INEBRIATES ACT, 1898. LICENSING ACT, 1902.

Regulations made by the Secretary of State for the Home Department, in pursuance of section 20 of the Inebriates Act, 1898, respecting the detention of Inebriates committed to a Retreat under section 5 of the Licensing Act, 1902.

I, the Right Honourable Aretas Akers-Douglas, one of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State, do hereby, by virtue of section 20 of the Inebriates Act, 1898, make the following regulations for carrying into effect the provisions of section 5 of the Licensing Act, 1902, respecting the detention of Inebriates committed to Retreats : -

1. Before applying under section 12 of the Habitual Drunkards Act, 1879, for a Justice's Order for the discharge of a patient committed to the Retreat under section 5 of the Licensing Act, 1902, the Licensee shall give notice of his intention seven full days previously to the Secretary of State, and shall specify the reasons for-his application, and the name and address of the Justice to whom it is to be made.

2. The Licensee shall give immediate notice to the Secretary of State of any visit and examination, pursuant to section 18 of the Habitual Drunkards Act, 1879, of any patient committed under section 5 of the Licensing Act, 1902.

A. AKERS-DOUGLAS.

Whitehall, 23rd October, 1902.

Factory Department, Home Office, October 23, 1902.

The Chief Inspector of Factories has appointed Dr. A. F. Messiter to be Certifying Surgeon, under the Factory Act, for the Epworth District of the county of Lincoln.

Factory Department, Home Office, October 23, 1902.

The Chief Inspector of Factories has appointed Dr. S. T. Plumbe to be Certifying Surgeon, under the Factory Act, for the Maidenhead District of the county of Berks, and the Taplow District of the county of Bucks.

> Factory Department, Home Office, October 28, 1902.

The Chief Inspector of Factories gives notice that an appointment as Certifying Surgeon, under the Factory and Workshop Act at Galway, in the county of Galway, is vacant.

Board of Trade (Fisheries and Harbour Department), London, October 28, 1902. H. 15275.

The Board of Trade have received, through the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs, copies of Telegrams from His Majesty's Representative at Constantinople, intimating that the quarantine against Egypt has been reduced to ten days, and that owing to a case of plague at Constantinople a medical visit has been imposed on departures from that port.

Board of Trade (Fisheries and Harbour Department), London, October 28, 1902. **П. 15276.**

The Board of Trade have received, through the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs, a copy medical inspection and disinfection. Vessels admitted to Bourgas and Varna only."

LIGHT RAILWAYS ACT, 1896.

Padstow, Bedruthan, and Mawgan Light

Railway Order. The Light Railway Commissioners have submitted to the Board of Trade, for confirmation under the above-mentioned Act, an Order made by them for the construction of a Light Railway in the county of Cornwall, from Padstow to Tregurrian, in the parish of St. Mawgan.

Any objections to the confirmation of the Order should be addressed to the Assistant Secretary (Railway Department), Board of Trade, White-hall Gardens, London, S.W., and must be lodged with the Board on or before the 21st November, 1902. These should be accompanied by copies of any clauses or amendments that may be desired to remove the objections, and copies of such objections and clauses or amendments should at the same time be sent to one of the Promoters' Agents named below.

Copies of the Order as submitted for confirmation may be obtained on payment of not exceeding one shilling per copy from Messrs. Shilson, Coode, and Company, St. Austell, Cornwall, or Messrs. Burchells and Company, 5, the Sanctuary, Westminster.

Board of Trade, 7, Whitehall Gardens, London, S.W., 27th October, 1902.

Admiralty, 24th October, 1902. following Probationary A The following Assistant -Engineers have been confirmed in the rank of Assistant-Engineer in His Majesty's Fleet :-Sidney Frank Coopper. Herbert William Couch. Bertram Harvey. Frederick Leslie Robertson. Angus Willins Hughson. Charles Russell Jekyl Randall. Robert Beeman. Percy Lovell Butt. John Edward Allnatt. Henry Edward Hoare. Robert Walker. Arthur John Butler. Wilfred George Main. Hugh Windsor Fieschi Heneage. Harold Valentine Whyham. Alfred Vernon Sharpe. Henry Burt. James Mansergh Walker. Andrew St. John O'Neill. John Albert Thomas Fielder. Stanley George Nancarrow. Cecil Charles Horsley. Hubert Drew Bishop. Harry John Aitchison White. Ronald Gartly Morton. Arthur Cecil Turnbull. Edward Leopold Dyke Acland. Reginald Arthur Lee. Arthur Chichester Boxer. Francis Chatterley Haydon. William Henry Outfin. Barry Hocken. Charles Thomas Morgan. William Jordan Deans. Ernest Edward Moore. Francis Edward Dean. Arthur Vine Eldridge. Richard Alexander Howley. Harold Francis Pocock. George Bevis. George William Bodel. Alexander Hill. Edward Clarke Green. John Kirk Corsar. Harold Hodson. Dated 1st July, 1902.