Air Ministry, 28th January, 1921.

## ROYAL AIR FORCE.

PERMANENT COMMISSIONS.

The following Flight Cadets having successfully passed out from the Royal Air Force (Cadet) College, Cranwell, are granted permanent commissions as Pilot Officers, with effect from the 21st Dec. 1920:—

Colin Winterbotham Weedon.
Narborough Hughes D'Aeth.
John Edmund Layard Drabble.
Cecil George Hancock.
Henry Wills Foote.
Jasper Godfrey Peck.
William Corbet Yale.
Geoffrey Roger Cole Spencer.
Dennis Caldwell Prance.
Henry Longfield Beatty.
Cuthbert John Collingwood.
Herbert Geoffrey Brookman.
Bertram William Trelawney Hare.
Edward Hugh Markham David.

Flight Lt. Reginald Baynes Mansell, O.B.E., is restored to the active list. 24th Jan. 1921.

Observer Officer John Eversleigh Kenderck, D.F.C., resigns his permanent commission, and is permitted to retain the rank of Lt. 8th Jan. 1921.

SHORT SERVICE COMMISSIONS.

The undermentioned are granted short service commissions with effect from the dates indicated, in the ranks stated, retaining their present seniority in the substantive rank last held prior to the grant of this commission, except where otherwise stated:—

Flight Lieutenant.

Cyril Nelson Lowe, M.C., D.F.C. 12th Jan. 1921 (for three years on the active list).

Flying Officer (from Flight Lieutenant).
Edward Selwyn Moulton-Barrett. 17th
Jan. 1921.

Flying Officers.

Raymond Eric Bright. 10th Jan. 1921.
John Henry Talbot Carr. 22nd Nov.
1920 (for three years on the active list).

William Neville Cumming. 21st Jan. 1921.

Noel Hamilton Jay. 18th Jan. 1921. Malcolm Kenneth McGregor. 18th Jan. 1921.

Sidney Thomas TIPPER. 17th Jan. 1921. Eric John Webster, D.F.C. 11th Jan.

Stanley Harry Wallage, M.C. 21st Jan. 1921.

Flying Officers (from Pilot Officers), with seniority of the dates indicated:—

Philip Frank Axford Curris. 10th Jan. 1921 (for three years on the active list).

Robert Vivian Douglas White. 18th Jan. 1921.

Pilot Officers on probation, with effect from, and with seniority of 15th Jan. 1921:—

nd with seniority of 15th Jan. 1921:—
John Simon Leslie Adams.
Geoffrey John Tress Bahin
George Stanley Brown.
Maurice Hibbert Ely.
Denis Harold Geeson.
George Hopkins.
John de la Poer Beresford Preston.

Robert Linton Ragg. Gilbert Harcourt Smith. Burns Alan Campbell South.

NOTE.—Flying Officer MOULTON-BARRETT will be placed at the head of the list of Flying and Observer Officers, and will retain seniority relative to officers who have been similarly gazetted to short service commissions in a rank lower than their previous substantive rank, in accordance with his previous position on the gradation list.

Thename of Flying Officer George VEEVERS-CARTER is as now described and not as stated in the Gazette of the 26th Oct. 1920.

STORES BRANCH.

Flying Officer Francis John Cooke is granted a short service commission, retaining his present substantive rank and seriority. 17th June 1920 (for three years on the active list).

MEDICAL BRANCH.

The notifications in the Gazette of 13th July 1920 appointing the undermentioned Flight Lts. to short service commissions are cancelled:—

John Perceval Hosford, M.B. Jerome John O'Mullane, M.B. (Substituted for notification in the Gazette of 21st Jan. 1921.)

FLYING BRANCH.

2nd Lt. (Hon. Lt.) Percy Granville Hutton relinquishes his temporary commission on appointment to T.F. Reserve, and is granted the rank of Lt.

2nd Lt. (Hon. Lt.) Robert Lancelot Gerrard Wright relinquishes his temporary commission on appointment to an Army commission.

The undermentioned are transferred to the unemployed list:—

Lt. Duncan Colin MacDonald. 1st Apr. 1919. (Substituted for the notification in the Gazette of 25th Apr. 1919.)

2nd Lt. George Reeves Young. 14th Apr. 1919

Lt. Francis Joseph Staff Clayden. 4th Aug. 1919. (Substituted for the notification in the Gazette of 24th Oct. 1919.)

Lt. Richard Henry Tooley. 24th Sept. 1919.

2nd Lt. John Burton. 3rd Dec. 1919. (Substituted for the notification in the Gazette of 2nd Mar. 1920.)

ADMINISTRATIVE BRANCH.

The undermentioned relinquish their temporary commissions on appointment to T.F., and are permitted to retain their ranks:—

Lt. Francis Morton-Smith.

Lt. Henry George Leslie Fletcher.

Lt. Arthur James Litton, D.S.M., relinquishes his temporary commission on ceasing to be employed, and is permitted to retain his rank. 4th Nov. 1920. (Substituted for the notification in the Gazette of 12th Nov. 1920.)

The undermentioned are transferred to the unemployed list:—

Capt. Anthony Scarisbrick. 25th Sept. 1919.

Lt. (actg. Capt.) Fendon Theodore Longfellow Avis. 10th Jan. 1921.