistant Postmen, John Joseph Maguire (Fermoy), Mark Wright (Redcar).

Under Clause VII of the Order in Council of 4th June, 1870.

Education Department: Minor Staff Post, Walter William Poole.

FOR REGISTRATION AS TEMPORARY ROY COPYISTS (NEW CLASS).

Percy Lionel Harvell, George Read Hewett, John Joseph Perrin.

July 1, 1899.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Inland Revenue: Assistant Clerks (Abstractors), Richard Wallace Robb, Charles Merllyn Woodford.

Post Office: Male Learner, London, William Henry Parker.

Male Learner, Plymouth, Harold John Beer.

AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Royal Irish Constabulary: Cadet, Colin Campbell Robertson-Glasgow.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Prisons Department, England: Subordinate Officers, Division 1, Jabez Cooper, Joseph Andrew Albert Duffield.

Prisons Department, Scotland: Warder, Samuel Hazell.

Post Office: Postman, London, Owen Albert Taylor.

Learners, Eliza Esther Andrews (Gravesend), Alfred Ernest Ash (Evesham), Edith Brown (Bishops Stortford), Annie Ellen Critchley (Evesham), Ellen Dooley (Athenry), Emily Evans (Hastings), Margaret Hardie (Falkirk), Adela Priscilla Hugh (Boston), Jane Menzies Johnston (Prestoukirk), Thomas Abley Jones (Holywell), Ernest Wyndham King (Wells, Somerset), Thomas Lawson (Wishaw), Grace Evelyn Maling (Diss), Charles Edward Parry (Chester), Archibald Paterson (Tarbert, Loch Fyne), Ernest Patterson (Bolton), Harold Richmond Portbury (Oxford), Helena Mary Randall (Hatsield), Robert Young Richardson (Hawick), Richard Tank (Barmouth), John Whiting (Dereham), Elsie Muriel Wright (Keighley)

Postmen, John Beattie (Belfast), Edward

Beddows (Wolverhampton), Charles William Bosomworth (Middlesbrough), Joseph Cowlard (Red Hill), Patrick Donnelly (Londonderry), Walter Emmott (Burnley), William James Eyre (Brighton), Alfred James Jefferis (Fareham), James Middleton (Preston), William John Playford (Sevenoaks), William Wallace Schofield (Reading), Ronald Shearing (Brighton), William Smith (Liverpool), Peter Thomson (Oban), George Harry Weatherly (Reading).

FOR REGISTRATION AS TEMPORARY BOY

COPYISTS (NEW CLASS).
Thomas Francis O'Neill, James Alexander Parks.

FOR REGISTRATION AS TEMPORARY BOY MESSENGERS.

Ernest Edward Holland, Archibald Tom John Spire.

Civil Service Commission, July 4, 1899.

IN pursuance of the provisions of Her Majesty's Order in Council of the 29th November, 1898, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce that the undermentioned Appointments and Promotions in the Civil Service were notified to them in the month of June, 1899 :-

APPOINTMENTS.

Admiralty, Ernest Frederick Garrard to receive a Junior appointment in the Supply and Accounting Departments.

George Stevens to be First Class Writer in the Naval Ordnance Store Department.

Agriculture, Board of, Catherine Frances Agnes Murray to be Female Typist.

Consular Service, Laucelot Giles, Walter Ewen Townsend, and Henry Warren to be Student Interpreters in China, Japan, or Siam.

Customs, Bernard Crowe and William Edward Bell Wadsley to be Assistant Clerks (Abstractors)

Education Department, John Bowen to be Sub-Inspector (Second Class).

Hyacinthe Mary Deane to be Inspectress of Cookery and Laundry Work.

Walter William Poole to be appointed to a Minor Staff Post.

William Jabez Ireland to be Assistant Clerk $(\mathbf{Abstractor}).$

Home Office, William Howard Beverley, Thomas Brown, Lawrence Picton Evans, and Joseph Owner to be Inspectors of Factories and Workshops.

Harold du Pont Sworder to be Assistant Clerk (Abstractor).

India Office, or India Audit Office, Edwin Albert Lownds and John Reginald Jutsum Passmore to be Second Class Clerks.

Inland Revenue, Walter William Thurgood to be Assistant Surveyor of Taxes.

Walter Stewart Blythen, John Patrick Broderick, William Doherty, Hinton Lyon Douglas, Daniel Francis McNulty, and James Redmond to be Assistant Clerks (Abstractors).

Post Office, Harold Etheredge, Ernest George Loosley, and James Welch to be appointed to Clerkships grouped under the Scheme for the Supplementary Establishment of the Secretary's Office, London.

Edith Harriett Berry (Wyke Regis), Rebecca Cruse (Fort George), Mary McNulty (Stranorlar), Kate O'Rorke (Ballinrobe), and Ellen Templeton (Buncrana) to be Sub-Postmistresses.