- Inland Revenue, Harry Douglas Codrington Boyes, John William Dodd, Thomas Hogg, and Daniel O'May to be Assistant Surveyors of Taxes.
 - Tom Stuckey Cox to be Assistant Clerk (Abstractor).
 - Ellen Mary Fitzgerald to be Female Assistant in the Office of the Comptroller of Stamps and Stores.
- Post Office, William Brown to be Second Class Technical Officer in the Engineer-in-Chief's Office.
 - James Thomas Ambrose Allin, Bertram Fraser Gillett, John Warner Kimber, John William Kirby, George John Parish, and Charles Henry Smith Rodway to be Metropolitan Engineering Clerks.
 - Arthur Ghey Alexander, William Proctor Bell, James Charles Brampton, James Simon Fraser, Albert John Gilpin, William Henry Gunn, James Louden, George Stuart Mackay, Edward Norman Mullett, John James O'Donnell, and Richard Towneley Whitaker to be appointed to Clerkships grouped under the Scheme for the Supplementary Establishment of the Secretary's Office, London.
 - Alfred Cole (Milford-on-Sea, Lymington), Harry Johnson (Market Weighton), William Linehan (Banteer, Mallow), William Ovenston (Elie), and Thomas Smithson (Hetton-le-Hole) to be Sub-Postmasters.
 - Mary Beattie (Coalisland), Eliza Ellen Bell (Aberdovey), Frances Jane Cawthorn (Castle Eden Station, Ferry Hill), Anne Augusta Clare (High-street, Leicester), Elizabeth Mary Clarke (Bishop's Lydeard), Jane Flintoff (Lesbury), Mary Ann Henwood (Sonning), Ada Ibbotson (Harewood), Louisa Linton (Severn Stoke), Susan Elizabeth Murray (Tynan), Alice Mary Pook (Bishop's Teignton), Rose Symington (Fenny Stratford), Elizabeth Tooker (Durnford-street, Plymouth), Ada Frances Broughton Tower (Gorton Brook, Manchester), and Jemima Weider (Port Dundas, Glasgow) to be Sub-Postmistresses.
 - George Hubert Cobden and Henry William Rowe to be Assistant Clerks (Abstractors).
 - Frederick Charles Burge to be Paperkeeper in the Savings Bank Department.
 - Henry Arthur Crawford to be Paperkeeper in the Registry of the Secretary's Office, London.
 - Jessie Cavey, Ada Drumgold, and Frances Beatrice Lewis to be Woman Clerks.
 - Mary Alice Griffin and Edith Elizabeth Welch to be Girl Clerks.
- Register House Departments (Edinburgh), Adam Brownlee and William Robertson to be Clerks.
- Registrar-General's Office (England), Thomas Edward Davies and Francis Joseph Lynam to be Assistant Clerks (Abstractors).
- Science and Art Department, Mabel Luke to be Female Typist in the Dublin Museum of Science and Art.
- Scotch Education Department, Francis Joseph Armstrong and Harry Frederick Salmon to be Staff Clerks.
- Stationery Office, George Henry Wright to be appointed to a Temporary Staff Post.
- Supreme Court of Judicature (England), John Hardy Hewlett, Hugh Mortimer Rowland, and William Harry Williams to be Third Class Clerks.

Charles Gambier Middleton to be Third Class Clerk in the Principal Probate Registry. No. 27150. B William Vere to be Third Class Clerk in the Chancery Registrar's Department.

- Trade, Board of, Harry Wilkins Norman to be Statistical Assistant in the Commercial, Labour, and Statistical Department.
 - Robert Ernest Evans and George Ernest Winnicott to be Assistant Clerks (Abstractors).
- Treasury, Charles James Rickett to be Office Keeper.
- Valuation Office (Ireland), James Quinn to be Valuer and Surveyor (Second Section).
- James Henry Hickey to be Assistant Clerk (Abstractor).
- War Office, Roderick Sinclair Meiklejohn, Reginald James Gresham Clive Paterson, James Toplis, and Arthur Edwin Turner to be Clerks (Class I).
 - Thomas John Pierce to be Assistant Clerk (Abstractor).

Clerks of the Second Division.

- Admiralty, Thomas George Anderson and (for temporary duty) Thomas Peter Yeatts.
- Agriculture, Board of, John Heath and (for temporary duty) Harry Nash.
- Education Department, Henry James Crawford and Charles Edward Fish.
- Inland Revenue, John Armstrong and Frederick Stephen Huckstepp.
- Post Office, Arthur Ernest Birkett, Isaac Percy Crowther, Reginald Herbert Edmonds, Frank Austin Jones (Dublin), and Henry Raby Maynard.

PROMOTIONS under Clause XII of the Order in Council of 29th November, 1898 :---

- Inland Revenue, Peter Thomson Brown, Edward O'Brien, James Harris Robinson, and John William Ruddy, Clerks of the Second Division, to be First Division Clerks in the Estate Duty Office.
- Local Government Board (Ireland), Ernest William Leach, Clerk of the Second Division, to be Superintending Clerk.

NOTICES TO MARINERS.

(Nos. 839 to 851 of the year 1899.)

[The bearings are magnetic, and those concerning the visibility of lights are given from seaward.]

No. 839.—AUSTRALIA—QUEENSLAND.— MARY RIVER.

Dundathu Reach—Leading Lights.

THE Government of Queensland has given notice, that on and after 18th November, 1899, leading lights would be established about $8\frac{1}{2}$ cables westward of Leslie Rock, Mary River.

The front light is red fixed, the rear light white fixed; they are exhibited from white triangular beacons with a black vertical stripe, erected on the south bank of the river, and in line about S. 29° E. lead through Dundathu Reach in not less than 10 feet water.

Approximate position, front light, lat. 25° 30' 10" S., long. 152° 46' 30" E.

NOTE.—The distance between the lights is not stated.

[Variation 9° Easterly in 1899.]

This Notice affects the following Admiralty Chart :---Mary River, No. 649. Also, List of Lights, Part VI, 1899, page 205; and Australia Directory, Vol. II, 1898, page 155.