DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACTS, 1894 to 1903.

RETURN of OUTBREAKS of SWINE-FEVER for the Week ended 22nd May, 1909.

Counties (including all Boroughs therein [®]).	Cutbreaks confirmed.		Counties (including all Boroughs therein ^e).	Outbreaks confirmed.	Swine Slaughtered as Discased or as having been ex- posed to Infection:
ENGLAND.	No.	No.	england.	No.	No.
Bedford Berks Chester Derby Devon Dorset Durham Essex Hants Hereford Hertford Huntingdon Kent Lancaster Lincoln, Parts of Lindsey Middlesex Monmouth	1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1	1 10 5 13 10 88 2 11 79 1 11 77	Oxford Suffolk Warwick Wilts. Worcester York, West Riding. WALES. Denbigh Glamorgan Pembroke Total	1 1 3 1 1 1 4 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1	1 5 37 17 14 13

* For convenience Berwick-upon-Tweed is considered to be in Northumberland, Dudley in Worcestershire, Stockport in Cheshire, and the city of London in the county of London.

Note.—The term "administrative county" used in the following descriptions of Areas is the district for which a county council is elected under the Local Government Act, 1888, and includes all boroughs in it which are not county boroughs.

The following Areas are now "Infected Areas" for the purposes of the Swine Fever (Regulation of Movement) Order of 1908:—

Bedfordshire.—An Area in the administrative county of Bedford comprising the borough of Bedford, and the petty sessional division of Bedford (except the parishes of Little Barford and Eaton Socon) (4 May, 1909).

Cornwall.—An Area in the administrative county of Cornwall comprising the petty sessional divisions of East Middle and East South (including the borough of Saltash); and also comprising the parishes of St. Cleer, Menheniot, Liskeard, St. Keyne, Morval, and St. Martin, and the borough of Liskeard (29 March, 1909).

Derbyshire.—An Area comprising the petty sessional divisions of Derby, Appletree, Repton, Swadlincote, and Ashbourne (except the parishes, and any detached parts thereof, of Hartington Town Quarter, Hartington Nether Quarter, Eaton and Alsop, Parwich, and Ballidon), in the administrative county of Derby; and also comprising the county borough of Derby (3 May 1909).

Ballidon), in the administrative county of Derby; and also comprising the county borough of Derby (3 May, 1909).

Dorsetshire.—An Area in the administrative county of Dorset comprising the petty sessional divisions of Dorchester (except the parishes of Portland, Melbury Sampford, and Evershot), Wareham (including the borough of Wareham), and Wimborne (except the parishes of Verwood, Alderholt, Cranborne, Edmondsham, Wimborne St. Giles, Woodlands, Horton, Chalbury, More Crichel, Long Crichel, Gussage St. Michael, Gussage All Saints, Handley, West Woodyates, East Woodyates, and Pentridge); and the parishes of Wraxall, Cattistock, Sydling St. Nicholas, Godmanstone, Spettisbury, Winterborne Tomson, Winterborne Zelstone, and Anderson; and also comprising the boroughs of Weymouth and Melcombe Regis, Dorchester, and Poole (24 April, 1909).

Essex.—(1.) An Area comprising the petty sessional

division of Romford and the parish of Dagen-

ham, in the administrative county of Essex (22 December 1908).

(2.) An Area in the administrative county of Essex, comprising the petty sessional division of Dengie, the detached part of the petty sessional division of Witham, and the borough of Maldon (21 April, 1909).

Gloucestershire.—An Area comprising the petty sessional division of Nailsworth, in the administrative county of Gloucester (3 May, 1909).

Hampshire.—See under Southampton.

Midlothian.—An Area comprising the parishes of Cramond (excluding its detached parts), Corstorphine, Colinton, Glencorse, Lasswade, Liberton, Inveresk, Newton, Dalkeith, Cranston, Newbattle, Cockpen, and Carrington, in the county of Midlothian; and also comprising the county of the city of Edinburgh and the burghs of Leith and Musselburgh (25 March, 1909).

Monmouthshire.—An Area comprising the petty sessional divisions of Newport, Caerleon, Pontypool, and Bedwellty (except the parishes of Llechryd, Dukestown, Rassa, and Beaufort), in the administrative county of Monmouth; and also comprising the county borough of Newport (4 May, 1909).

Newport (4 May, 1909).

Northamptonshire.—(1.) An Area comprising the county borough of Northampton (15 August, 1908).

(2.) An Area in the administrative county of Northampton comprising the petty sessional division of Thrapston (except the parish of Brigstock); the parish of Burton Latimer; and the petty sessional division of Wellingborough (except the parishes of Bozeat, Easton Maudit, Grendon, and Strixton) (1 February, 1909).

(3.) An Area comprising the petty sessional division of Towcester, in the administrative county of Northampton (19 April, 1909).