Tempy. Paym. Sub-Lieut. to be tempy. Flying Officers. Paym. Lieut.

Robert Thorburn. 25th Aug. 1919.

War Office, 16th September, 1919. NOTICE

His Majesty the KING has directed that the award of the Military Medal to 2nd Lieutenant D. McG. Reid, 5th Battalion, Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders, when serving as No. 15419 Serjeant, 17th Battalion, Highland Light Infantry, as published in the London Gazette of the 19th February, 1917, shall be cancelled, and his name erased from the Register, in consequence of his having been dismissed the Service by sentence of a General Court-Martial.

Commission signed by His Majesty's Lieu-tenant of the North Riding of the County of York.

Major-General Sir James Keith Trotter, K.C.B., C.M.G., of Aislaby Lodge, Sleights, Yorks., in the North Riding of the County of York, to be Deputy Lieutenant. Dated the 10th September, 1919.

014

Air Ministry, 16th September, 1919.

ROYAL AIR FORCE.

The following officers have been granted short-service commissions in the ranks stated, with effect from the 16th September, 1919. They will retain their seniority in the substantive rank last held by them prior to the grant of the short-service commission :-

Squadron Leaders.

John Stanley Travers Bradley, O.B.E (S.O.).

Harold Edward James Hewitt (Ad.).

Flight Lieutenants. Charles William Bailey (A. & S.). Leslie Francis Palmer Bawn (T.). Alfred Montague Blake, A.F.C. (A.). Leslie Oswald Brown, D.S.C., A.F.C. (A. & S.). James Michael Burke (T.) Dudley Keith Cameron (T.). Basil Everard Catchpole, M.C., D.F.C (A.). Henry Lumsden Crichton, M.B.E. (S.O.). Frederick Reginald Parkes Dexter (Ad.). William Mayes Fry, M.C. (A.). Harold Hindle James (A.) Charles William McCann (T.). Philip Herbert Mackworth, D.F.C. (A. & S.). Denis Osmond Mulholland, A.F.C. (A.). George Cecil Rhodes (T.). Paul Douglas Robertson (T.). William George Stephenson-Peach (T.). George Stevens, O.B.E. (T.). Charles Arthur Taylor (A.). Benjamin Cecil Tooke (S.). Cyril Jameson Truran, A.F.C. (A.). Siegfried Rickards Watkins, A.F.C. (A.). Donald William Wilson (S.O.). Percy Worthington, M.C. (T.). Thomas Kenneth Young (T.).

Cyril Douglas Adams (A.). James Michie Adams (Ad.). Hubert Clare Atkin (T.). Harry Auliff (Ad.). Valentine George Austen (A.). Hector Bell Smith Ballantyne (Ad.). John Francis Tufnell Barrett (A.). Henry Frederick Vulliamy Battle (A.). Leonard Neville James Bennett-Baggs (A.) William Best (T.). Arthur Thomas Cooper (S.O.). Edward Dayrell Handley Davies (S.). Percy Harold Davy (A.). David Wingrave Dean (S.O.). Thomas Henry Evans (S.O.). Arthur Leonard Fiddament (A.) Wilfred Charles Green, M.C. (T.). James Dorr Hewett (A.). Reginald Victor John Somerville Hogan (8.0.). Albert Holmes (S.O.). Walter Edward Lunnon (A.) Charles Herbert Masters (S.O.). James Victor Medcalf (A.). Walter Davis Miller (S.O.). Eric John Moule (A.). Henry William Prockter (T.). Cyril Rapley, M.S.M. (T.). Douglas Blanchard Robertson (A.). William Aubrey Rochelle (A.). Leonard Thomas Sanderson, D.S.M. (S.O.) Philip Leighton Sant (A.). James Tassie Vernon (S.O.) Walter William Whitehead (T.). Richard Fraser Wilson (T.). Walter Keith Yarnold (T.). Richard William Gordon West (A.).

Observer Officers.

Robert Bisset Gordon, D.F.C. Robert Bruce Hunter.

NOTE —It is intended that officers employed as Stores Officers or on "Q" duties shall belong to the new Stores Branch when formed. Officers appearing in this Gazette who are at present so employed will be transferred to this Branch on its formation, and will accept these short-service commissions on that condition. They will then come on to the rates of pay of that Branch. but will meantime be permitted to draw the higher rates laid down in the new scheme for officers on the General List. Any officer posted to the Stores Branch on its formation will then have the option of declining his short-service commission.

> Air Ministry. 16th September, 1919.

ROYAL AIR FORCE.

PERMANENT COMMISSIONS.

The notification appearing in the London Gazette of 1st August, 1919, appointing the following Officers to permanent commissions is cancelled : Lt.-Col. R. A. Bradley (A.), C.M.G.

- Maj. F. B. Binney (A.).

Maj. A. Cleghorn (T.). Maj. E. J. Roberts (A.). Capt. L. I. Barker (A.).

- Capt. T. G. Bowler (Ad.). Capt. C. H. Dixon (A.) (D.F.C.). Capt. G. Donald (D.F.C.) (A. & S.).