Prisons Service, Ireland : Warder, Michael Maher. Assistant Matron, Margaret Mina Beattie.

Post Office: Porter, London, Arthur Taylor.

Temporary Assistan George William Baker. Postman. London, Assistant

Telephone Operators, Sarah Jane Brayley (Cardiff), Ethel Flora Carr (Morpeth), Lydia Gertrude Chadwick (Heywood), Grace Wini-fred Charles (Cardiff), Grace (Uurzon (Cam-bridge), Ada Margaret Robina Fothergill (Newcastle on Turno), Mubal Edith Handian (Newcastle-on-Tyne), Mabel Edith Harding Birmingham), Elizabeth May Smith (Walsall), Jane Tattersfield (Dewsbury), Florence Elizabeth Ward (Scarborough).

Postmen, Charles Edmund Bradbeer (Stoke-on-Trent), William Bunn (Norwich), John Allan Calder (Newcastle-on-Tyne), Richard Collins (High Wycombe), Thomas James Ewan (Kendal), Herbert Feaver (Margate), Arthur Moses Hotson (Grimsby), Charles George Jolliffe (Dorchester), Arthur Charles Pavey (Chard), Thomas William Quaife Pavey (Chard), Thomas William Quaife (Eltham), William Percival Sullivan (Newport, Quaife Monmouthshire).

Temporary Assistant Postmen, John Gaffney (Aldershot), George Hargreaves (Manchester), Arthur Francis William Sellars (Manchester).

- UNDER CLAUSE VII OF THE ORDER IN COUNCIL OF 4TH JUNE, 1870.
- Civil Commission : Assistant Clerks Service (Abstractors), Robert Attwooll Andrews, John Henry Webb.
- Admiralty: Principal Assistant to the Admiralty Chemist at Portsmouth Dockyard, Arnold Philip.
- Board of Trade: Assistant Official Receiver in Bankruptcy, the Honourable Walter John Harry Boyle.
- Department of Agriculture and Technical Instruction for Ireland: Staff Clerk, James Vincent Coyle.

Temporary Staff Officer, Vivian Joshua Fielding.

Assistant Clerks (Abstractors), Thomas Joseph Fennelly, Edward William Brendan Tierney.

- Exchequer Office, Scotland, Minor Staff Post, Albert Wadsworth Binet.
- Prisons Department, England: Prison Clerk (First Class), Frederick Bassett.
- Office of Works: Park-keeper in one of the Royal Parks, William Charles Gould.
- Post Office: Porter, London, William Albert otherwise William George Taylor.

FOR REGISTRATION AS TEMPORARY BOY COPYISTS (NEW CLASS).

Denis Coakley, Sidney Elliott, Cecil Frank Lawrence, Jasper Sidney Pithers.

Civil Service Commission, April 1, 1902.

IN pursuance of the provisions of Her late Majesty's Order in Council of the 29th November, 1898, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce that the undermentioned Appointments

and Transfers in the Civil Service were notified to them in the month of March, 1902:---

Appointments

- Admiralty, Arthur Edward Marrian to be Assist-ant Civil Engineer (Second Grade) in the Works Department, at the Head Office and Outports.
 - Arnold Philip to be Principal Assistant to the Admiralty Chemist at Portsmouth Dockyard.

James Northam to be Staff Clerk. Frank Albert Newton to be First Class Writer in the Chief Constructor's Department of His Majesty's Dockyards.

Thomas Edward Day to be Pensioner Writer in His Majesty's Dockyards.

Agriculture and Technical Instruction (Ireland), Department of, James Vincent Coyle to be Staff Clerk.

Vivian Joshna Fielding and John Hogan to

- be Temporary Staff Clerks. William Bowers, Thomas Joseph Fennelly, Alexander Gow, and Edward William Brendan Tierney to be Assistant Clerks (Abstractors).
- British Muscun, Leonard Cyril Wharton to be Assistant.
- Chelsea Hospital, William Henry Willcox to be appointed to a Temporary Staff Post.
- Commission, Robert Civil Service Attwooll Andrews and John Henry Webb to be Assistant Clerks (Abstractors).
- Colonial Office, Hulert Russell Cowell to be Second Class Clerk. Ernest Edward Wilkinson to. be Temporary

Staff Officer.

- Education, Board of, Theodore Innes Pocock to be Geologist.
- Exchequer and Audit Department, John James Garnham to be Staff Clerk.
- Exchequer Office (Scotland), Albert Wadsworth Binet to be appointed to a Minor Staff Post.
- Inland Revenue, Stanley Charles Appleby, Frank Betts, Ernest Henry Bruce, Charles Lawrence Selwood Bullwinkle, Victor Mason Collins, William Coman, William Kenneth Goodall Cooper, Andrew Davidson, William Ewart Diggines, Tom Langton Ducker, Ernest Gerrard Edwards, William Arthur Howell Fisher, Ernest Julian Foley, George William Gordin, Alfred Henry Havelock, James Arthur Hill, John l'ickering Hughes, George Hunter Hyett, William Joseph Kelly, Hugh George Lowry, Duncan McDonald, William Ewart Gladstone McKenzie, James William Millar, Francis Marshall Miller, Charles Murgatroyd, Alexander Joseph Murphy, Walter Sidney Ostler, Robert Robinson, William John Rudd, Walter Percy Sawyer, Frederic Statham Towle, and Fred Wilson to be Assistant Surveyors of Taxes.
- Mercantile Marine Offices, Arthur Wilfrid Izzard, Charles Augustus Osborne, and Sidney Duncan Stowe to be Clerks or Deputy Superintendents.
- Post Office, Patrick Sarsfield Hegarty, John Leader, Sydney William Palmer, Percy Rowland Shannon, Samuel Elgood Sifton, Frederick James Simpson, and George Richard Tomlin-son to be appointed to Clerkships grouped under the Scheme for the Supplementary Establishment of the Secretary's Office, London.