· Capt. Hugh Boffey placed on the Retired List at own request and appointed to the Reserve of Officers, R.M., in the rank last held by him whilst on the Active List. 1st Jan. 1921.

R.M.L.I.

The undermentioned relinquish the temporary rank of Brigadier-General consequent on the abolition of that rank:

Col. Comdt. Hamilton M. C. W. Graham,

C.M.G.

Col. Comdt. Edward J. Stroud, C.M.G. Col. 2nd Comdt. Alexander R. H. Hutchison, C.B., C.M.G., D.S.O., A.D.C. 1st Jan. 1921.

Admiralty, 30th December, 1920.

R.M.A.

Maj. Alan G. B. Bourne, M.V.O., D.S.O., to be Brig. Maj., vice Kilvert. 1st Jan. 1921.

R.M.L.I.

Capt. Harry S. D. Went is placed on the Retired List at own request, and appointed to the Reserve of Officers, R.M., in the rank last held by him whilst on the Active List. 31st Dec. 1920.

Capt. James Gordon Johnstone is appointed Adjt. and will be borne supernumerary to the establishment whilst holding the appointment, vice Gowney. 1st Jan. 1921.

Admiralty, 31st December, 1920. Divnl. Ch. Offr. Henry Starkey granted rank of Lieut. on retirement. 31st Dec. 1920.

Admiralty, 1st January, 1921.

The following Officers have been placed on the Retired List: -

Payr. Capt. George C. A. Boyer, C.B.E. Payr. Capt. Ernest E. Silk, C.B.E.

Payr. Capt. Arthur W. Morrell.

Payr. Capt. Herbert N. Dymott. Payr. Capt. Walter H. J. Pym.

1st Jan. 1921.

Admiralty, 3rd January, 1921.

Lieut. (ret.) John H. Carrow, D.S.C., to be Lieut.-Cdr. (ret.). 30th June 1920.

Pay. Lieut.-Cdr. Herbert M. Boxer to be Pay. Cdr. 6th Jan. 1921.

Admiralty, 4th January, 1921.

Lieut. (ret.) George V. Sivewright to be Lieut.-Cdr. (ret.). 1st Jan. 1921. Ch. Offr. Matthew J. W. Rose granted rank of

Lieut. on retirement. 1st Jan. 1921.

Admiralty, 5th January, 1921.

Cd. Bos'n John H. Couzins granted rank of Lieut. on retirement. 5th Jan. 1921.

R.N.R.

Acting Lieut. Alexander M. Caird to be Lieut. 25th Oct. 1920.

> Air Ministry, . . 7th January, 1921.

ROYAL AIR FORCE.

PERMANENT COMMISSIONS.

Flying Officer George Bowen is granted a permanent commission, retaining his present substantive rank and seniority. 1st Aug. 1919.

The undermentioned are granted permanent commissions in the ranks stated, with effect from the dates indicated, retaining their present seniorities in those ranks: -Flight Lieutenants.

Walter Horace Ernest Kemp, A.F.C. 12th Sept. 1919.

Arthur Hicks PECK, D.S.O., M.C. 24th Oct. 1919.

Flying Officers.

Hilton Oscar Brown, M.M. 12th Sept. 1919.

George Dermot Daly. 24th Oct. 1919. Thomas Audley Langford-Sainsbury, A.F.C. 12th Sept. 1919.

Horace Norman Young, D.F.C. Oct. 1919.

Note.—The notifications in the Gazettes of the above dates, appointing these officers to short service commissions, are cancelled.

Flight Lt. William Wavell WAKEFIELD is granted a permanent commission as Flying Officer, with seniority of the 1st Apr., 1918, and precedence next below Flying Officer Bernard Edward Harrison, A.F.C. Oct. 1919.

Flying Officer Gerald Esmond CREIGHTON resigns his permanent commission, and is permitted to retain the rank of Lt. 6th Jan. 1921.

STORES BRANCH.

Squadron Leader George Laing, O.B.E., and Flight Lt. Charles Francis RASMUSEN, O.B.E., are transferred to the Stores Branch with effect from the 31st Dec. 1920, and promoted to Wing Commander and Squadron Leader respectively. 1921.

The undermentioned are granted permanent commissions in the ranks stated, with effect from the dates indicated, retaining their seniority in the substantive rank last held prior to the grant of this commission, except where otherwise stated:-

Flying Officers.

Frederick Alfred OSBORN, M.M. 17thJune 1920.

20th July 1920.

John Kinloch McDonald (previously known as John McDonald)

Edward Meynell, D.C.M.

Herbert James PAYNE.

Frederick WHILTON, D.C.M.

Flying Officer (from Pilot Officer).

Frederick Carton GRIFFIN. 20th July 1920 (and with seniority of that date).

The undermentioned are granted permanent commissions in the ranks stated, with effect from the dates indicated, retaining their present seniorities in those ranks (except where otherwise stated), and are transferred to the Stores Branch with effect from the 17th June 1920:-

Flying Officers.

16th Sept. 1919. Thomas Henry Evans. (Since promoted.) Charles Herbert Masters.