To be Ordinary Members of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders of the said Most Distinguished Order:-

The Right Honourable George Houstonn Reid, K.C., Member of the House of Representatives of the Commonwealth of Australia.

Leslie Probyn, Esq., C.M.G., Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Colony of Sierra

The Honourable Sir John Lancelot Stirling, LL.B., President of the Legislative Council of the State of South Australia.

Sir James Mills, Kt, Chairman and Managing Director of the Union Steamship Company of New Zealand.

Francis Henry May, Esq., C.M.G., Colonial Secretary of the Colony of Hong Kong. Owen Cosby Philipps, Esq., M.P., Chairman and Managing Director of the Royal Mail Steam Packet Company.

To be Ordinary Members of the Third Class, or Companions of the said Most Distinguished Order !-

Colonel the Honourable Edward Mackenzie Greene, K.C., Minister for Railways and Harbours, Natal, and a delegate to the Imperial Defence Conference, 1909.

William Wallace Cory, Esq., Deputy Minister of the Interior, Dominion of Canada.

Captain John Robert Chancellor, R.E., D.S.O.,

Secretary, Colonial Defence Committee.

Duncan Clark McLachlan, Esq., I.S.O., Public

Service Commissioner, Commonwealth Australia.

Cecil Hunter Rodwell, Esq., Imperial Secretary and Accountant to the High Commissioner for South Africa.

Lord Richard Plantagenet Nevill, Chamberlain to His Excellency the Governor-General and Commander-in-Chief of the Commonwealth

of Australia.
Charles Lindsay Temple, Esq., First Class

Resident, Protectorate of Northern Nigeria. Frank Bedford Glasier, Esq., General

Manager of the Lagos Railway.

Aylesworth Bowen Perry, Esq., Commissioner of the Royal North-West Mounted Police, Dominion of Canada.

James Augustine Haran, Esq., M.D., M.A., Medical Officer of Health, Mombasa, East

Africa Protectorate.

Albert Bythesea Weigall, Esq., M.A., Head
Master of Sydney Grammar School, New South Wales.

> India Office, 9th November, 1909.

The KING has been graciously pleased to make the following appointment to the Most Eminent Order of the Indian Empire:—

To be an Honorary Knight Commander: Doctor Sven Hedin.

> India Office, 9th November, 1909.

The KING has been graciously pleased to confer the decoration of the Imperial Order of the Crown of India on-

Mary Caroline, Countess of Minto, wife of the Right Honourable Gilbert John, Earl of Minto, Viceroy and Governor-General of India.

Chancery of the Royal Victorian Order, St. James's Palace, November 9, 1909.

The KING has been graciously pleased to make the following promotion in and appointments to the Royal Victorian Order:—

To be Knight Grand Cross:

Francis, Earl of Wemyss and March, Aide-de-Camp to His Majesty.

To be Knights Commanders:

The Right Honourable Sir Savile Crossley, Bart, M.V.O. Brinton Sir William Hovell Browne ffolkes, Bart. Arthur Herbert Church, Esq., F.R.S. Somerville Arthur Gurney, Esq.

Admiralty, 9th November, 1909.

The KING has been graciously pleased to confer the Royal Naval Reserve Officers' Decoration upon the following Officers:—

Commanders.

George Killwick Wright. Frederick William Vibert. Charles Knightley Browne. Herbert James Haddock, C.B. Henry St George Lindsay. William Howse Watkeys. George Herbert Chaston Weston. David Clunie Gregor. Charles Frederick Osborne. Charles Douglas Bennett. Hugh Graham Moore. William Horatio Haughton. Charles Cockburn Talbot. Walter Stewart Atkin. John Dugald Andrews. Edward Pitts. Owen Jones. George Wallace Cockman. Alexander Ernest Gore Tipper. Henry Arthur Eagleton. Henry Clemell Fenwick. James Thomas Walter Charles. Bertram Fox Hayes. Albert Borlase Armitage. Hubert Wynn Kenrick. Cecil de La Mare Goldsmith. David Landles Neilson. Charles Alfred Bartlett. Percy Cullen, C.M.G. (Retired.)
George Cawley. (Retired.)
William Henry Niles. (Retired.)
William Henry Coysh. (Retired.)
Irvin Hayward. (Retired.)
Henry George Albert Timmis. (Retired.)
Renjamin Steel. (Retired.) Benjamin Steel. (Retired.) Charles Appleton Smith. (Retired.) Harvey William Broadbent. (Retired.) Arthur Bernard Crosse: (Retired.)

Lieutenants.

Hugh Robert Oliver. Arthur Ovington Cooper. John Vigers. Gerald Edward Bridge. John Potter. Richard Welbourn Padgett Harold Harwood Jackson. Frederick William Robinson. Walter Johnson. William Hazell. William Herbert Coates.