Fox (Portsmouth), Oscar Clements Greaves (Nottingham), Frank Hardman (Bolton), Harry Charles Howard (Portsmouth), John Isaac Lewis (Carmarthen), William Henry Livesey (Burnley), Patrick McLoughlin (Castlebar), George Middleton (Banbury), George Thomas Stanner (Ramsgate), Herbert Loft Strugnell (Portsmouth), James Francis Warwick (Bolton), Ernest Webster (Manchester), William Robert Wicks (Dover).

Temporary Assistant Postmen, Robert Atkinson (Kendal), John Thomas Bennett (Bolton), Arthur Blencowe (Brackley), Sidney Walter Merrals (Croydon).

- UNDER CLAUSE VII OF THE ORDER IN COUNCIL OF 4TH JUNE, 1870.
- Admiralty: First Class Victualling Yard Writers, James Charles Chittenden, Henry William Dickinson, Sidney Herbert Newman, Charles Parker Ruegg.
- Local Government Board, Ireland: Auditor John Gerald Ambrose Mary Joseph More O'Ferrall.
- Supreme Court of Judicature, Ireland : Examiner in the Land Judge's Department, George Chichester May.
- Treasury : Clerk in the County Court Department, Charles Alfred Norris.
 - FOR REGISTRATION AS TEMPORARY BOY COPYIST (NEW CLASS). Leonard Riding.
 - FOR REGISTRATION AS TEMPORARY BOY MESSENGERS.
 - Ernest Alfred Bigsby, Frederick Leonard Burgess.

Civil Service Commission, September 3, 1901.

IN pursuance of the provisions of Her late Majesty's Order in Council of the 29th November, 1898, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce that the undermentioned Appointments, Transfers, and Promotions in the Civil Service were notified to them in the month of August, 1901:—

APPOINTMENTS.

Admiralty, Howard Vincent Brooks, Stanley Morris, Hubert Pare, Percy Duncan Sykes, and Frank Wawn to receive Junior Appointments in the Supply and Accounting Departments.

Arthur Langtry Bell and Herbert James Young to be Assistant Civil Engineers (2nd Grade) in His Majesty's Naval Establishments. Francis Joseph Cole to be Assistant Surveyor (2nd Grade) in the Department of the Director of Works at the Head Office and the Outports.

Walter Roderick Mulhern and William Weeden to be Senior Victualling Yard Writers. James Charles Chittenden, Henry Joseph

James Charles Chittenden, Henry Joseph Cock, Herbert Miall Culpin, Henry William Dickinson, Sidney Herbert Newman, George Oake, Charles Parker Ruegg, Joseph William Steele, and Samuel Henry Sutton to be First Class Victualling Yard Writers.

George Garibaldi James and Charles Adam Spinner to be First Class Writers in the Expense Accounts Department of His Majesty's Naval Yards.

Agriculture, Board of, Robert John Thompson to be Assistant to the Head of the Statistical Branch.

- Agriculture and Technical Instruction for Ireland, Department of, Arthure Benedict Edward Hillas to be Technical As istant in the Fisheries Branch.
 - Peter Martin Lally to be Assistant Clerk (Abstractor).
- British Museum, Frederick Henry Marshall and Charles Tate Regan (Natural History) to be Assistants.

Constabulary (Ireland), Office of, Hugh Morrison Metcalfe to be appointed to a Staff Post.

- Customs, William Bankes Amery, Hamilton Maurice Howgrave-Graham, Edgar John Hodgson, Josiah Stanley Jackson, John Francis McMahon, and David Reid to be Second Class Clerks, Lower Section, for Port Service.
- Education, Board of, Herbert Brantwood Muff and Herbert Henry Thomas to be Geologists on the Geological Survey of England and Wales.

Robert Copland to be Laboratory Assistant (Second Class) in the Royal College of Science.

- Foreign Office, Hugh Gurney and Howard William Kennard to be Attachés in the Diplomatic Service or Clerks on the Establishment.
- Inland Revenue, Robert Howarth Barnes, Ebenezer Vincent Cole, Ernest Thomas Dixon, Edward Morgan Miller, and Robert Quigg to be First Division Clerks in the Estate Duty Office.

William Jamieson to be appointed to a Minor Staff Post (Edinburgh).

- Irish Lond Commission, Ernest Ashley Rooney to be Third Class Clerk.
- Local Government Board (England), Rosa Mary Turtle to be Female Typist.
- Local Government Board (Ireland), John Gerald Ambrose Mary Joseph More O'Ferrall to be Auditor.
- Mercantile Marine Offices, Walter Hall Williams to be Clerk and Deputy Superintendent.
- Mint, Daniel Charles Burbury to be Assistant Assayer in the Branch Mint at Perth.
- Post Office, William Thomas Harris to be Metropolitan Engineering Clerk.

Willam Christopher Anderson, George William Bell, Thomas John Betchley. Joseph Bolger, Mark Dyer, Sidney Herbert England, James Flanagan, William Goodfellow, Harry Shilling Marsh, Henry Perrott, Fred Russell, and William Prior Wood to be Registry Assistants in the Secretary's Office.

Emily Florence Baker, Clara Bell, Clara Bowie, Lilian Mary Cato, Augusta Ellen Clark, Julia Ellen Cooke, Christina Cuthbert, Agnes Dowler, Lucy Alice Eastwood, Catharine Campbell Ellis, Ruby Fuller, Ethel May Gate, Elizabeth Gellie, Blanche Elizabeth Hanworth, Kathleen May Holbrook, Marie Lina Hopt, Alice Steib Jackson, Annie Jenkins, Ellen Kelson La Trobe, Winifred Lynch, Edith Alice McMullin, Helen Hutchison McRitchie, Edith Clara Marston, Gladys Matilda May, Lizzie Emily Nunn, Florence Porter, Margaret Ethelwyn Rees, Mary Stanton, Ellen Gertrude Stiles, Susan Annie Watt, Cecilia Elizabeth-Langler Wilkinson, and Isabella Wright to be Woman Clerks.

Margaret Rose Battersby, Marianne Hilda Coates, Florence Bertha Fitt, and Evelyn Margaret Waters to be Girl Clerks.

No. 27351.

В