Infantry Brigade, and is granted the temporary rank of Captain whilst so employed. Dated 28th May, 1902.

28th May, 1902.

Alexander Charles Farquharson, Gent., to be Second Lieutenant. Dated 28th May, 1902.

5th Volunteer Battalion, the Durham Light Infantry, Captain R. B. Ferry is granted the honorary rank of Major. Dated 28th May, 1902.

The undermentioned Gentlemen to be Second Lieutenants:—

John Walton Whitfield. Dated 28th May, 1902.

George Oakley Nixon. Dated 28th May, 1902.

1st Volunteer Battalion, the Highland Light Infantry, The undermentioned Second Lieutenants to be Lieutenants:—

J. Lilburn, jun. Dated 28th May, 1902.
V. P. B. Stewart. Dated 28th May, 1902.
J. R. Wardle. Dated 28th May, 1902.
W. Foulis. Dated 28th May, 1902.

3rd (The Blythswood) Volunteer Battalion, the Highland Light Infantry, Colonel Archibald Campbell, Lord Blythswood, A D.C., lately Commanding, is appointed to the Honorary Colonelcy of the Battalion. Dated 28th May, 1902.

6th Volunteer Battalion, the Gordon Highlanders, John Gordon Smith Macphersen, Gent., to be Second Lieutenant. Dated 28th May, 1902.

Cadet Corps (Dunoon Grammar School) attached to 5th Volunteer Battalion, Princess Louise's (Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders), Second Lieutenant H. McEwan resigns his Commission. Dated 28th May, 1902.

19th Middlesex (St. Giles's and St. George's, Bloomsbury), The undermentioned Surgeon-Lieutenants to be Supernumerary whilst serving with the Bearer Company of the 5th London Volunteer Infantry Brigade:—

J. G. Fraser, M.B. Dated 28th May, 1902.
 J. R. Macleod, M.B. Dated 28th May, 1902.

26th Middlesew (Cyclist), Captain H. J. Swindley resigns his Commission. Dated 28th May 1902.

ROYAL ARMY MEDICAL CORPS (VOLUNTEERS).

The Manchester Companies, Lieutenant C. E. Preston, M.B., resigns his Commission. Dated 28th May, 1902.

Commission signed by the Lord Lieutenant of the County of Rutland.

James Wadsworth Ritchie, Esq., to be Deputy Lieutenant. Dated 21st May, 1902.

Civil Service Commission, May 27, 1902.

The following Candidates have been certified by the Civil Service Commissioners as qualified for the appointments set against their respective names:—

May 22, 1902. After Open Competition.

Post Office: Female Learner, Birmingham, Hilda Florence Sarah Hannah Trivett.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION AND UNDER CLAUSE VII OF THE ORDER IN COUNCIL OF 4TH JUNE, 1870.

Second Division: Clerk, Claude Harold Willis. Customs: Assistant of Customs, Michael O'Leary.

AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Post Office: Male Learners, Alfred William Davenport (Birmingham), George Herbert Fletcher (Bradford, Yorkshire), Bobert Maxwell Maccabe (Belfast), Samuel James Neill (Belfast).

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Admiralty: Chatham Dockyard, Shipwrights, Ernest Walter Blocksidge, Ernest Harry Campbell.

Pembroke Dockyard, Caulker, Joseph Hewett

Royal Mint: Artificers, Percy George Edward Bell, George Richard Breeze, Alfred Charles Briant.

Post Office, Postmen, London, William Frederick Beale, Alfred Henry Hebbeard.

Telephone Operator, London, Marguerite Annie Elizabeth Leverton.

Telephone Operators, Leeds, Alice Dixon, Edith Lancaster, Mary Eliza Ellen Rothery, Eleanor Mary Williams, Florence Wood.

Telephone Operators, Newcastle-on-Tyne, Margaret Browne, Florence Maria Slater.

Postmen, Richard James Coles (Woking), Joseph Benjamin Drew (Reigate), Henry Redfern Haslam (Buxton), Walter John Scott, (Pontypool), Joseph Tromans (Newcastle-on-Tyne).

UNDER CLAUSE VII OF THE ORDER IN COUNCIL

OF 4TH JUNE, 1870.

Inland Revenue: Minor Staff Post in the Office of the Comptroller of Stamps and Taxes in Dublin, Edward Ernest Waldron Jonas.

Post Office: Telephone Operator, London, Phyllis Heighway.

For Registration as Temporary Boy Messengers.

Harry George Laughton, Alfred Charles Poulton, Edmund George Ridout.

May 23, 1902.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Customs: Assistant of Customs, James Henry Hickey.

Post Office: Woman Clerk, Edith Mary Bowes. Female Learners, London, Maude Ellen Digby, Annie Hill.

Male Learners, Southampton, Herbert Cecil Messer, Leonard Augustus Page.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION AND UNDER CLAUSE VII OF THE ORDER IN COUNCIL OF 4TH JUNE, 1870.

Second Division, Clerks, William Francis Maiben Horwood, Thomas Holdsworth Shepley.

AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Prisons Department, England: Clerks in Prisons, Nicol Robertson Hilton, Henry Pring.

Post Office: Male Skilled Telegraphist, London, Percy Groudle Evans.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Admiralty: Timekeeper in His Majesty's Dockyards, James Thomas Pound.

Chatham Dockyard, Hammerman, William Richard Bate.

Joiner, Alfred John Fone.

Smith, Richard Francis Perham.

Customs: Boatman, James Stephen Newman.

Royal Mint: Artificers, William John Finnigan, Thomas Lewis.

Post Office: Draughtsman in the Engineer-in-Chief's Office, James Moir.

Skilled Engineman, Joseph Walker. Porter, London, George William Miles Ferry.