Air Ministry, 14th September, 1920.

ROYAL AIR FORCE.

PERMANENT COMMISSIONS.

The name of Squadron Leader Horace Gordon-Dean, A.F.C. (A.), is as now described, and not H. G. Dean as stated in the Gazette of 1st Aug. 1919.

The classification of Flight Lieutenant E. L. P. Morgan (T.) is as now described, not (Ad.) as stated in the Gazette of 1st Aug. 1920.

SHORT SERVICE COMMISSIONS.

The following officers are granted short service commissions in the ranks stated, with effect from the dates indicated, retaining their seniority in the substantive rank last held by them prior to the grant of this commission, except where otherwise stated:—

Flight Lieutenant (from Squadron Leader).

Horace Scott Shield, M.C. 7th Sept. 1920.

Flight Lieutenant.

Clifford Hanson-Abbott. 13th Sept. 1920

Archibald Stuart Charles Maclaren, O.B.E., M.C., A.F.C. 9th Sept. 1920.

Duncan McLaren (Med.). 31st Mar. 1920: (Substituted for notification in the Gazette of 20th Apr. 1920.)

George Henry Hope Maxwell (Med.). 24th Aug. 1920.

Flying Officers.

Frederick Edward Clark Benstead. 10th Sept. 1920.

Charlton Hallawell. 28th Aug. 1920.

Richard Norman Hesketh. 26th Aug: 1920.

George Rhensburg Hicks, D.F.C. 1st Sept. 1920.

Amos Francis James. 1st Sept. 1920.

Robert Hugh McCoubrey Sheppard. 1st Sept. 1920.

Sextus Edward Sutcliffe. 2nd Sept. 1920. Arthur Charles Smith. 14th Sept. 1920. Sidney Herbert Ware. 30th Aug. 1920.

Horace William Westaway. 27th Aug. 1920.

Capel Stanley Whellock. 3rd Sept. 1920.

Flying Officers (from Pilot Officers), with seniority of the dates indicated:—

Cyril Okeover Anson. 7th Sept. 1920.

Charles Edward Durant. 13th Sept. 1920.

Percy William Lingwood. 1st Sept. 1920. John Spooner, M.M. 27th Aug. 1920.

Sidney Hugh Hamilton Swanton. 11th Sept. 1920.

Note.—Flight Lieutenant Shield will be placed at the head of the list of Flight Lieutenants, and will retain seniority relative to officers who have been similarly gazetted to No. 32050

short service commissions in a rank lower than their previous substantive rank in accordance with his previous position on the gradation list.

The notification in the Gazette of the 5th Dec. 1919, appointing Flying Officer Victor William Helps (A. & S.) to a short service commission, is cancelled.

SECONDING.

The following officers of the Royal Navy are granted temp. commns, in the ranks stated on seconding to the R.A.F. for three years:—

6th Sept. 1920.

Flying Officers (Hon. Flight Licutenants).
Geoffrey Cayley Lambert Dalley (Lt., R.N.).

George Stairs Napier Johnston (Lt., R.N.).

William Alexander Elliot (Lt., R.N.).

Eric Julius Nightingale (Paymr.-Lt., R.N.).

Charles Maurice Elton Gifford (Lt. (act.), R.N.).

Flying Officer.

Alfred Willis Scott (Sub-Lt., R.N.). ,

The following Army officers are granted temp. commns. as Flying Officers on reseconding to the R.A.F. for four years, retaining their original seniority in that rank:—

6th Sept. 1920.

Richard Henry Wathes (Lt., Notts. & Derby. R.).

Andrew Augustus Ward (Lt., R.F.A.).

John Robert Irving Scambler, A.F.C. (Lt., R.F.A.).

Edward Morton Drummond (Lt., Royal Highlanders).

Air Ministry, 14th September, 1920.

ROYAL AIR FORCE.

FLYING BRANCH.

Lt. George Frederick Fry to be Lt. (A), from (O). 15th Feb. 1919. (Substituted for notification in the Gazette of 1st Aug. 1919.)

The undermentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers:—

Samuel Thomas Reginald Lloyd. 26th Oct. 1918. (Substituted for notification in the Gazette of 23rd Mar. 1919.)

Alastair Morrison. 13th Feb. 1920.

Pilot Officer Alexander Fryer Adams to be actg. Flying Officer whilst empld. as Flying Officer from 1st Aug. 1919 to 30th Sept. 1919.

P.F.O. Henry John Dyer (late R.N.A.S.) is granted a temp. commn. as 2nd Lt. (A). 12th Oct. 1918.