The following further preliminary absorption schemes have been approved by the Tribunal under Section 8 of the said Act :---

1. Great Western Railway (Western Group) Preliminary Absorption Scheme (No. 3), 1922. Dated January 19th, 1923. (120.)

By this scheme the following nine subsidiary Companies were absorbed by the Great Western Railway Company, namely: Gwendreath Valleys Railway Company; Liskeard & Looe Railway Company; Llanelly and Mynydd Mawr Railway Company; Mawddwy Railway Company; Penarth Extension Railway Company; South Wales Mineral Railway Company; South Wales Mineral Railway Company; Teign Valley Railway Company; Van Railway Company; Welshpool & Llanfair Light Railway Company.

2. South Eastern Bailway (Southern Group) Preliminary Absorption Scheme, 1922. Dated February 6th, 1923 (314).

By this scheme the following three subsidiary Companies were absorbed by the Southern Bailway Company, namely: London and Greenwich Railway Company; Mid-Kent Railway (Bromley to St. Mary Cray) Company; Victoria Station and Pimlico Railway Company.

3. Great Western Railway (Western Group) Preliminary Absorption Scheme (No. 4), 1922. Dated March 27th, 1923 (445).

By this scheme the Didcot Newbury & Southampton Railway Company was absorbed by the Great Western Railway Company.

4. London Midland & Scottish Bailway Preliminary Absorption Scheme, 1923. Dated April 3rd, 1923 (446).

By this scheme the following 17 subsidiary companies were absorbed by the London Midland and Scottish Railway Company, namely: Arbroath and Forfar Railway Company; Brechin and Edzell District Railway Company; Callander & Oban Railway Company; Cathcart District Railway Company; Cleator & Workington Junction Railway Company; Cockermouth, Keswick & Penrith Railway Company; Dornoch Light Railway Company; Dundee & Newtyle Railway Company; Lanarkshire & Ayrshire Railway Company; Maryport & Carlisle Railway Company ; Mold and Denbigh Junction Railway Company; North and South Western Junction Railway Company; Portpatrick & Wigtownshire Joint Committee; Solway Junction Railway Company; Stratford-upon-Avon and Midland Junction Railway Company; Tottenham and Forest Gate Railway Company; Wick and Lybster Light Railway Company.

(The numbers above in brackets after the respective dates refer to official numbers in the Statutory Rules and Orders Series.)

The following absorption scheme has been prepared and settled by the Tribunal under Section 4 of the Act:—

London and North Eastern Railway Absorption (No. 1) Scheme, 1923. Dated June 29th, 1923.

By this scheme the following 22 subsidiary companies were absorbed by the

B 2

London and North Eastern Railway Company, namely: Brackenhill Light Railway Company; Colne Valley and Halstead Railway Company; East and West Yorkshire Union Railways Company; East Lincolnshire Railway Company; Edinburgh & Bathgate Railway Company; Forcett Railway Company; Gifford and Garvald Railway Company; Great North of England, Clarence and Hartlepool Junction Railway Company; Horncastle Railway Company; Humber Commercial Railway and Dock Company; Kilsyth and Bonnybridge Railway Com-pany; Lauder Light Railway Company; London and Blackwall Railway Company; Mansfield Railway Company; North Lindsey Light Railways Company; Nottingham and Grantham Railway and Canal Company; Nottingham Joint Station Committee; Nottingham Suburban Railway Company; Seaforth and Sefton Junction Railway Company; Sheffield District Railway Company; Stamford and Essendine Railway Company; West Riding Railway Committee.

A further absorption scheme has been prepared and published by the Tribunal and will be settled at a date later than July 13th, 1923.

This scheme as prepared provides for the absorption of the following five subsidiary companies by the London Midland and Scottish Railway Company, namely: Charnwood Forest Railway Company; Harborne Railway Company; Killin Railway Company; Knott End Railway Company; Wirral Railway Company.

Schemes are being prepared by the Tribunal for the following absorptions :---

2. By the Great Western Railway Company of three subsidiary companies, namely:—Exeter Railway Company; Forrest of Dean Central Railway Company; Midland and South Western Junction Railway Company.

3. By the London Midland and Scottish Company of one subsidiary company, the Leek and Manifold Railway Company.

4. By the London and North Eastern Railway Company of four subsidiary companies, namely :—Forth and Clyde Junction Railway Company; Mid-Suffolk Light Railway Company; Newburgh and North Fife Railway Company; South Yorkshire Junction Railway Company.

Such schemes when prepared and settled in due course will complete the absorption of all remaining subsidiary companies, and the formation of the four Groups specified under the Railways Act, 1921.

Dated 3rd July, 1923.

By Order,

H. A. STEWARD,

Clerk of the Tribunal.

Railways Amalgamation Tribunal, 1, Horse Guards Avenue, London, S.W.1.