

## The London Gazette.

## Published by Authority.

This Gazette has now been registered at the General Post Office for transmission by Inland Post as a newspaper. As regards copies sent by post within the United Kingdom, unless despatched in proper course from a Metropolitan Government Office, or from the Publishing Office of the Gazette, the postage should in future be prepaid at the rate of a halfpenny for each copy. Copies sent abroad should be prepaid at the rate of a halfpenny for every 2 ounces, except in the case of copies sent to Canada, which will be transmissible by the Canadian Magazine Post at the rate of a penny for every pound or fraction of a pound.

\*\* For Table of Contents, see last page.

## FRIDAY, JULY 30, 1909.

Whitehall, July 28, 1909.

The KING was pleased on Thursday, the 22nd July, to confer the honour of Knighthood upon the following Gentlemen at Buckingham

Thomas Edward Thorpe, Esq., C.B., F.R.S., Principal of the Government Laboratories;

John James Baddeley, Esq., Sheriff of the City of London.

Thomas Arthur Bramsdon, Esq., M.P.;
Francis Joseph Campbell, Esq., LL.D.,
Principal of the Royal Normal College for the Blind:

Arthur Chapman, Esq., formerly Consul-General at Rio de Janeiro;

Merton Russell Cotes, Esq., East Cliff Hall, Bournemouth

Samuel Dill, Esq., Litt.D., LL.D., Member of the Intermediate Education Board for Ireland; John Duncan, Esq., Dros-y-Mor, Penarth,

Francis Stanhope Hanson, Esq., Alderman

and Sheriff of the City of London;
Lieutenant-Colonel George Kemp, Beech-

wood, Rochdale;

Hugh Percy Lane, Esq., Honorary Director, Municipal Art Gallery, Dublin, and Governor of National Gallery, Ireland;

Joseph Larmor, Esq., D.Sc., F.R.S., Secretary of the Royal Society, Lucasian Professor of Mathematics at Cambridge;

Lieutenant-Colonel William Boog Leishman, M.B., R.A.M.C.;

Henry William Lucy, Esq.

Richard Mackie, Esq., Leith; Thomas Mason, Esq., Glasgow; Thomas Matthews, Esq., Chief Engineer of the Trinity House;

Walter Menzies, Esq., M.P.; Mark Oldroyd, Esq., Dewsbury; Robert Harry Inglis Palgrave, Esq., F.R.S., Henstead Hall, near Wrentham;

Edwin Pears, Esq.;

Arthur Wing Pinero, Esq.; William Edward Briggs Priestley, Esq.,

George Allardice Riddell, Esq.; William Alexander Smith, Esq., Founder and Organizer of the Boys' Brigade;

Arthur John Tedder, Esq., Chief Inspector of

John Edward Thrift, Esq., Chief Inspector of Stamps and Taxes, Inland Revenue Depart-

Herbert Beerbohm Tree, Esq.;
Major Henry Francis Trippel, Onslow Hall,
The Green, Richmond, Surrey; James Henry Yoxall, Esq., M.P.;

The Honourable Arthur Hay Stewart Reid, Chief Judge of the Chief Court of the Punjab; Edwin Grant Burls, Esq., C.S.I., Director-General of Stores, India Office;

The Honourable Cornthwaite Hector Rason, Agent-General in London for the State of Western Australia ;

Charles Frederick Lumb, Esq., LL.D., lately Puisne Judge of the Supreme Court of Judicature, Jamaica;

Walter Kennaway, Esq., C.M.G., Secretary, Office of the High Commissioner in London for the Dominion of New Zealand;

The foregoing Honours take effect as from the 26th June, 1909.