BIRDS.

Close Time extended.

II. The time during which the killing or taking of Wild Birds is prohibited by the Wild Birds Protection Act, 1880, shall be extended throughout the Administrative County of Devon, so far as the undermentioned birds are concerned, so as to be between the 31st day of January and the 1st day of September in each year:—

Bittern, Curlew or Whaup, Dotterel, Dunlin (Ploverspage, Purre or Sealark), Gannet or Solan Goose, Grebe, Hobby, Lark, Merlin, Nightingale, Nightjar (Fern Owl, Goatsucker or Night Hawk), Nutcracker, Nuthatch, Oriole, Richard's Pipit, Water Pipit, Plover (Lapwing or Peewit), Puffin (Coulterneb or Sea Parrot), Razorbill, Sanderling, Sandpiper, Summer Snipe or Otterling, Stone Curlew or Thick Knee, Tern or Sea Swallow, Whimbrel.

Additions to the Schedule of the Act of 1880.

III. The Wild Birds Protection Act, 1880, shall apply within the Administrative County of Devon to the following species of Wild Birds in the same manner as if those species were included in the schedule to the said Act:—

Snow Bunting, Buzzard, Honey Buzzard, Hobby, Kestrel, Merlin, Nutcracker, Nuthatch, Osprey, Richard's Pipit, Water Pipit, Lesser Redpole, Mealy Redpole, Wild Swan, Bearded Titmouse.

The Shag and Cormorant deprived of protection in certain Districts.

IV. Those parts of the Administrative County of Devon which are comprised within the limits of the Axe, Exe, Dart, Teign, and Taw and Torridge Fishery Districts, respectively, shall be exempted from the operation of the Act of 1880, so far as the undermentioned Birds are concerned:—

Shag, Cormorant.

Certain Birds protected during the whole of the Year.

V. During that period of the year to which the protection afforded by the Act of 1880, as extended by Clause II. of this Order, does not apply, the killing or taking of the following species of Wild Birds is prohibited throughout the Administrative County of Devon:—

Cirl Bunting, Reed Bunting, Snow Bunting, Buzzard, Honey Buzzard, Cornish Chough, Goldfinch, Guillemot or Willock, Gulls, Hawfinch, Hoopoe, Kestrel, Kingfisher, Kittiwake or Tarrock, Osprey, Owls, Oyster Catcher, Lesser Redpole, Reeve or Ruff, Wild Swan, Bearded Titmouse, Woodpecker, Wren, Golden-crested Wren.

Eggs.

Certain Eggs protected throughout the County.

VI. The taking or destroying of the eggs of the following species of Wild Birds is prohibited throughout the Administrative County of Devon:—

Cirl Bunting, Corn Bunting, Reed Bunting, Buzzard, Honey Buzzard, Bittern, Little Bittern, Chough, Common Crossbill, Dipper, Dunlin (Ploverspage, Purre or Sealark), Rock Dove, Peregrine Falcon, Pied Flycatcher, Gannet, Goldfinch, Common Guillemot, Great Black-backed Gull, Lesser Black-backed Gull, Hen Harrier, Marsh Harrier, Montagu's Harrier, Hawfinch, Night Heron, Hobby, Hoopoe, Kestrel, Kingfisher, Kite, Wood Lark, Merlin, Nightingale, Nightjar, Nuthatch, Golden Oriole, Ring Ouzel, Osprey, Oyster Catcher, Barn Owl, Long-eared Owl, Tawny Owl, Rose-coloured Pastor, Quail, Raven, Razorbill, Redstart, Green Sandpiper, Common Snipe, Wild Swan, White Wagtail, Blackheaded Warbler, Dartford Warbler, Garden Warbler, Grasshopper Warbler, Reed Warbler, Wood Warbler, Wheatear, Whinchat, Woodcock, Green Woodpecker, Great Spotted Woodpecker, Lesser Spotted Woodpecker, Fire-crested Wren.

All Eggs protected in certain Areas.

VII. The taking or destroying of the eggs of any species of Wild Birds is prohibited within the following areas:—

- (i.) Lundy Island and the neighbouring islets.
- (ii.) Baggy Point district, situate in the parish of Georgeham, and bounded by the sea from the coast off Croyde Bay House to that off Vention Cottages, and thence by the roads passing near Croyde Village, by way of Vention-lane, Stentaway-lane and Moor-lane, to the coast off Croyde Bay House.
- (iii.) Clovelly district, being the parishes of Abbotsham, Alwington, Clovelly, Hartland, Parkham, Welcombe, and Woolfardisworthy (West).
- (iv.) Lynton district, being the parishes of Lynton and Countisbury.
- (v.) Slapton Ley and Start district, being the parishes of Stokenham, Slapton and Blackawton.

Duration of Order.

VIII. This Order shall remain in force until the end of the year 1912.

Repeal of former Order.

IX. The Order of the 30th January, 1906, is hereby repealed.

Given under my hand at Whitehall, this 18th day of November, 1911.

R. McKenna.

One of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

EXPLOSIVES ACT, 1875.

The Right Honourable Reginald McKenna, one of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State, in virtue of the powers conferred on him by section 53 of the Explosives Act, 1875, has appointed Sergeant William Lacy, No. 57,170, of the Royal Irish Constabulary, to be an Inspector for Ireland under the said Act.

Whitehall, 22nd November, 1911.