R.N.R.

Tempy. Pay. Sub-Lieut. to be tempy. Pay. Lieut.-

Sydney R. Aitken. 27th Oct. 1919.

R.N.V.R.

Tempy. Sub-Lieut. Richard H. Homer placed on the Retired List. 21st May 1919.

Admiralty, 16th December, 1919.

The notice which appeared in the London Gazette of the grant of a Commission as Surgn, Lieut, to Mr. Joseph D. Clarke is hereby cancelled.

Placed on the Retired List at own request-Payr. Capt. Frederick W. I. Airey. 17th Nov. 1919.

Surgn. Cdr. Percy H. Bannister. 14th Dec. 1919.

Commission signed by the Lord Lieutenant of the County of Northumberland.

Colonel William Orde, of Nunnykirk, Mor-peth, Northumberland, to be a Deputy Lieutenant for the County of Northumberland.

Dated the 13th day of December, 1919. **o**65

Air Ministry, 19th December, 1919.

ROYAL AIR FORCE.

The following officers have been granted commissions in the ranks short service stated, with effect from 19th December, 1919, They will retain their seniority in the sub-stantive rank last held by them prior to the grant of the short service commission.

In the case of officers now gazetted Flying Officer, from Pilot Officer or Observer Officer, seniority will date from the date of Gazette :

Flight Lieutenant.

Frederick James Watts (A.).

Flying Officers. James Lawrence Bernard (A.). Edward Joseph Augustine Burke (A.). Reginald James Copley (T.). John Sharpe Griffith, D.F.C. (A.). Hugh Lewis Pingo Lester (A.). Hubert Everitt Ranson (A.) Charles Bernard Waters (A.).

Observer Officers. David Craik. Josiah Edward Truss.

Flying Officers (from Pilot Officers). Ronald Bertram Dormor (T.). Herbert James Gye (A.) Stanley James Mason (A.). Claude McClean Vincent (A.). Sidney Norman Webster (A.). Lawrence Whitfield (A.).

Observer Officers (from Pilot Officers). Edwin Cuthbert. Silvio Paul Bernini de Moyse-Bucknall. Maurice St. John Ross. John Spencer Fletcher Watson.

appointing the following officers to short service commissions, are cancelled :-12th Sept. 1919. Flying Officer James Mellanby Russell

(Ad.).

The notifications appearing in the London Gazettes of the dates indicated below,

Flying Officer Robert Lancelot Gerrard Wright (A.).

24th' Oct. 1919.

Flying Officer Sidney Samuel Flook, D.F.C. (A.)

Flying Officer George Alfred Morgan, A.F.C. (A.).

Flying Officer Ian Campbell Ross Mackenzie (A.)

Flying Ófficer Francis John Williamson Mellersh, A.F.C. (A.).

Flying Officer George Alfred Morgan, A.F.C. (A.).

12th Dec. 1919.

Flight Lieut. Frederick James Powell, M.C. (A.).

Flying Officer James Lorne Montgomery (A.).

Air Ministry,

19th December, 1919.

ROYAL AIR FORCE.

The classification of Maj. W. J. Shields is "(T.)" and not "(Ad.)" as stated in the Gazette of 1st Aug. 1919.

The notification in the Gazette of 1st Aug. 1919 appointing the following officers to Permanent Commissions is cancelled :--

Maj. R. H. Howell (S.O.). Capt. W. B. Lawson (A. & S.). Lt. C. M. Eastley (A.).

The notification in the Gazette of 22nd Aug. 1919 appointing Capt. A. S. C. Mac-Laren, M.C., A.F.C. (A.), to a Permanent Commission is cancelled.

The notification in the Gazette of 28th Oct. 1919 appointing Flying Officer Ian Howard Potter McEwen (A:) to a Permanent Commission is cancelled.

The undermentioned temporary appointment is made :-

Staff Officer, 3rd Class.

(Q.)

Flight Lt. T. G. Gordon, M.B.E. 12th Dec. 1919.

FLYING BRANCH.

2nd Lt. Leonard Harrison to be Lt. 27th May 1919.

The undermentioned Cadets are granted temp. commissions as 2nd Lts. (O.):-

26th Aug. 1918. 175646 Eric Neville Howes. 176063 Horace Andrew Thompson

9th Sept. 1918. 144746 John Claude Cook. 9438 Thomas Sheriff Duncanson.