John Vaughan Roberts.

Jack Wolryche Stansfeld (previously served as Cadet).

George William SELBY LOWNDES. Apr. 1921.

Flight Lt. Chaplin Court TREATT resigns his commission, and is granted the rank of Maj. 26th Mar. 1921.

Flying Officer Herbert James Gye resigns his commission, and is permitted to retain the rank of Lt. 6th Apr. 1921.

FLYING BRANCH.

Flight Lt. Beauchamp St. John Boultbee, M.C. (Lt., Northants Regt.) relinquishes his temporary commission on return to Army duty. 10th Mar. 1921.

Maj. Geoffrey Henry Cox, A.F.C., relinquishes his temporary commission on account of ill-health contracted on active service, and is permitted to retain his rank. 24th Mar. 1921.

2nd Lt. Stanley Gilbert Dyson (late Gen. List, R.F.C., on prob.) is confirmed in rank as 2nd Lt. (O) 30th May 1918. (Since

The notification in the Gazette of 7th June 1918 relating to A. I. Williams (Lt., Mon. Regt., T.F.), is cancelled.

The notification in the Gazette of 6th Sept. 1918 relating to Flight Cadet 137567 Herbert Harry Hancock, is cancelled.

TECHNICAL BRANCH.

Lt. Ralph Sheppard Broderick is placed on the retired list. 20th Feb. 1921.

MEDICAL BRANCH.

Archibald Francis Wright, M.B., granted a temporary commission as Flight Lt. with effect from, and with seniority of, 22nd Mar. 1921.

The undermentioned relinquish their temporary commissions on return to Naval duty. 1st Apr. 1921:-

Wing Commander George Deane Bate-

man, O.B.E. (Surgeon Comdr., R.N.).
Squadron Leader Arthur Richard Sharrod, M.B., B.S. (Surgeon Lt.-Cdr., R.N.).

MEMORANDA.

The notifications in the Gazette of 10th June 1919, relating to the undermentioned Cadets, are cancelled:

182265 A. E. Marshall. 114553 C. R. Morrison.

183128 W. C. Mitchell.

182293 A. Martin.

182250 E. D. Moses. 182266 B. S. Mannion.

182115 E. G. Murray.

183887 J. L. Munro. 182602 A. F. McArthur. 182601 A. E. W. McDonald. 179492 H. W. McFarlane.

182214 F. A. McKay. 11054 R. M. McLaren. 184534 K. M. McLennan.

184532 J. A. McLean. 184532 J. V. McNiven. 185273 E. P. Oertal. 430190 W. W. Pettigrew. 183863 Van Rensberg.

178213 M. S. Stevn. 171641 H. F. White.

India Office, S.W.,

4th April, 1921.

The KING has been pleased to appoint Sir William Sinclair Marris, K.C.S.I., K.C.I.E., to be Governor of Assam, India, vice Sir Beatson-Bell, Dodd K.C.S.I., Nicholas K.C.I.E.

India Office,

8th April, 1921.

The KING has approved the promotion of the following officers of the Ind. Army, Ind. Med. Dept., Ind. Army Depts., and Ind. Army Res. of Officers:-

INDIAN ARMY.

Captains to be Majors.

F. R. M. Campbell. 21st June 1920.

5th Aug. 1920.

H. F. E. Childers, E. A. W. Lake. F. L. Roberts. 16th Aug. 1920.

H. A. Cole. 29th Nov. 1920.

Lieutenants to be Captains.

W. B. Bletsoe. 17th Sept. 1919.

K. T. Roe. 15th May 1920.

E. J. Ryan. 13th July 1920. W. R. Underwood. 7th Sept. 1920. L. Mitchell. 21st Oct. 1920.

14th Nov. 1920.

E. Castells, E. H. Gastrell, V. A. Monies.

G. H. McCutcheon. 18th Nov. 1920.

2nd Jan. 1921.

J. J. O. Wickham, R. A. Pepperall, M.C.

Second Lieutenants to be Lieutenants. 15th Apr. 1920.

A. G. Stewart, C. F. M. Godtschalk.

Temp. Sec. Lieutenants to be temp. Lieutenants.

1st Dec. 1920.

Sher Muhammad Khan, Muhammad Abdulla Khan.

Note.—In Lon. Gaz. notifn. dated 1st Oct. 1918, making certain promotions in the Ind. Army, for "28th June 1916" against the name of Lieut. (now Capt.) L. Monier-Williams, read "28th Mar. 1916"; in the similar notifn. dated 11th Mar. 1919, for "27th Aug. 1916" against the name of Lieut. (now Capt.) M. V. Smelt, read "28th July (now Capt.) M. V. Smet, read "28th July 1916"; in the similar notifn dated 2nd Dec. 1919, for "28th June 1919" against the name of Capt. L. Monier-Williams, read "28th Mar. 1919," and for "27th Aug. 1919" against the name of Capt. M. V. Smelt, read "28th July 1919"; and in the similar notifn dated 1st Feb. 1921, for "10th Nov. 1920 " against the name of Capt. C. W. Cousins, read "6th Nov. 1920."

INDIAN MEDICAL DEPARTMENT.

Senior Asst. Surgns. with rank of Lieut. to be Senior Asst. Surgns. with rank of Capt.

7th Aug. 1920.

W. J. Gillson, F. G. H. Deeks, W. Bamford