Charles Edmund Maitland, D.F.C. (Lt., R.G.A.).

James Alexander Mansfield, M.C. (Lt., Royal Irish Fus.).

William Harold Markham (Lt., Manchester Regt.).

Arthur Francis Quinlan (Lt., Q.O. K.W. Kent Regt.).

Harold Victor Robbins (Lt., Border

Regt.).

Ivor Morgan Rodney (Lt., Dorsetshire Regt.).

Christopher Holt STILWELL (Lt., E. Surrey Regt.).

Arthur John Graham STYRAN, M.C.,

A.F.C. (Lt., R.A.).
Herbert Edwin Tansley, M.C. (Lt., K.R.R.C.).

John Price Walters, M.B.E. (Capt., R. Dublin Fusiliers).

Observer Officers.

Christopher Charles Abraham (Lt., K. Shropshire L.I.).

Stuart Barnes (Lt., R.F.A.).
William Edward (Brabazon) Dowling (Capt., E. Lancs. Regt.).
Alfred Vivian McKiever, A.F.C. (Lt.,

Seaforth Highlanders).

Michael (George) Ryan (Lt., E. Lancashire Regt.).

FLYING BRANCH.

Pilot Officer Walter Edward Harper to be Observer Officer. 15th Dec. 1919.

Lt. Walter Edward Harper is transferred to the unemployed list. 13th Feb. 1920. (Substituted for the notification in the Gazette of 24th Feb. 1920.)

Administrative Branch.

Flying Officer Harold William Bower is removed from the Royal Air Force. 4th Oct. 1921.

## India Office, 14th October, 1921.

The KING has approved the promotion of the following officers of the Ind. Army, Ind. Army Depts., and Ind. Army Res. of Officers:

## INDIAN ARMY.

Captains to be Majors.

Bt. Maj. W. H. Blood. 5th Aug. 1920. C. O'B. Daunt, M.C. 25th July 1921.

Lieutenants to be Captains.

P. S. Hargreaves. 30th Dec. 1920.

J. P. B. O'C. Hewett. 1st June 1921. T. B. R. Meadmore. 5th June 1921.

18th June 1921. G. A. Preston, E. P. Platt, C. P. J. Prioleau, S. S. A. Shippard, A. E. Sansom, C. A. Hendrick.

5th July 1921.

R. S. P. Bates, A. E. G. Forrest.

6th July 1921.

S. R. Carroll, J. E. Carstens.

25th July 1921.
G. E. Harwood, F. T. Gass, L. A. Austin, D.C.M., H. R. Adams, H. L. Ogden, A. H. Parks, A. McDougall, D. Moriarty, J. C. Sutton, M.C., G. H. Roberts, J. E. Sutcliffe, G. H. B. St. Ruth, M.C.

## INDIAN ARMY DEPARTMENTS.

Dep. Commissaries, with rank of Captain, to be Commissaries, with rank of Major.

W. Misson. 19th June 1921.

W. J. Chambers. 19th July 1921.

Asst. Commissaries, with rank of Lieutenant. to be Dep. Commissaries, with rank of Captain.

F. Snook. 19th June 1921.

E. Humphreys. 19th July 1921.

## INDIAN ARMY RESERVE O OFFICERS.

Lieutenants to be Captains.

G. Murray. 12th Aug. 1920.

A. J. Thorpe. 10th Feb. 1921.

Second Lieutenants to be Lieutenants.

A. C. Webb. 19th Sept. 1919.

T. C. Collins. 21st Sept. 1919.

R. J. Keegan. 6th Jan. 1920.

J. E. Hastings. 10th June 1920.

R. D. Mackay. 18th Sept. 1920.

W. E. Holton. 3rd Feb. 1921.

Temporary Lieutenant to be temporary Captain.

G. D. Machin. 6th July 1921.

Note.—I.M.S. In Lon. Gaz. notifn. dated 3rd May 1921 regarding promotion of temp. Lieuts. to temp. Capts., for "Ramanath Singh, M.B." read "Ramanath Sinha, M.B."

The KING has approved the grant or the relinquishment of actg. rank in the Ind. Army as shown below:-

3rd Bn., 34th Sikh Pioneers.

Lieut. H. N. Pirouet, attd., to be actg. Capt. (with pay and allces. as Lieut.) while performing the duties of Adjt. 3rd Aug. 1920. Lieut. (actg. Capt.) H. N. Pirouet, attd., re-linquishes his actg. rank on the regiment leaving Waziristan Force. 29th Oct. 1920.

4th Bn., 39th Royal Garhwal Rifles.

The undermentioned officers relinquish their acting rank, with effect from 20th May

Lieut. (actg. Capt.) A. H. M. McOstrich. Sec. Lieut. (actg. Capt.) V. Rikh.

2nd Bn., 41st Dogras.

Capt. C. L. Riley, attd., to be actg. Maj. while sec. in comd. 10th July 1921.

2nd Bn., 67th Punjabis.

Capt. G. J. E. Manisty, 1st Bn., 67th Punjabis, attd., to be actg. Maj. while sec. in comd. of a Bn., from 24th May to 27th June 1919.

1st Bn., 73rd Carnatic Infantry.

Lieut. J. E. Carstens to be actg. Capt. whilecomdg. a Coy. 25th Apr. 1921.

1st Bn., 129th Baluchis.

Lieut. J. W. Farrell, attd., to be actg. Capt.. while comdg. a Coy. 31st May 1921.

2nd Bn., 1st Gurkha Rifles.

Capt. E. C. Mookler to be actg. Maj. whilesec. in comd. 5th July 1921.