Girl Clerks, Winifred Hughesdon, Annie Jane Adams Smith.

Male Sorters, London, Martin Francis Hogan, Daniel McCarthy.

Male Learners, John Edgar Bramwell (Sheffield), Francis Theodore Griffith (Derby), Thomas Henry Kirk (Leicester), Richard O'Neill (Sheffield), James Burnett Powell (Edinburgh), George Pybus (Sheffield).

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION AND UNDER CLAUSE VII OF THE ORDER IN COUNCIL OF 4TH JUNE, 1870.

Second Division : Clerk, John Stables.

AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Post Office: Male Learners, Robert Creedon (Bradford), Gilbert Joe Garlick (Manchester), John Ward (Leeds).

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Admiralty: Chatham Dockyard, Fitter, Henry Edgar Cole.

Joiners, Henry Collins, John James Harbord, Walter Masters, Walter Wordsworth Peters.

Shipwrights, George Atkinson, Jonathan Henry Bear, William Edwin Brooks, John Bunt, Albert George Burford, Thomas Ellis Cady, Herbert Henry Campaign, Thomas John Cooper, John Henry Dadson, Frederick John Freeman, Edward John Greenwood, Alfred George Jenner, James McIntyre, Edward Murt, John Norris, Daniel Pellatt, William Henry Pepperell, William John Phillips, James Alfred Pitt, William Thomes Snell, Reid Forbes Taylor, Albert George Wimble, John Richard Wright.

Prisons Department, England : Subordinate Officers, Division I, Herbert Wright Holmes, Joseph Henry Ponsford. Assistant Matron, Jane Gregson.

Post Office: Postman, London, Arthur Charles Munday.

Learners, Harold Pickles (Halifax), Michael Tobin (Nenagh).

Postmen, Nottingham, Aithur Asling, George Edward Oswin.

UNDER CLAUSE VII OF THE ORDER IN COUNCIL OF 4TH JUNE, 1870, AND UNDER CLAUSE XV OF THE ORDER IN COUNCIL OF 29TH NOVEM-BER, 1898.

Second Division : Clerk, Montgomery Nixon.

Civil Service Commission, June 1, 1900.

IN pursuance of the provisions of Her Majesty's Order in Council of the 29th November, 1898, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce that the undermentioned Appointments and Transfer in the Civil Service were notified to them in the month of May, 1900:—

APPOINTMENTS.

Admiralty, Frederick James Donnellan, Charles Henry O'Donnell, Daniel Thomas, and Albert James Thurston to be Assistant Clerks (Abstractors).

Agriculture, Board of, Edmund Timothy Dunne and Clifford John Gudgeon to be Assistant Clerks (Abstractors).

Florence Amelia Saunders to be Female Typist.

Agriculture and Technical Instruction (Ireland), Department of, William Patrick Coyre to be Superintendent of the Statistics and Intelligence Branch. James Scott Gordon to be Inspector for Agriculture.

William Townley Seymour Macartney Filgate to be Inspector for Industries other than Agriculture.

- James Dermot Daly to be Correspondence Clerk in the Secretariat.
- Richard Lewis to be Clerk in Charge of Accounts.
- William Dalton and Herbert John Heald to be Staff Clerks.

John Newman Harte, Dudley Townsend Hussey, and Henry John O'Donnell to be Abstractors.

- Consular Service, Thomas George Grahame to be Vice-Consul at Tehran.
- Customs, Arthur Ainsworth, William Forbes, Thomas Stanley Kelly, Charlie Nicholls, and Hillier Quass to be Second Class Clerks, Lower Section, for Port Service.

Arthur Whicher Lyne to be Tabulator (Abstractor Class).

- Deeds (Ireland), Registry of, Michael Francis McGuire to be Temporary Staff Officer.
- Ecclesiastical Commission, James John Aloysius Dwyer, Walter Green, and Sidney Joseph Gunningham to be Junior Clerks.
- Education, Board of, Lionel Wordsworth Hinxman to be Acting Geologist on the Geological Survey of Scotland.

John Thomas Ball and Frank Bromwich to be appointed to Staff Posts.

George Farquhar Gribbin and William Lowry to be appointed to Temporary Staff Posts.

Edward Joseph Doyle, William Edward Fay, and Stanley James Thorne to be Assistant Clerks (Abstractors).

Ellen Jane Patterson to be Woman Clerk.

- India Office or India Audit Office, Samuel Wright Todd to be Second Class Clerk.
- Inland Revenue, Frank Cecil Stewart, Edward Loftus Tottenham, and Charles Sharpe Villiers to be Clerks in the Stock Exchange Branch. John Michael Forde, William Arthur Nichols, William Henderson Parker, Robert Henry

William Henderson Parker, Robert Henry Sandes, William Smith, and George Edwin Thompson to be Assistant Clerks (Abstractors).

Irish Land Conmission, Robert John Prole and James Boyce Stonebridge to be Third Class Clerks.

Patrick Kelly to be Assistant Clerk (Abstractor).

- Local Government Board (England), Ernest Adams, Leonard John Poole Coles, and William Dick to be Assistant Clerks (Abstractors).
- Mint, Gustavus Athol Waterhouse to be Assistant Assayer in the Branch Mint at Sydney.
- Post Office, Thomas Plummer to be Second Class Technical Officer in the Engineer-in-Chief's Office.

William Charman (Haslemere), Edward Edmund Evenden (Huist Park), Robert Dade Forrest (Southwold), Frederick Lloyd Hall (Neyland), and Aichibald McTaggart (Kirn) to be Sub-Postmasters.

Fanny Abbey (Sunninghill Village), Eliza Aitken (Carnwath), Ellen Wise Fisher (Pewsey), Janet Gunn (Berrisdale), Jessie Sophia Holliday (Stansted), Rosa Ellen Mapperley (Fore-street, Ipswich), an l Catherine Ross (Invergarry) to be Sub-Postmistresses.