presented to Him by any Coroner of the same County concerning such proposed division or alteration, or whenever it shall seem fit to His Majesty to direct the issue of a Writ de Coronatore Eligendo for the purpose of authorizing the election of an additional Coroner above the number of those who have been theretofore customarily elected in such County, to order that such County shall be divided into such and so many districts for the purposes of the said Act as to His Majesty, with the advice aforesaid, shall seem expedient, and to give a name to each of such districts, and every such Order shall be published in the London Gazette.

And whereas by the Local Government Act, 1888, the powers and business of the said Justices in respect of the matters aforesaid in each County were transferred to the Council of such County.

And whereas by the Yorkshire Coroners Act 1897 it is enacted that, for all the purposes of the Coroners Acts 1844, 1860, 1887 and 1892, the Ridings of Yorkshire shall respectively be separate counties and the County Council of each Riding shall, to the exclusion of any other authority, be the County Authority for all the purposes of those Acts.

And whereas by an Order in Council made the twenty-sixth day of April, one thousand eight hundred and sixty-two, under the provisions of the hereinbefore first recited Act such parts of the County of York as were not excepted by the operation of the 27th Section of the hereinbefore first recited Act were divided into ten districts for Coroners' purposes and for the purposes of the said Act, which said districts were named respectively the York District, the Selby District, the Doncaster District, the Rotherham District, the Wakefield District, the Halifax District, the Craven District, the Northern District, the Pickering District, and the East Riding District, and comprised respectively the several places named and set forth in the Schedule to the said Order in Council.

And whereas by a further Order in Council dated the third day of February, one thousand eight hundred and ninety-eight, and made under the same provisious as amended by the Local Government Act 1888, and subject to the same exceptions as the said last-mentioned Order of the twenty-sixth day of April one thousand eight hundred and sixty-two, the County of York was divided into fifteen districts for Coroner's purposes and for the purposes of the said first recited Act, which said districts were named respectively the York Coroner's District, and (in the West Riding of the said County) the Selby Coroner's District, the Bishopthorpe Coroner's District, the Doucaster Coroner's Coroner's District, District, the Rotherham Coroner's District, the Wakefield Coroner's District, the Halifax Coroner's District, the Craven Coroner's District, the Kirby Malzeard Coroner's District, and (in the North Riding of the said County) the Northern Coroner's District, the Flaxton Coroner's District, the Pickering Coroner's District, and (in the East Riding of the said County) the East Riding Coroner's District, the Escrick Coroner's District and the Bubwith Coroner's District, which said Districts respectively comprised the places set forth in the Schedule to the said Order in Council.

And whereas a petition dated the twentyeighth day of January, one thousand nine hundred and three, was presented to His Majesty by the County Council of the North Riding of Yorkshire praying that upon the next avoidance of the office of Coroner of the Northern Coroner's District, the Coroners' Districts in the North Riding of Yorkshire might be altered so that such parts of the North Riding of Yorkshire as were not

excepted by the operation of the twenty-seventh section of the hereinbefore first recited Act, might be divided into three districts for Coroners' purposes to be named respectively-

1. The Northern Coroner's District. 2. The Flaxton Coroner's District.

3. The Pickering Coroner's District.

And whereas the said petition with a description of the said proposed districts and of the boundaries thereof, with the reasons upon which the said petition is founded, has been duly certi-

fied to His Majesty. And whereas all the provisions in that behalf of the hereinbefore first-recited Act have been duly complied with.

And whereas John Stamford Walton, one of His Majesty's Coroners for the county of York has petitioned His Majesty that the parish or place of High Worsall be included amongst the parishes and places in the Northern Coroner's District.

And whereas no other Coroner for the said county has presented a petition to His Majesty.

And whereas His Majesty has, with the advice of His Privy Council, taken into consideration the petition of the said County Council and also the petition of the said John Stamford Walton, and is minded to make such alteration as aforesaid.

Now, therefore, His Majesty in Council, by and with the advice of His said Council, is pleased to order, direct, and declare, as it is

of Coroner of the Northern Coroner's District aforesaid, the Coroners' Districts in the North Riding of Yorkshire shall be divided into three districts for Coroners' purposes, and for the purposes of the Coroners Act 1844.

2. That the said three districts shall be named respectively :-

(i) The Northern Coroner's District

(ii) The Flaxton Coroner's District

(iii) The Pickering Coroner's District;

and that the said districts shall respectively comprise the several parishes and places named and set forth in the Schedule hereto.

3. That this Order shall be published in the London Gazette. A. W. FitzRoy.

SCHEDULE.

The Districts herein described are to be deemed not to include any parishes or places, or parts thereof, which are exempt from the jurisdiction of the Coroners of the county of York, whether such parishes or places, or parts thereof, are hereinafter named or included or not.

1. THE NORTHERN CORONER'S DISTRICT.

Parishes and Places.	Boundaries.
Abbotside High	On the north by the
Abbotside Low	county of Durham;
Agglethorpe with	on the east by the
Coverham	parishes of Low
Ainderby Myers with	Worsall, Appleton-
Holtby	upon-Wiske, Picton,
Ainderby Steeple	Crathorne, East
Aiskew	Rounton, Ingleby
Akebar	Arncliffe, Whorlton,
Aldborough	Snilesworth, Arden,
Appleton East and	Kepwick, Cowesby,
West	Knayton - with - Bra-
Arkengarthdale	with, Thornton-le-
Arrathorne	Street, Thornton-le-
Aske	Moor, South Otter-