enabling him in this behalf, hereby orders as follows:---

Authorisation of Landing of Animals for Exceptional Purposes.

1. The landing of the Animals described in the First Schedule hereto, which are intended for exceptional purposes, is hereby allowed, subject to the provisions of Part II (Quarantine) of the Third Schedule to the Diseases of Animals Act, 1894, and of the Foreign Animals (Quarantine) Order of 1896, and of this Order.

Definition of Quarantine Station.

2. The premises described in the Second Schedule hereto are hereby defined as a Foreign Animals Quarantine Station for the purpose of the detention of the animals described in the First Schedule hereto.

Examination Before Landing.

3. No such animals as aforesaid shall be landed except with a licence granted by an Inspector of the Ministry, which licence shall not be granted unless and until the animals have been examined by a Veterinary Inspector of the Ministry, and certified by him to be free from symptoms of contagious disease.

Regulation Applicable to the Animals on Landing.

4. The animals on being landed shall forthwith be moved under the supervision of an Inspector of the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries from the quay to the premises described in the Second Schedule hereto and shall be there detained for a period of twentyeight days. During the said period the animals shall be kept separate from all other animals, and no other animals shall be moved into such premises.

In witness whereof the Official Seal of the Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries is hereunto affixed this twenty-eighth day of November, nineteen hundred and twentyfour.

(L.S.)

J. Jackson, Authorised by the Minister.

FIRST SCHEDULE.

Two American bison (one male; one female) the property of the Zoological Society of Scotland brought from Canada and to be landed at the Port of Glasgow from the steamship "Parthenia" on or before the seventh day of December, nineteen hundred and twenty-four.

SECOND SCHEDULE.

The isolation building in the back paddock in the south-western portion of the Zoological Park, Murrayfield, Edinburgh, in the occupation of the Zoological Society of Scotland.

Copies of the above Order can be obtained on application to the Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries, 4, Whitehall Place, S.W. 1. ORDER OF THE MINISTER OF AGRICULTURE AND FISHERIES.

(DATED 29TH NOVEMBER, 1924.)

FOOT - AND - MOUTH DISEASE (IN-FECTED AREAS) ORDER OF 1924 (No. 171).

The Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries, by virtue and in exercise of the powers vested in him under the Diseases of Animals Acts, 1894 to 1922, and of every other power enabling him in this behalf, hereby orders as follows:—

Declaration of Further Infected Area.

1. The Area described in the Schedule to this Order is hereby declared to be an Infected Area for the purposes of the Foot-and-Mouth Disease (Infected Areas) Order of 1924 (No. 164), hereinafter referred to as the Principal Order.

Short Title.

2. This Order may be cited as the FOOT-AND-MOUTH DISEASE (INFECTED AREAS) ORDER OF 1924 (No. 171), and shall be read with the Principal Order.

In witness whereof the Official Seal of the Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries is hereunto affixed this twenty-ninth day of November, nineteen hundred and twentyfour.

(L.S.)

J. Jackson, Authorised by the Minister.

SOHEDULE.

Infected Area.

An Area comprising :----

In the county of Northampton.

The county borough of Northampton.

The borough of Higham Ferrers.

The petty sessional divisions of Wellingborough, Northampton (except the parishes of Cold Ashby, Thornby, Guilsborough and Coton), and Towcester (except the parishes of Maidford, Adstone, Plumpton, Woodend, Weedon Lois, and Wappenham), and the parishes of Hargrave, Raunds, Ringstead, Denford, Great Addington, Woodford, Twywell, Burton Latimer, Cranford St. John, Cranford St. Andrew, Grafton Underwood, Warkton, Barton Seagrave, Kettering, Pytchley, Broughton, Cransley, Thorpe Malsor, Loddington, Mawsley, Orton, Faxton, Draughton and Stowe Nine Churches.

In the county of Bedford.

The borough of Bedford.

The petty sessional divisions of Sharnbrook and Bedford (except the parishes of Eaton Socon, Roxton and Little Barford), and the parishes of Cranfield, Marston Moretaine, Lidlington, Millbrook, Houghton Conquest, Ampthill, Steppingley, Salford, Holcot, Ridgmont, Aspley Guise, Husborne Crawley, Aspley Heath, Woburn and Eversholt.