The KING has approved the relinquishment of their temp. commns. by the undermentioned officers, with effect from the dates specified:-

INDIAN MEDICAL SERVICE.

Captains:-

Brij Ratan Jain. 24th Dec. 1921. Ganga Charan Garg. 27th Jan. 1922. Shankar Narain Dojiba Gore. 28t 28th Feb.

1st Mar. 1922.

Aruldason Devasagavam, Kashi Prasada Bhatnagar, Khanchand Mulchand Gurbaxani, Monmohun Kumar, Narayandas Datta. Yajaman Viswanath Ayya. 19th Mar. 1922. Yashwant Prabbakar Gupte. 5th Apr. 1922.

Bharat Chandra Ghosh, F.R.C.S. 8th Apr. 1922.

Kunjunni Thirupod. 9th Apr. 1922.

INDIAN ARMY RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

Captains:--

E. L. Bartlett. 1st Dec. 1921.

I. G. Scott. 10th June 1922. J. P. Morkam, D.F.C. 10th June 1922.

10th June 1922.

E. W. T. Fussell. 10th June 192.W. F. Porteous. 27th June 1922.

J. Cox-Walker. 28th June 1922.

Lieutenants:—

C. A. Wells. 28th Feb. 1922.

J. Bee. 29th Apr. 1922.

R. F. Baird. 28th June 1922.

INDIAN DEFENCE FORCE.

30th September 1920.

Majors:-

R. S. Thoms. W. D. B. Watt.

G. Kinloch, D.S.O.

Captains:-

E. G. Abbott.

P. T. Rose.

Lieutenants:-

F. R. Martin.

D. E. Whyte.

B. G. Darby.

R. M. Spence. S. K. Scott.

A. Donald. F. E. Phillips.

D. Lawson.

J. G. Martin.

J. Prentice.

D. K. Hall.

Second Lieutenants:—

J. A. Murray.

S. M. Gray.

E. J. Pithie. G. S. Williamson.

The KING has approved the relinquishment of their temp. commns. by the following officers, with effect from the dates specified, and the grant of rank as shown below:-

INDIAN MEDICAL SERVICE.

Captains, and are permitted to retain the rank of Captain:-

Manuel Joseph Saldanha. 11th Feb. 1922.

Asa Nand Kapur. 1st Mar. 1922. Anand Ramkrishna Bhat. 24th Mar. 1922. Nellayappa Navanitha Krishnan. 7th Apr.

The undermentioned, the relinquishment of whose temp. commns., with effect from the dates specified, was notified in the Lon. Gazs. dated 29th July 1921 and 31st May 1921 respectively, are granted rank on relinquishment of commn., as shown below:-

 $As\ Captain:$ —

Susil Chandra Chatterjee. 26th Apr. 1921.

As Lieutenant:—

Elayedath Achyuta Menon. 24th Sept. 1916.

INDIAN ARMY RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

Capt. A. C. Gladstone, M.B.E., and is permitted to retain the rank of Capt. 22nd Mar. 1922.

Capt. H. V. Sparke, V.D., and is granted the rank of Lt.-Col. 23rd Mar. 1922.

Lieut. F. J. Foxlee, M.C., and is granted the rank of Capt. 19th Jan. 1921. Lieut. A. N. Henderson, and is granted the

rank of Capt. 1st Apr. 1922.

The KING has approved the resignation of the undermentioned officer, with effect from the date specified: -

INDIAN ARMY RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

Capt. A. J. Harvey. 28th May 1922.

The KING has approved the resignation of the following officers, with effect from the dates specified, and the grant of rank as shown below:-

INDIAN ARMY RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

Capt. T. H. Maloy, and is granted the rank of Maj. 13th June 1922.

Lieut. G. Townsend, and is granted the rank of Capt. 15th Aug. 1919.

The KING has approved the transfer of the undermentioned officers to the temp. noneffective list, with effect from the dates specified:-

INDIAN ARMY.

Capt. B. R. P. Hawken. 24th June 1922. Lieut. R. H. Ferguson. 6th June 1922.

The KING has approved the retirement of the following officers, with effect from the dates specified:-

INDIAN ARMY.

Col. F. E. G. Talbet. 1st July 1922. Lt.-Col. & Bt. Col. F. W. Pirrie, C.M.G., C.I.E. 2nd June 1922.

Lt.-Col. L. S. Browne. 15th June 1922.

Maj. J. W. H. D. Tyndall (temp. non-effective list), on account of ill-health. 13th Dec.

Maj. J. L. Murphy. 1st June 1922.

INDIAN MEDICAL SERVICE.

Lt.-Col. H. B. Foster, M.B. 28th June 1922.

INDIAN ARMY DEPARTMENTS.

Commy. with rank of Maj. W. C. Sullivan. 29th May 1922.