Flying Officer, Grade (A.). 1st Oct 1919. (Since demobilised.)

The undermentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers, Grade (B.):— 1st Oct. 1919.

Herbert John Brown.

George Forbes. (Since demobilised.)

2nd Lt. Frederick George Buck to be Lt. without pay and allowances of that rank.

6th June 1919. (Since demobilised.)
Pilot Officer Robert Charles Higgins to be Flying Officer without pay and allowances of

that rank. 1st Oct. 1919.

Lt. Bertram John Harper is placed on the retired list on account of ill-health contracted on active service. 28th July 1920.

The undermentioned are transferred to unempld, list:

1st Aug. 1919.

2nd Lt. William George Fairley. (Substituted for notification in the Gazette of 30th Jan. 1920.)

Capt. Alfred Kendal Toulmin-Smith. (Substituted for notification in the Gazette of 3rd Feb. 1920.)

Lt. William Witcomb Stainer. tuted for notification in the Gazette of 3rd Feb. 1920.)

Lt. Frederick Woombell. 15th Oct. 1919. (Substituted for notification in the Gazette of 21st Nov. 1919.)

Lt. Robert Andrew Bell. 29th Oct. 1919. (Substituted for notification in the Gazette of 25th Nov. 1919.)

Lt. Victor Herbert Lurie. 3rd Nov. 1919. (Substituted for notification in the Gazette of 21st Nov. 1919.)

Lt. Frederick George Buck. 20th Feb. 20. (Substituted for notification in the Gazette of 19th Mar. 1920.)

Lt. Edward John Williams. 20th May 1920. (Substituted for notification in the

Gazette of 8th June 1920.)

Lt. Walter Claud Ibbott (2nd Lt., Gen. List) relinquishes his temp. R.A.F. commn. on retirement from the Army, and is permitted to retain the rank of Lt. 28th July 1920.

2nd Lt. John Percival Clark resigns his commn. 23rd Aug. 1919. (Substituted for notification in the Gazette of 8th Aug. 1919.)

MEMORANDA.

Wing Commander James William Ogilvy Dalgleish, O.B.E., is restored to the active list. 26th July 1920.

The undermentioned Cadets are granted Hon. Commns. as 2nd Lts., with effect from the date of their demobilisation:-

625732 Henry Malcolm Bott.

13751 Frank Collinson.

181558 Frank William Colls.

175438 Henry Roberts Gill. 319057 David Jones.

253213 Victor Harold Ledgerton Searle.

179671 Robert Stewart.

176948 Horace Warne.

205854 Eric Vernon Whitburn.

177681 John Charles Whittington.

176987 Maurice Vavasour Ward.

037793 Cyril George White.

176294 George Whittaker. (Substituted for notification in the Gazette of 25th July 1919, wherein this Cadet was described as 76294 George Whitaker.)

The surname of 182239 Cadet D. J. Vorster is as now described, and not Vorstet as stated in the Gazette of 10th June 1919.

The surname of Cadet 49816 Douglas Davidson Thomson is as now described, and not Thompson as stated in the Gazette of 8th July 1919.

The initials of Cadet 177991 G. T. Tarling are as now described, and not G. H. as stated in the Gazette of 19th Aug. 1919.

The surname of Cadet 177643 Thomson is as now described, and not Thenson as stated in the Gazette of 19th Aug. 1919.

The surname of 177872 W. J. Thomson is as now described, and not Thompson as stated in the Gazette of 26th Aug. 1919.

The Christian names of Cadet 176402 Frank Hildred Wrigley are as now described, and not G. H. as stated in the Gazette of 19th Aug. 1919.

The surname of Cadet 178967 E. A. Yarnold is as now described, and not Yarneld as stated in the Gazette of 29th Aug. 1919.

Hon. 2nd Lt. R. E. Mee relinquishes his Honorary Commission, with effect from 22nd July 1920.

The notification in the Gazette of 8th Aug. 1919 concerning 177681 Cadet G. Whittington is cancelled.

The notification in the Gazette of 5th Sept. 1919 concerning 176949 Cadet H. Warre is cancelled.

The notification in the Gazette of 25th July 1919 concerning 20/5854 Cadet E. J. Whitbourne is cancelled.

The notification in the Gazette of 18th Nov. 1919 concerning P. F. O. Walter Murray Cowper is cancelled.

India Office,

16th July, 1920.

The KING has been pleased to appoint the following gentlemen to be members of the Executive Council of the Governor-General of India, with effect from the 16th July, the date on which section 28 of the Government of India Act, 1919 (9 & 10 George V, cap. 101) was brought into operation:

Sir Charles Carmichael Monro, G.C.B.,

G.C.S.I., G.C.M.G.
Sir George Rivers Lowndes, K.C.S.I., K.C.
Sir George Stapylton Barnes, K.C.I K.C.B., K.C.S.I.

Sir William Henry Hoare Vincent, K.C.S.I. Khan Bahadur Mian Muhammad Shafi, C.I.E. William Malcolm Hailey, Esq., C.S.I., C.I.E.  $\mathbf{T}$ homas Henry Holland, K.C.S.I., K.C.I.E.

Rao Bahadur Bayya Narasimheswara Sarma.

India Office,

27th July, 1920.

The KING has approved the promotion of the following officers of the Ind. Army, Ind. Army Depts., Ind. Army Res. of Officers and Ind. Defence Force:—

## INDIAN ARMY.

Captains to be Majors. 21st Dec. 1919.

H. W. Young, D.S:O., F. B. Scott.

18th Jan. 1920.

H. C. Finnis, O.B.E., H. E. W. Bell-Kings-. ley, D.S.O.