#### MEMORANDA.

The Royal Militia of the Island of Jersey, Colonel John W. Godfray, C.V.O., C.B., retired pay, is appointed to the Staff with the title of Assistant Adjutant-General, vice Lieutenant-Colonel G. P. Stewart, 2nd or East Battalion. Dated 11th September, 1908.

The undermentioned Lieutenant-Colonels to be Brevet Colonels :-

- Osbert M. R. Thackwell, Royal Engineers. Dated 4th October, 1908.
- Arthur V. H. Vaughan-Lee, Royal Horse Guards. Dated 7th October, 1908.

### ARMY MEDICAL RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

Surgeon-Major Joseph Adams. M.B., to be Dated 22nd Surgeon - Lieutenant - Colonel. September, 1908.

# War Office,

6th October, 1908.

## TERRITORIAL FORCE.

### YEOMANRY.

Derbyshire; the undermentioned officers, from the Derbyshire Imperial Yeomanry, are appointed to the regiment, with rank and precedence as in the Imperial Yeomanry. Dated 1st April, 1908 :-

- Major and Honorary Lieutenant-Colonel Edward Charles Shuttleworth Holden, D.S.O.
- Major The Right Honourable Victor Christian William, The Duke of Devonshire.
- Major and Honorary Lieutenant-Colonel Lord Henry Cavendish Bentinck.
- Major Frederick William Peacock.
- Major William Dickson Winterbottom.
- Captain Hugh Frederick Gretton.
- Captain (Honorary Lieutenant in the Army) William Sayer Power, D.S.O.
- Captain Francis Cecil Albert Hurt.
- Captain William Fairbairn Wailes-Fairbairn.
- Lieutenant John Norman D'Arcy Clark. Lieutenant Michael Christopher McCreagh-
- Thornhill.
- Lieutenaut George Ashton Strutt.
- Lieutenant Ashtor Ashton Shuttleworth.
- Second Lieutenant Gerald Arthur Kennaway. Second Lieutenant Sir Philip Lee Brocklehurst, Bart.
- Second Lieutenant Arthur Herbert Betterton. Second Lieutenaut George Francis Augustus, Lord Vernon.
- Second Lieutenant George Clarence Ailsebrook.
- Second Lieutenant Robert Bentinck.
- Second Lieutenant Peter Arthur Carlaw Walker.
- Quartermaster  $\mathbf{and}$ Honorary Captain (Quartermaster and Honorary Major, retired pay, Reserve of Officers) George Page.
- Surgeon-Captain William Tweed Hannah, M.D.
- William Wilson, junr., to be Second Lieutenant. Dated 23rd April, 1908.

- Royal North Devon (Hussars); Lieutenant (Honorary Lieutenant in the Army) Norman Deakin to be Captain. Dated 30th June, 1908.
- Lanarkshire; Captain (Honorary Lieutenaut in the Army) John St. John Graham, from the Lanarkshire Imperial Yeomanry, to be Captain, with precedence as in the Imperial Yeomanry. Dated 1st April, 1908.
- Lincolnshire; Surgeon-Lieutenant Robert Black Purves, M.B., F.R.C.S. (Edin.), from the Lincolnshire Imperial Yeomanry, to be Surgeon-Lieutenant, with precedence as in the Imperial Yeomanry. Dated 1st April, 1908.
- Montgomeryshire ; Major George Herbert Mytton, The Montgomeryshire Imperial Yeomanry, is seconded whilst holding the appointment of Secretary of the Territorial Force Association of the County of Montgomery. Dated 26th May, 1908.
- South Nottinghamshire Hussars; the undermentioned officers, from the Nottinghamshire (South Nottinghamshire Hussars) Imperial Yeomanry, are appointed to the regiment with rank and precedence as in the Imperial Yeomanry. Dated 1st April, 1908:-
  - Major and Honorary Lieutenant-Colonel Frank Evelyn Seely.
  - Major and Honorary Lieutenant-Colonel Charles William Wright. Major Lord Osborne de Vere Beauclerk.

  - Major Thomas Arthur Hill.

  - Captain Percy Robert Bruce. Captain Alan Brocklehurst Bayley-Worthington.
  - Captain Sir Maurice Bromley-Wilson, Bart.
  - Lieutenant (Honorary Lieutenant in the Army) Thomas Philip Barber.
  - Lieutenant Henry Gordon Ley.
  - Lieutenant (Honorary Lieutenant in the Army) Harry Laurence Birkin.
  - Lieutenant Bertram Abel Smith.
  - Lieutenant Philip Huskinson Warwick.
  - Second Lieutenant Pascoe Spencer Thornton.
  - Second Lieutenant Robert Millington Holden.
  - Second Lieutenant Gervase Gwynne Milward. William Goodall Second Lieutenant Heymann,
  - Second Lieutenant Schomberg Montagu Bertie.
  - Second Lieutenant George Albert Jessop Cantrell-Hubbersty.
  - Quartermaster and Honorary Captain William Howard Bradwell.
  - Surgeon-Lieutenant William Trethowan Rowe, M.D.
- Major and Honorary Lieutenant-Colonel Charles W. Wright resigns his commission, with permission to retain his rank, and to wear the prescribed uniform. Dated 15th April, 1908. Captain Alan Brocklehurst Bayley-Worthington
- to be Major. Dated 15th April, 1908.
- Pembroke (Castlemartin); Surgeon-Captain James Wilson, M.D., from the Pembroke Imperial Yeomaury, to be Surgeon-Captain, with precedence as in the Imperial Yeomanry. Dated 1st April, 1908.
- Stuffordshire; Surgeon Lieutenant Ambrose Henry Palmer, from the Staffordshire (Queen's Own Royal Regiment) Imperial Yeomanry, to be Surgeon-Lieutenant, with precedence as in the Imperial Yeomanry. Dated 1st April, 1908.
- Surgeon-Lieutenant Ambrose H. Palmer to be Surgeon-Captain. Dated 24th June, 1908.