or gratuities on retirement for Chaplains and Lay Clerks, and for contributing to pensions for the Organist or the Schoolmaster.

"The Warden and Fellows may at any time, and from time to time, at any Stated General Meeting, appoint a Precentor for such period

as they shall think fit.

"The appointment, removal, remuneration, and duties of the Chaplains, Academical and Lay Clerks, and Choristers, and of the Precentor, if any, shall be regulated by By-laws to be made by the Warden and Fellows at any Stated General Meeting, which By-laws may be repealed and altered from time to time in the same manner as other By-laws of the College. Until such By-laws shall have been made, the existing Statutes and Regulations relating to the appointment, removal, remuneration, and duties of the Chaplains, Lay Clerks, Choristers, and Precentor shall have the force of By-laws made under this clause."

The Seal of the College affixed in the presence of the undermentioned witnesses, the 11th day of November, 1919.

J. B. Moyle, Sub-Warden. E. H. Hoyes, H. L. Henderson Fellows.



Master of the Horse's Office, Royal Mews, Buckingham Palace, 17th November, 1919.

The KING has been graciously pleased to appoint Henry P. Hunloke, Esq., to be Page of Honour to His Majesty, vice Richard Dawnay, Esq., resigned.

Whitehall, November 15, 1919.

The KING has been pleased to issue a Commission under His Majesty's Royal Sign Manual to the following effect:—

GEORGE R.I.

GEORGE THE FIFTH, by the Grace of God, of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland and of the British Dominions beyond the Seas King, Defender of the Faith, to

Our Right Trusty and Well-beloved Counsellors:—

Herbert Henry Asquith;

Rowland Edmund, Baron Ernle;

Robert, Baron Chalmers, Knight Grand Cross of Our Most Honourable Order of the Bath, late Secretary to the Treasury;

Gerald William Balfour;

Sir John Allsebrook Simon, Knight Commander of the Royal Victorian Order; and

Arthur Henderson; and

Our Trusty and Well-beloved: -

Edward Gerald Strutt, Esquire (commonly called the Honourable Edward Gerald Strutt);

Thomas Banks Strong, Knight Grand Cross of Our Most Excellent Order of the British Empire, Doctor in Divinity, Dean of Christ Church, Oxford;

Sir Howard Frank, Knight Commander of Our Most Honourable Order of the Bath;

Sir Walter Morley Fletcher, Knight Commander of Our Most Excellent Order of the British Empire, Fellow of the Royal Society;

Sir Horace Darwin, Knight Commander of Our Most Excellent Order of the British Empire, Fellow of the Royal Society;

Sir Henry Alexander Miers, Knight, Fellow of the Royal Society, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Manchester;

Sir John Hubert Oakley, Knight, Past-President of the Surveyors' Institution;

William Henry Bragg, Esquire, Commander of Our Most Excellent Order of the British Empire, Fellow of the Royal Society, Quain Professor of Physics in the University of London;

George Macaulay Trevelyan, Esquire, Officer of Our Most Excellent Order of the British Empire;

Emily Penrose, Spinster, Officer of Our Most Excellent Order of the British Empire, Master of Arts, Principal of Somerville College, Oxford;

William George Stewart Adams, Esquire, Gladstone Professor of Political Theory and Institutions, Oxford;

Hugh Kerr Anderson, Esquire, Master of Arts, Doctor of Medicine, Fellow of the Royal Society;

Blanche Athena Clough, Spinster, Vice-Principal of Newnham College, Cambridge;

Herbert Mansfield Cobb, Esquire, Fellow and Member of the Council of the Surveyors' Institution;

Montague Rhodes James, Esquire, Doctor of Letters, Fellow of the Royal Society;

Albert Mansbridge, Esquire; and

Arthur Schuster, Esquire, Fellow and Secretary of the Royal Society, Honorary Professor of Physics of the University of Manchester;

Whereas We have deemed it expedient that a Commission should forthwith issue to consider the applications which have been made by the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge for financial assistance from the State and for this purpose to inquire into the financial resources of the Universities and of the Colleges and Halls therein, into the administration and application of those resources, into the government of the Universities, and into the relations of the Colleges and Halls to the Universities and to each other, and to make recommendations:

Now know ye that We, reposing great trust and confidence in your knowledge and ability, have authorized and appointed, and do by these Presents authorize and appoint you the said Herbert Henry Asquith (Chairman); Rowland Edmund, Baron Ernle; Robert, Baron Chalmers; Gerald William Balfour; Sir John Allsebrook Simon; Arthur Henderson; Edward Gerald Strutt; Thomas Banks Strong; Sir Howard Frank; Sir Walter Morley Fletcher; Sir Horace Darwin; Sir Henry Alexander Miers; Sir John Hubert Oakley; William Henry Bragg; George Macaulay Trevelyan; Emily Penrose; William George Stewart Adams; Hugh Kerr Anderson; Blanche Athena Clough; Herbert Mansfield Cobb; Montague Rhodes James; Albert Mansbridge and Arthur Schuster to be Our Commissioners for the purposes of the said inquiry.