To East Ward.

Councillors:-John Emanuel Bunting, James Briggs, George Frederick Crawford.

To South Ward.

Councillors:—George Nicholas Slinger, John Clegg Lupton, Charles Haddon Tootal.

To Higher Antley Ward.

Councillors:--John Randolph Cameron, Doctor William Counsell Dewhurst, Wareing.

To Spring Hill Ward.

Councillors:—Arthur Smith Charles Bury, Francis Thomas Bury, Albert Townsend.

Dated this twentieth day of July, one thousand nine hundred and six.

SAMUEL POPE, Commissioner.

The Municipal Corporations Acts, 1882 and 1893 (45 and 46 Vic., cap. 50. 56 and 57 Vic., cap. 9). THE CITY OF CARLISLE.

WHEREAS by an Order of the King's Most Excellent Majesty in Council, dated the eleventh day of May, one thousand nine hundred and six, His Majesty, in pursuance and exercise of the power vested in Him by the Municipal Corporations Act, 1882, as amended by the Municipal Corporations Act, 1893, and of every other power enabling Him in that behalf, did, by and with advice of His Privy Council, fix the number of wards into which the city of Carlisle should be henceforth divided, and did order and direct that the number of the said wards should be ten:

And whereas the Right Honourable Herbert John Gladstone, one of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State, did, in pursuance of the said Acts of Parliament by Warrant given under his hand and seal at Whitehall on the twenty-eighth day of May, one thousand niue hundred and six, duly appoint me, Edward Thornton Hill Lawes, Esquire, Barrister-at-Law, to be a Commissioner for determining the boundaries of and for apportioning the Councillors among the wards of the said city of Carlisle: Now, I, the said Edward Thornton Hill Lawes,

in pursuance of the powers given to me by virtue of the said appointment under the said Acts, do hereby determine as hereinafter mentioned the boundaries of the said ten wards into which the said city is divided, which wards are hereinafter named and numbered as follows,

that is to say:

No. 1.—Castle Ward. No. 2.—Rickergate Ward.

No. 3.—Aglionby Ward.

No. 4.—Greystone Ward. No. 5.—St. Nicholas Ward. No. 6.—Currock Ward.

No. 7.—Denton Holme Ward.

No. 8.—Murrell Hill Ward. No. 9.—Caldewgate Ward. No. 10.—Newtown Ward.

No. 1.—Castle Ward.

I do hereby determine that Castle Ward shall comprise so much of the said city of Carlisle | road, thence along the centre of Greystone-road

as is contained within a line commencing at a point on the municipal boundary in the centre of the River Eden at Eden Bridge, and running thence in a southerly direction along the centre of Eden Bridge, Rickergate, Scotch-street and English-street successively to a point in Englishstreet aforesaid opposite the centre of Victoria Viaduct, thence along the centre of Victoria Viaduct to a point opposite the centre of Millstreet, thence in a south-westerly direction along the centre of the said viaduct to the centre of the River Caldew, thence along the centre of the River Caldew in a north-westerly direction and underneath Caldew Bridge and the Caledonian Railway to a point on the said municipal boundary in the River Eden opposite the said River Caldew, and thence along the said municipal boundary in the centre of the River Eden to the point of commencement aforesaid at Eden Bridge.

No. 2.—Rickergate Ward.

And I do hereby determine that Rickergate Ward shall comprise so much of the said city as is contained within a line commencing at the aforesaid point in the municipal boundary in the River Eden at Eden Bridge, and running thence along the said municipal boundary in the River Eden in an easterly direction till the said boundary leaves the River Eden, thence following the said boundary in a southerly direction till the same reaches the River Petteril, thence still following the said boundary along the centre of the River Petteril to a point in the centre of Petteril Bridge thence leaving the said boundary and running along the centre of Warwick-road in a westerly direction intersecting the junction of Lowther-street and the Crescent, and continuing along the centre of Citadel-row on the north of the Court House to the centre of English-street, thence in a northerly direction along the centre of English-street, Scotch-street, and Rickergate following the eastern boundary of Castle Ward as hereinbefore described to the point of commencement aforesaid at Eden Bridge.

No. 3.—Aglionby Ward.

And I do hereby determine that Aglionby Ward shall comprise so much of the said city as is contained within a line commencing at the aforesaid point on the Municipal Boundary at Petteril Bridge, and running thence along the centre of Warwick-road in a westerly direction and following the southern and part of the western boundaries of Rickergate Ward as hereinbefore described to the aforesaid point in the centre of English-street opposite Victoria Viaduct, thence along the centre of Victoria Viaduct to the aforesaid point opposite the centre of Mill-street, thence along the centre of Mill-street to the wall of Citadel Station, thence following the said wall in a south-easterly direction and continuing in a straight line to a point on the main line of the Loudon and North Western Railway opposite the south eastern boundary fence of the churchyard of Christ Church, thence in a straight line intersecting the London and North Western Railway Goods Depôt to and along the said churchyard boundary fence to the centre of Botchergate, thence along the centre of Botchergate in a south-easterly direction to a point opposite Union-street, thence along the centre of Union-street and Broad-street to the point where Lismore-street Broad-street intersects Petteril-street, thence along the centre of Petteril-street and South Petteril-street to a point opposite the centre of Tullie-street, thence along the centre of Tullie-street to Greystone-