Tomblin (Ampthill), Samuel Harry Tovey (Shrewsbury), Arnold Wrigley (Southport).

Postmen, Joseph Brotherton (Stafford), John William Brown (Leeds), John Daly (Belfast), William Arthur Guthrie (Sunderland), John Hall (Irvine), George Harvie (Kilmarnock), Evan Roberts Hughes (Denbigh), Donald McDonald (Cumnock), William John McKane (Londonderry), Thomas McMaster (Newton Stewart), James Robert Morris (Ruabon), John Nelson (Carlisle), William Brown Pacey (Nottingham), William John Lawrence Roberts (Falmouth), John James Shields (Carlisle), Harry Sorsby (Sheffield), Herbert James Spink (Scarborough).

Temporary Assistant Postmen, Samuel Reed Hayes (Worksop), John Robinson (Eccles).

Under Clause VII of the Order in Council of 4th June, 1870.

Colonial Office: Temporary First Class Clerk, Everard Ferdinand im Thurn.

Education Department: Woman Clerk, Edith Hilda Powell.

FOR REGISTRATION AS TEMPORARY BOY COPYISTS (NEW CLASS). Stephen Graham, Archibald Thomas Page.

December 30, 1899.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Board of Agriculture: Assistant Clerk (Abstractor), Stanley Skoulding Barnaby.

Inland Revenue: Assistant Surveyor of Taxes, Thomas Hogg.

AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Admiralty: First Class Writer in the Staff Captain's Department of Her Majesty's Dockyards, Frederick John Kingcome.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Admiralty: Devonport Dockyard, Shipwrights,
William Richard Smith Bricknell, James
Thomas Brimmacombe, William Thomas
Clements, Richard Sanderson Cory, Charles
Edward Craze, John Furneaux, John Thomas
Hoskins, Harold Edward Howe, William John
Kellond, William Alfred Knight, John Benjamin Spence Lewarne, Thomas Alfred Partridge,
William Henry Pawley, Thomas Edward Rowe,
Frederick John Saunders, George Alfred Simmonds, Arthur John Thomas, William Paxton
Toby, Edmund William Bentley Trist, Charles
Frederick Weale, Samuel John West, Ernest
James Westlake, William Henry Wood.

Smith, Bartholomew Henry Monk. Wheelwright, Joseph Yelland Pethick.

Census Office, Ireland: Clerk, Harry Michael Loughnan.

Prisons Department, England: Subordinate Officers, Division II, Albert Hall, Llewellyn Richard Lloyd.

Post Office: Temporary Assistant Postman, London, Christian Godfrey Clarke.

Learners, Catherine Allen (Maldon), Thomas Allitt (Wrexham), Miriam Broadbrick (Stalybridge), Ellen Broughton (Accrington), Robert Henry Clarke (Lurgan), Sarah Elizabeth Dukes (Stafford), Mary Bicket Ferguson (Kilmarnock), Joan Stevenson Fleming (Glasgow), Isabella Gauld (Huntly), Emma. Hyett (Stroud), Jane Copland McKend (Girvan), Walter James McLoughlin (Bagenalstown), Alice McElderry Moore (Ballymoney), Albert Rowe (Bicester), Edward Alfred Rowland Waters (Enfield, Middlesex), Isaac Webber (Bridgwater).

Postmen, Henry James Greaves (Birmingham), Percy James Porter (Woolwich).

Under Clause VII of the Order in Council of 4th June, 1870.

Board of Agriculture: Permanent Inspector, Joshua Cornelius.

Civil Service Commission, January 2, 1900.

IN pursuance of the provisions of Her Majesty's Order in Council of the 29th November, 1898, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce that the undermentioned Appointments and Promotions in the Civil Service were notified to them in the month of December, 1899:—

APPOINTMENTS.

Admiralty, Henry Melville Ackery to be Electrician on Her Majesty's ship "Vernon."

Frederick John Kingcome to be First Class Writer in the Staff Captain's Department of of Her Majesty's Naval Yards.

William Edmund Evans and Andrew George Steel to be First Class Writers in the Chief Constructor's Department of Her Majesty's Naval Yards.

Horace Eversfield Whitehead to be First Class Writer in the Chief Engineer's Department of Her Majesty's Naval Yards.

Ernest Cole and Alexander Henry Thompson to be First Class Writers in the Naval Store Department of Her Majesty's Naval Yards.

Daniel Joseph Barton, Robert Talbot Beamish, Joseph Coleman, Daniel Cronin, Harry Nudds, and William Wynne to be Assistant Clerks (Abstractors).

Agriculture, Board of, Joshua Cornelius to be Permanent Inspector.

Stanley Skoulding Barnaby, Thomas Devitt, Reginald Nolan, and Herbert John Wickins to be Assistant Clerks (Abstractors).

Charity Commission, William Walter Childs to be Assistant Clerk (Abstractor).

Colonial Office, Reginald Edward Stubbs to be Clerk (Class I).

Everard Ferdinand im Thurn to be Temporary First Class Clerk.

Congested Districts Board (Ireland), Frank William Drew Mitchell to be Secretary.

Consular Service, Arthur Langford Sholto Rowley to be Vice-Consul at Valuaraiso.

to be Vice-Consul at Valparaiso.

Hubert Caliste de Jacobi du Vallon to be
Student Interpreter in the Ottoman Dominions,
Persia, Greece, and Morocco.

Customs, James Ernest Hagger to be Junior Clerk in the Statistical Office.

Frederick William Parke to be Assistant Clerk (Abstractor).

Education Department, Edward Kirk to be appointed to a Temporary Staff Post.

Margaret Grace Amner, Edith Hilda Powell, and Irene Strevens to be Woman Clerks.

Fishery Board (Scotland), William Sinclair and James Streton Young to be Fishery Officers.

Friendly Societies Registry, Stewart Udall to be Assistant Paperkeeper.

Home Office, John Lloyd Edwards, Cyril Fabian Ratcliff Johnston, and Edward Francis Boggis-Rolfe to be Inspectors of Factories and Workshops.

Ernest Edward Stringer to be Assistant Clerk (Abstractor).