Capt. W. H. L. J. Welman, 3rd Gurkha Rifles, attd., to be actg. Maj. while sec. in comd. of a Bn. 21st Mar. 1921.

Railway Construction Coy.

Lieut. C. Robinson, I.A.R.O., to be actg. Capt. while comdg. a Rly. Construction Coy. From 1st Nov. 1918 to 6th July 1919.

Indian Medical Service.

Maj. (now Lieut.-Col.) E. C. G. Maddock, M.D., F.R.C.S.E., to be actg. Lieut.-Col. while comdg. No. 160 Indian Field Ambulance in Egypt. From 18th June 1918 to 27th Jan. 1919.

Note.—In Lon. Gaz. notifn. dated 8th Oct. 1920, making actg. promotions in the I.M.S., for "Maj. H. W. Illius, F.R.C.S.E.," read "Maj. J. W. Illius, F.R.C.S.E."

Note.—In Lon. Gaz. notifn. dated 14th Jan. 1919, admitting certain Sec. Lieuts to the Ind. Army from the Unattached List, for "John Furley Taylor Tervitt" read "John Furley Taylor Trevitt"; in the notifn. dated 28th Feb. 1919, admitting certain officers to the Ind. Army on probation, under "To be Lieutenants" and against the name of Capt. Douglas Stuart, for "25th June 1917" read "20th Apr. 1917"; and in notifn. dated 17th Feb. 1920, admitting certain officers to the I.A. from the I.A.R.O., for "Walter Truro Morris" read "Walter Truro Norris."

The KING has approved the grant of a temporary commission in the Inf. Branch of the Ind. Army Res. of Officers to the undermentioned gentleman, with effect from the date specified:—

To be Sec. Lieut.

Jeffrey William Campbell Lincoln-Gordon. 14th Aug. 1920.

The KING has approved the relinquishment of their probationary appointments to the Ind. Army Res. of Officers by the undermentioned officers, with effect from the dates specified:—

William Cruise, King's Own. 15th Apr. 1919. Hubert Walton Hadfield, Duke of Lancaster's Own (Dragoons) (T.F.). 3rd May 1919.

John Patrick Stuart, North'd Fus. 17th June 1920.

John Francis McEvoy, Gen. List. 16th Dec. 1919.

Sidney Bishop Brown, S. African Mounted Rifles. 5th Feb. 1920.

Herbert Walter Warner, Gen. List. 8th May 1920.

The KING has approved the relinquishment of their commissions by the undermentioned, and the grant of rank as shown below:—

INDIAN ARMY.

Lieut. A. R. Jennings (T.C.). 17th Dec.

Sec. Lieut. A. C. Creasey (T.C.), and is permitted to retain his rank. 8th May 1921.

INDIAN MEDICAL SERVICE.

Capt. (T.C.) Sivasubramanyapilly Kanthimathi Nathan. 10th Apr. 1921.

And are permitted to retain the rank of Capt. on relinquishing their temp. commissions:—

Jai Gopal Mukharji. 30th Nov. 1919.

Harabilas Chatterjee. 25th Oct. 1920.
Ramrao Narayen Ajinkya. 12th Feb. 1921.
Gour Lal Sen. 22nd Feb. 1921.
Kedar Nath Goyal. 28th Feb. 1921.
Nilkanth Vinayak Pandit. 1st Mar. 1921.
Ram Singh Sharma. 3rd Mar. 1921.
Rajeswar Bhattacharyya. 16th Mar. 1921.
Jermandas Khataimal Kripalani. 19th Mar. 1921.
Kala Sahai Nigam. 30th Mar. 1921.

And are permitted to retain hon. rank as shown below on relinquishing their hon. temp. commissions:—

1st Feb. 1921.

As Majors-

Sorab Kaikhashree Engineer. Cajetan Fernandez. Behram Pestonjee Sabawala. Dhanjibhoy Pestonji Sethna.

As Captains-

Kali Charan Dube. 27th Oct. 1920. Raj Kishore Kacker. 30th Nov. 1920.

1st Feb. 1921.

Kaikhusru Sorabji Patel. Joseph Antnony Alban D'Souza. Framroze Naoroji Kapadia. Burjor Pirozsha Banaji. Barjor Phirozshah Karani.

IND. ARMY RES. OF OFFICERS. Captains—

E. O. King and is permitted to retain the rank of Capt. 1st May 1921.

F. A. Nesbitt, and is granted the rank of Major. 15th May 1921.

R. A. C. Hill. 23rd May 1921.

E. F. G. Chapman. 19th June 1921.

W. Pilkington. 4th July 1921.

A. W. Woodhead. 7th July 1921. Lieut. H. A. Rodgers. 4th July 1921.

Sec. Lieut. H. S. Chapman. 14th June 1921.

INDIAN DEFENCE FORCE.

Lt. Cols. (Hon. Cols.), and are permitted to retain their rank:—

D. A. Tyrie, V.D., A.D.C., 1st (Cossipore) Bde., Mobile Arty. 30th Sept. 1920.

J. S. McNeill, V.D., 1-13th Bn., G.I.P. Ry. Regt. 30th Sept. 1920.

Lt.-Col. J. M. Lacey, V.D., 1st Madras Guards, and is permitted to retain his rank. 30th Sept. 1920.

Note.—Lon. Gaz. notifn., dated 8th Apr. 1921, regarding the relinquishment of his commission by Lt.-Col. D. A. Tyrie, V.D., A.D.C., is cancelled.

The KING has approved the transfer of the undermentioned officer of the Indian Army to the temp. non-effective list:—

Capt. A. V. W. Sheperd. 6th July 1921.

The KING has approved the retirement of the following officers:—

INDIAN ARMY.

Maj. C. D. Gregson. 26th June 1919.

INDIAN MEDICAL SERVICE.

Maj. W. S. McGillivray, M.D. 22nd. May.
1921.