THE URBAN DISTRICT COUNCIL OF SLOUGH.

WATERWORKS.

THE WATER UNDERTAKINGS (MODIFICATION OF CHARGES) ACT, 1921.

NOTICE is hereby given, that the Urban District Council of Slough have made application to the Minister of Health under the above Act for an Order modifying the provisions of Section 40 of the Slough Waterworks Act, 1875, and Sections 19 and 22 of the Slough Waterworks Act, 1910, so as to enable them to make charges for water supply for domestic trade or other purposes in the water limits within which they are empowered to supply water in accordance with the following scale:—

Domestic purposes, including the supply of water to one Water Closet.

Rateable Value not exceeding £20 at £9 7s. 6d. per centum per annum.

Rateable Value exceeding £20 and not exceeding £40 at £8 15s. per centum per annum.

Rateable Value exceeding £40 and not exceeding £80 at £8 2s. 6d. per centum per annum.

Rateable Value exceeding £80 at £7 10s. per centum per annum.

Additional Charges per annum.

Baths for private use, containing not more than 50 gallons, 9s. 4½d.

Water Closets, after the first (each), 6s 3d

Water Supply by Measure.

For the first 120,000 gallons, 1s. $10\frac{1}{2}$ d. per 1,000 gallons per quarter.

For the next 15,000 gallons, 1s. 5½d per

1,000 gallons per quarter.

For the next 15,000 gallons, 1s. 3d. per 1,000 gallons per quarter.

For all additional quantities, $10\frac{1}{2}$ d. per 1,000 gallons per quarter.

An additional 2½d. per 1,000 gallons beyond the above prices will be charged where the water supplied in any portion of the limits of supply is at a height exceeding

140 feet above ordnance datum.

A copy of the Application and of all documents submitted to the Minister in connection therewith may be inspected and extracts thereof made, free of charge, at the Council Offices, No. 4, William Street, Slough, between the hours of 10 and 1 and 2.30 and 5 (Saturdays between 10 and 1). Copies of the documents may be purchased at the usual charges made for copying.

Any person desiring to make any representation or objection with reference to the Application, may do so by letter addressed to the Secretary, Ministry of Health, Whitehall, London, S.W. 1, not later than the Twentieth day of August next. A copy of any such representation or objection must be sent at the same time to the undersigned.

Dated this 20th day of July, 1923

F. R. DUXBURY, Clerk to the Council.

Council Offices, 231 4, William Street, Slough. Electricity Commission.—1923.

LONDON ELECTRIC SUPPLY CORPORA-TION (RAILWAYS).

NOTICE is hereby given, that the London Electric Supply Corporation Limited (hereinafter called "the Undertakers") whose registered office is 25A, Cockspur Street, London, have applied to the Electricity Commissioners under the Electricity (Supply) Acts, 1882 to 1922 for a Special Order under Section 5 of the Electric Lighting Act, 1909 authorising the Undertakers to supply electricity at a point within the area of supply of the Undertakers to be used for purposes incidental to the working or lighting of the railways for the time being of the Southern Railway Company except any part of those railways which lies to the westward of the line of railway from Southampton West by Winchester to Basingstoke and an imaginary straight line drawn from the Basingstoke Station to the Reading Station of the Company and except any part of the railways of the Company which are situate in the Isle of Wight.

The districts through which the said railways pass and in which it is desired to use electricity for the purposes aforesaid are the

following: -

The City of London, the City of Westminster, the Metropolitan Boroughs of Battersea, Bermondsey, Camberwell, Deptford, Greenwich, Lambeth, Lewisham, South-

wark, Wandsworth and Woolwich.

In the County of Surrey—the Boroughs of Croydon, Godalming, Guildford, Kingston-upon-Thames, Reigate, Richmond and Wimbledon; the Urban Districts of Barnes, Beddington and Wallington, Carshalton, Caterham, Coulsdon and Purley, Dorking, East and West Molesey, Egham, Epsom, Esher and The Dittons, Farnham, Frimley, Haslemere, Leatherhead, Merton and Morden, Mitcham, Surbiton, Sutton (Surrey), The Maldens and Coombe, Walton-upon-Thames, Weybridge and Woking, and the Rural Districts of Chertsey, Dorking, Epsom, Farnham, Godstone, Guildford, Hambledon, and Reigate.

In the County of Kent—the Boroughs of Bromley, Canterbury, Chatham, Deal, Dover, Faversham, Folkestone, Gillingham, Gravesend, Hythe, Lydd, Maidstone, New Romney, Margate, Queenborough, Ramsgate, Rochester, Sandwich and Tunbridge Wells; the Urban Districts of Ashford, Beckenham, Bexley, Broadstairs and St. Peters, Cheriton, Chislehurst, Crayford, Dartford, Erith, Herne Bay, Milton Regis, Northfleet, Penge, Sandgate, Sevenoaks, Sheerness, Sidcup, Sittingbourne, Southborough, Tonbridge, Walmer, Whitstable and Wrotham, and the Rural Districts of Blean, Bridge, Bromley, Cranbrook, Dartford, Dover, East Ashford, Eastry, Elham, Faversham, Hollingbourne, Hoo, Isle of Sheppey, Isle of Thanet, Maidstone, Malling, Milton, Romney Marsh, Sevenoaks, Strood, Tenterden, Tonbridge and West Ashford.

In the County of Middlesex—the Urban Districts of Brentford, Chiswick, Feltham, Hampton, Hampton Wick, Heston and Isleworth, Staines, Sunbury on Thames, Teddington and Twickenham, and the Rural District of Staines.

In the County of East Sussex—the Boroughs of Bexhill, Brighton, Eastbourne, Hastings,