Ernest E. West. 19th Oct. 1916. Sydney D. Newton. 22nd Oct. 1916. Vivian M. Diamond. 22nd Oct. 1916. Charles G. Clark. 22nd Oct. 1916. Frank S. Mycroft. 23rd Oct. 1916. Thomas E. Daniel. 17th Nov. 1916. Thomas E. R. Harris. 23rd Nov. 1916. Reginald Houghton. 1st Dec. 1916.

Admiralty, 15th April, 1920.

R.N.R.

H.M. the KING has been graciously pleased to confer the Royal Naval Reserve Officers' Decoration on the following Officers:

Lieut.-Cdr. (actg. Cdr.) William H. Dickson.

Lieut.-Cdr. Frederick Manley.

Lieut.-Cdr. Charles C. Garrett.

Lieut.-Cdr. Herbert James.

Commander Victor E. Speranza, O.B.E. R.D., placed on retired list with rank of Captain (retd.). 17th Feb. 1920.

Confirmed in rank as Lieut., R.N.R.-

Act. Lieut. York McL. Cleeves. 9th Dec. 1919.

Act. Lieut. Kenneth McKay. 13th Dec. 1918.

Admiralty, 16th April, 1920.

Sir Heathcoat Vice-Admiral s. Grant, K.C.M.G., C.B., has been placed on the Retired List, to date 26th Mar. 1920.

Consequent thereon the following promotions take effect from that date:

Rear-Admiral Thomas Jackson, C.B., M.V.O., to be Vice-Admiral.

Captain George H. Baird, C.B., A.d.C., to be Rear-Admiral.

Promoted to Paymaster Lieutenant, with seniority of 15th Apr. 1920:-

Paymaster Sub-Lieuts.-Geoffrey M. Harvey. Arthur R. Thatcher.

Laurence A. Boutwood.

Laurence G. Gornall. Alwyn D. Wright.

Instructor in Cookery to be Commissioned Instructor in Cookery

William T. Henderson. 1st Jan. 1920.

Retired with the rank of Engr. Lieut. (retd.)-

Commissioned Engineer William J. Hayden. 16th Apr. 1920.

Lieut.-Cdr. (retd.) to be Cdr. (retd.), in recognition of services rendered during the War-

Ralph B. Bodilly. 11th Nov. 1918.

Promoted to Commissioned Writer, with seniorities of 1st Apr. 1920

Warrant Writer Samuel E. Locke. Warrant Writer Benjamin G. Loft. Warrant Writer William B. Ruse. Warrant Writer Lewis W. Mole.

Promoted to Lieut. Cdr. (retd.) Lieut. William G. Richa Richards, R.N. (retd.). 18th Feb. 1920.

R.N.R.

Placed on the Retired List of Officers, R.N.R.-

Paymaster Lieut. Reginald W. Strugnell. 25th Mar. 1920.

Commission signed by the Lord Lieutenant of the City and County of the City of Edinburgh.

Professor Thomas Hudson Beare, B.A., B.Sc., of Number 10, Regent Terrace, Edinburgh, to be a Deputy Lieutenant of the City and County of the City of Edinburgh, and Liberties thereof, dated 16th April, 1920.

NOTICE TO AIRMEN (No. 39).

AERIAL LIGHTHOUSE AT CROYDON.

It is hereby notified that:

A new Lighthouse has been installed at Croydon (Waddon) Aerodrome. This Light-house will give one flash every five seconds, thus:-Flash, one second; eclipse, four seconds; and will be in operation every night from sunset to sunrise, commencing at sunset on April 15th.

The smaller light (referred to in Notice to Airmen No. 30, issued on March 23rd) which is at present in operation will be withdrawn on April 15th.

> W. A. Robinson, Secretary of the Air Council.

Air Ministry, London,

14th April, 1920.

Air Ministry. 20th A pril, 1920.

ROYAL AIR FORCE.

PERMANENT COMMISSIONS.

Squadron Leader Swithin Gane Hodges, M.C., A.F.C. (A.), resigns his permanent commission, with effect from 16th Mar. 1920.

SHORT SERVICE COMMISSIONS.

The following officers have been granted short service commissions in the ranks stated. Except where otherwise stated, the commissions will have effect from 20th April, 1920, and the officers will retain their seniority in the substantive rank last held by them prior to the grant of the short-service commission.

In the case of officers now gazetted Flying Officer or Observer Officer, from Pilot Officer, seniority will date from the date of Gazette:-

Flight Lieutenants.

Duncan McLaren (Med.), with effect from 1st April 1920.

Sturley Philip Simpson (A.), with effect from 22nd April 1920.

Percy John Wiseman (Ad.), with effect from 1st April 1920.

Flying Officers.

Brian Herbert Cook (A.). Herbert John Tuson Russell (A.).

Bernard Penfold Springett (A.), with effect from 16th Apr. 1920.

Reginald Victor Weeks (T.). Theodore James West, M.C. (A.), with effect from 19th Apr. 1920.

Observer Officers.

Lawrence William Aiken, with effect from 31st March 1920.

Frederic Arthur Whippey, D.F.C.