18th June 1921. C. D. Richards, W. Roxburgh

H. L. Shipman. 23rd June 1921 G. C. Oswell. 25th July 1921.

INDIAN MEDICAL SERVICE.

Majors to be Lieutenant-Colonels.

29th July 1921.
A. E. J. Lister, M.B., F.R.C.S., V.H.S.
T. S. B. Williams, M.B. (Bt. Lt.-Col.).
S. H. L. Abbott, D.S.O., M.B. (actg. Lt.-Col.).

J. E. Clements, M.B. H. B. Steen, M.D.

E. Bisset, M.B.

A. W. Overbeck-Wright, M.D. J. W. McCoy.

R. M. Carter, C.B., F.R.C.S. (Bt. Lt.-Col.). G. F. Paterson, D.S.O., M.B. (Bt.

Lt.-Col.). D. G. R. S. Baker.

J. R. J. Tyrrell, M.B.

Dewan Ganpat Rai.

R. M. Barron, D.S.O. (Bt. Lt.-Col.).

W. R. J. Scroggie, C.I.E.

T. H. Gloster, M.B

H. H. G. Knapp, M.D.

#### INDIAN ARMY DEPARTMENTS.

Deputy Commissary, with rank of Captain, to be Commissary, with rank of Major.

G. A. Salew. 20th May 1921.

To be Assistant Commissary, with rank of Lieutenant.

Conductor John Horace Maule, D.C.M. 4th Apr. 1921.

## INDIAN ARMY RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

Lieutenants to be Captains.

L. W. Walker. 8th Jan. 1921.R. Teague-Jones, M.B.E. 16th Apr. 1921.

E. F. H. Gerrard. 15th Aug. 1921.

Second Lieutenants to be Lieutenants.

O. N. Soper. 29th Mar. 1919.

N. St. J. S. Clarke. 13th Aug. 1919.

F. C. Wright. 23rd May 1920.

Temporary Lieutenant to be temporary Captain.

H. Beresford-Barber. 18th Aug. 1921.

The KING has approved the grant or the relinquishment of acting rank in the Ind. Army and Ind. Med. Service as chown below:-

120th Rajputana Infantry.

Maj. J. H. V. Barr, 109th Inf., attd., to be actg. Lt.-Col. while comdg. a Bn. From 20th Nov. 1918 to 14th Aug. 1920 inclusive.

2nd Bn., 123rd Outram's Rifles.

Capt. (actg. Maj.) E. M. Skinner relinquishes his actg. rank on ceasing to be sec. in comd. of a Bn. 12th Aug. 1921.

## 4th Bn., 3rd Gurkha Rifles.

Lieut. (actg. Capt.) T. R. Hurst, attd., retains his actg. rank while performing the duties of Adjt. (but with pay and alloes. as Lieut.). 20th Mar. 1921.

#### Mechanical Transport.

Capt. J. J. O. Wickham, I.A., attd., to be

actg. Maj. while comdg. a.M.T. Coy. 27th. July 1921.

# INDIAN MEDICAL SERVICE.

Temp. Capt. G. A. Miri to be actg. Lt.-Col. while commanding an Ind. Gen. Hosp. From 21st to 31st May 1921.

Capt. H. J. H. Symons, M.C., to be actg. Maj. while commanding a Combined Staging. Section. From 21st June to 3rd Nov. 1920.

Capt. P. A. Dargan to be actg. Major while. commanding a Combined Staging Section.

20th June 1921.

Note.—Lon. Gaz. notifn., dated 16th Sept.. 1921, regarding the relinquishment of actg. rank by Maj. (actg. Lt.-Col.) E. G. Byrne and Capt. (actg. Maj.) E. M. Skinner, both of 2nd Bn., 123rd Rifles, is cancelled.

The KING has approved the grant of temp. commns. in the Ind. Army Res. of Officers to the undermentioned, with effect from the dates specified:

### INFANTRY BRANCH.

To be Captain.

William Ford Porteous. 15th Dec. 1919, but to rank from the 18th Nov. 1919.

# To be Lieutenant.

Andrew Joseph McCarthy. 1st Apr. 1920, but to rank from the 29th Aug. 1918.

INFANTRY BRANCH (SUPPLY AND TRANSPORT. CORPS.)

To be Captain.

Thomas Murray. 10th Dec. 1919, but to rank: from the 23rd Oct. 1919.

Note.—In Lon. Gaz. notifn., dated 30th Nov. 1920, against the name of Percival Gregory Harris, granted a temp. commn. in the Ind. Army Res. of Officers, for "7th Feb. 1917 as date of rank read "17th Feb. 1917."

The KING has approved the relinquishment of their temp. commns. by the following officers and the grant of rank as shown below:-

### INDIAN ARMY.

Lieut. S. C. Smith. 17th Dec. 1920.

#### INDIAN MEDICAL SERVICE.

Captains:—

Parmanand, and is permitted to retain the rank of Capt. 20th Jan. 1920. Shivshankar Vithalji Trivedi. 5th May 1921. Annasamy Muthukrishnan. 23rd May 1921. Chakkingal Krishna Menon. 14th July 1921. Umrao Sinha Gupta, and is permitted to retain the rank of Capt. 1st Aug. 1921.

#### INDIAN ARMY RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

Captains:

H. Ŵ. Young. 31st July 1921.

22nd Sept. 1921. C. G. Hobbs.

Lieutenants : –

J. Pooler. 17th June 1921.

H. G. Price. 29th Aug. 1921. W. G. Schofield. 30th Aug. 1921.

H. Lascelles. 30th Aug. 1921.

A. St. J. Sibborn. 30th Aug. 1921. W. H. Crotty. 7th Sept. 1921. W. H. Piggott. 8th Sept. 1921. D. J. G. C. Wilson. 12th Sept. 1921.

E. A. R. Lewis. 22nd Sept. 1921.