ROYAL HORSE ARTILLERY.

Inverness-shire; Neil Fraser-Tytler to be Second Lieutenant. Dated 17th November, 1908.

ROYAL FIELD ARTILLERY.

- 12th Lancashire Battery, 3rd West Lancashire Brigade; Frederick Steele Pilcher to be Second Lieutenant. Dated 2nd June, 1908.
- 1st Monmouthshire Battery, 4th Welsh Brigade; Alan Hier Davies (late Captain, 4th Volunteer Battalion, The South Wales Borderers) to be Lieutenant. Dated 22nd May, 1908.
- Headquarters, 2nd Wessex (Howitzer) Brigade; Major Charles Lyon, retired pay (late Royal Horse and Royal Field Artillery), to be Lieutenant-Colonel. Dated 9th December, 1908.
- 6th Hampshire Battery, 3rd Wessex Brigade; Captain John Frederick Fogerty, from the 1st Dorsetshire Royal Garrison Artillery (Volunteers), to be Captain, with precedence as in the Volunteer Force. Dated 1st April, 1908.
- 1st Devonshire Battery, 4th Wessex Brigade; Major Maurice Harry Donne Parsons, from the 1st (Exeter and South Devon) Volunteer Battalion, The Devonshire Regiment, to be Major, with precedence as in the Volunteer Force. Dated 1st April, 1908.
- Captain Edward Hugh Bent Norrish, from the 1st (Exeter and South Devon) Volunteer Battalion, The Devonshire Regiment, to be Captain, with precedence as in the Volunteer Force. Dated 1st April, 1908.
- 3rd Devonshire Battery, 4th Wessex Brigade; Frank Pethybridge to be Second Lieutenant. Dated 19th November, 1908.
- 4th Wessex Ammunition Column, 4th Wessex Brigade; Captain Edward Joseph Harbottle, from the 1st (Exeter and South Devon) Volunteer Battalion, The Devonshire Regiment, to be Captain, with precedence as in the Volunteer Force. Dated 1st April, 1908.

ROYAL ENGINEERS.

- 1st Lowland Field Company, Lowland Divisional Engineers; Captain Herbert Henry Roderick, from the Lowland Divisional Telegraph Company, to be Major. Dated 2nd April, 1908.
- Second Lieutenant Matthew Smith Spence, from the 2nd Lanarkshire Royal Engineers (Volunteers), to be Captain. Dated 1st April, 1908.
- Second Lieutenant. William Downs, from the 2nd Lanarkshire Royal Engineers (Volunteers), to be Lieutenant. Dated 1st April, 1908.
- Second Lieutenant Hugh Symington, from the 2nd Lanarkshire Royal Engineers (Volunteers), to be Lieutenant. Dated 1st April, 1908.
- Samuel Maxwell (late Quartermaster and Honorary Lieutenant, 2nd Lunarkshire Royal Engineers (Volunteers)) to be Second Lieutenant. Dated 1st April, 1908.
- George Roland Beard to be Second Lieutenant. Dated 26th May, 1908.
- 2nd Lowland Field Company, Lowland Divisional Engineers; Lieutenant James Jackson, from the 2nd Lanarkshire Royal Engineers (Volunteers), to be Captain. Dated 1st April, 1908.
- Second Lieutenant James Chapman, from the 2nd Lanarkshire Royal Engineers (Volunteers), to be Lieutenant. Dated 1st April, 1908.
- George Henry Comport to be Lieutenant. Dated 1st April, 1908.

- Bernard Ismay Rolling to be Second Lieutenant. Dated 26th May, 1908.
- Thomas Morrison Kidd to be Second Lieutenant. Dated 26th May, 1908.
- Lowland Divisional Telegraph Company, Lowland Divisional Engineers; Arthur Stanley Angwin to be Captain. Dated 1st April, 1908.
- John Lockhart to be Lieutenant. Dated 1st April, 1908.
- Scottish Command Telegraph Companies, (Army Troops); General Horatio Herbert, The Viscount Kitchener of Khartoum, G.C.B., O.M., G.C.M.G., G.C.I.E., Colonel Commandant, Royal Engineers, Commander-iu-Chief, East Indies, from the Honorary Colonelcy of the 1st Lanarkshire Royal Engineers (Volunteers) is appointed to the Honorary Colonelcy of the companies, with precedence as in the Volunteer Force. Dated 1st April, 1908.
- Scottish Wireless Telegraph Company, Scottish Command Telegraph Companies, (Army Troops); Supernumerary Captain Peter MacLellan resigns his commission. Dated 26th October, 1908.
- Cheshire (Railway Battalion); Honorary Colonel (Major-General, retired pay) Sir Thomas Fraser, K.C.B., C.M.G., from the 2nd Cheshire (Railway) Royal Engineers (Volunteers), is appointed to the Honorary Coloneloy of the unit, with precedence as in the Volunteer Force. Dated 1st April, 1908.
- Electric Lights Company, Glamorganshire (Fortress); Second Lieutenant John Williams to be Lieutenant. Dated 30th July, 1908.
- Electric Lights Company, Renfrewshire (Fortress); William Crockatt Thorne to be Second Lieutenant. Dated 10th November, 1908.

INFANTRY.

- 8th Battalion, The Royal Scots (Lothian Regiment); the undermentioned officers, from the 6th Volunteer Battalion, are appointed to the battalion, with rank and precedence as in the Volunteer Force. Dated 1st April, 1908:—
 - Lieutenant Robert Murray Thorburn. Lieutenant George Harrison Ballantyne. Lieutenant James Tait.
 - Lieutenant James Tait. Lieutenant Alfred Herbert Bell.
 - Lieutenant Robert Horsburgh Tait.
 Second Lieutenant William Harold Inch.
 Opertormaster and Honorary Captain Welter
 - Quartermaster and Honorary Captain Walter Ernest Thorburn. (To be supernumerary.) Battalion. The Northumberland Fusiliers:
- 6th Battalion, The Northumberland Fusiliers; Lieutenant Norman McL. Dryden to be Captain. Dated 4th June, 1908. 5th Battalion, The Sherwood Foresters (Notting-
- 5th Battulion, The Sherwood Foresters (Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire Regiment); Leslie Charles Finch to be Second Lieutenant. Dated 20th November, 1908.
- 7th Battalion, The Sherwood Foresters (Notting hamshire and Derbyshire Regiment); Honorary Colonel William John Arthur Charles James, The Right Honourable The Duke of Portland, K.G., G.C.V.O., from the Honorary Colonelcy of the 1st Nottinghamshire (Robin Hood) Volunteer Rifle Corps, is appointed to the Honorary Colonelcy of the battalion, with precedence as in the Volunteer Force. Dated 1st April, 1908.
- 7th (Deeside) Battalion, The Gordon Highlanders; Quartermaster and Honorary Major George Henderson Smythe, from the 5th (Deeside Highland) Volunteer Battalion, to be Quartermaster with the honorary rank of Major, with precedence as in the Volunteer Force. Dated 1st April, 1908.