1782, or of the House of Commons (Disqualifications) Act, 1801," there shall be read the words "House of Keys Electron Act, 1866, or any Act amending the same."

Almeric FitzRoy.

At the Court at Buchingham Palace, the 4th day of June, 1918.

PRESENT,

The KING's Most Excellent Majesty in Council

WHEREAS by Section 30 of The Municipal Corporations Act, 1882, as amended by Section 2 of The Municipal Corporations Act, 1893, it is (amongst other things) provided that, if a majority of the whole Council of a Borough agree to petition, and the Council thereupon petition, The King for the alteration of the number and boundaries of its Wards, it shall be lawful for His Majesty, from time to time, by Order in Council, to fix the number of Wards into which the Borough shall be divided, and that the Borough shall be divided into that number of Wards, and that where an Order in Council has been so made the Secretary of State shall appoint a Commissioner to prepare a Scheme for determining the boundaries of the Wards, and apportioning the Councillors among them:

And whereas a majority of the whole Council of the Borough of Dover did, on the 25th day of July, 1916, agree to petition, and the said Council thereupon petitioned, His Majesty for the alteration of the number and boundaries of the Wards of the said Borough:

And whereas His Majesty was pleased, by His Order in Council of the 22nd day of December, 1916, to fix the number of Wards into which the Borough of Dover should be henceforth divided, and to order and direct that the number of the said Wards should be 6:

And whereas the Right Honourable Sir George Cave, one of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State, did appoint Sir Herbert Nield, K.C.. M.P., a Commissioner to prepare a Scheme for determining the boundaries of the said Wards, and apportioning the Councillors of the said Borough among them:

And whereas the said Commissioner has accordingly prepared the following Scheme, dated the 17th day of May, 1918:—

"BOROUGH OF DOVER.

"Scheme for determining the Boundaries of the 6 Wards into which the Borough was divided by the Order of His Majesty in Council dated the 22nd day of December, 1916, and for apportioning the Councillors of the said Borough among such Wards.

"The Names of the said Wards respectively, with the Boundaries thereof, together with the Names of the Councillors apportioned among them, are as follows:—

(Note.—The number refers to the numbers shown upon the *Map* attached hereto.)

"No. 1. RIVER WARD.

"The part of the Borough of Dover bounded by an imaginary line commencing at the point in the London Road where the Ancient

Parishes of Buckland and Charlton adjoin, thence following such Boundary, and a straight line in continuation thereof, in a south-westerly direction to the Borough Boundary, thence along such Boundary successively in a north-ward, north-eastward, south-eastward, and southward direction to the point where such Boundary is intersected by the Dover and Deal Branch of the South Eastern and Chatham Railway near Kearsney Loop Junction, thence in a westerly direction along the south side of the Railway to the bridge carrying London Road over such Railway, thence in a southeasterly direction along the middle of London Road to point firsthereinbefore the mentioned.

"Councillor H. Hobday to retire 1917. Councillor F. W. Stone to retire 1918. Councillor T. Worsdell to retire 1919.

"No. 2. Barton Ward.

"The part of the Borough of Dover bounded by an imaginary line commencing at the point where the Borough Boundary crosses the eastern Boundary of the Ancient Parish of Buckland, thence following such Parish Boundary to London Road, thence along the middle of London Road in a north-westerly direction to the bridge over the Dover and Deal Railway at Crabble Hill, thence in an easterly direction along the south side of the Railway to the Boundary of the Borough, thence along such Boundary in a south-easterly direction to the point first hereinbefore mentioned.

"Councillor J. T. Gatehouse to retire 1917. Councillor H. M. Baker to retire 1918. Councillor E. Chitty to retire 1919

"No. 3. St. BARTHOLOMEW'S WARD.

"The part of the Borough of Dover bounded by an imaginary line commencing at the point in the London Road where the Ancient Parishes of Buckland and Charlton adjoin, and thence along the Boundary of the Castle Ward, as hereinafter described, to the point of intersection of the Boundaries of the Ancient Parishes of St. James, St. Mary, and Charlton in the River Dour, thence in a westerly direction following the Boundary of the said Parish of Charlton to its most westerly point, thence in a straight line continuing in a westerly direction to the Borough Boundary, thence along such Boundary to the point of intersection therewith of the southern Boundary of River Ward, thence along that Boundary in an easterly direction to the point first mentioned.

"Councillor W. Hollis to retire 1917. Councillor R. Morgan to retire 1918. Councillor A. T. Walmisley to retire 1919.

"No. 4. CASTLE WARD.

"The part of the Borough of Dover bounded by an imaginary line commencing at the extreme eastern Boundary of the Borough on the seashore, thence following the seaward Boundary of the Borough westward to the Boundary between the Ancient Parishes of St. James and St. Mary, thence following such Boundary to its intersection with the Boundary of the Parish of Charlton in the River Dour, thence along the Boundary between the said Parishes of Charlton and St. James to the middle of Maison Dieu Rôad, thence along the middle of