22nd Lond. R.—Capt. N. M. Hayford, M.C., resigns his commn. and retains his rank. 20th Oct. 1928.

MEMORANDUM.

Lt. J. Sinclair, late 6th Bn. Seaforth, is granted the rank of Capt. with effect from 30th Sept. 1921.

India Office,

19th October, 1928.

The KING has approved the following Promotions, Appointments, Retirements, etc.:—

INDIAN ARMY.

Capt. (temp. Maj.) A. F. R. Lumby, C.I.E., O.B.E., to be Maj., 5th Sept. 1928.

Capts. to be Majs.

W. D. G. Batten, 5th Sept. 1928.

6th Sept. 1928.

H. H. Marshall, M.C., D. G. Rule, G. O. Simson, H. A. Wellesley, M.C., Bt. Maj. N. G. Hind, M.C., Bt. Maj. E. J. Shearer, M.C., Bt. Maj. A. V. Hammond, F. B. N. Tinley, M.C., E. S. MacL. Prinsep, O.B.E., I. Campbell, H. G. Rivett-Carnac, E. E. Watson, C. F. L. Stevens, M.C., C. F. Marriott.

Lt. W. L. A. Fedden to be Capt., 6th Jan. 1928, with seniority 31st Dec. 1921.

Maj. W. R. James, M.C., is transferred to the Sup'y. List, 24th Aug. 1928.

The undermentioned officers retire:—
Col. G. H. Davis, 28th Aug. 1928.
Maj. A. D. Gunn, D.S.O., 8th Sept. 1928.
Maj. H. S. Phillips, 6th Oct. 1928.

INDIAN ARMY DEPARTMENTS.

Condrs. to be Asst. Comms. with rank of Lt.
Frederick Charles Rose, 15th Nov. 1927.
Frank Hoblyn, 15th Nov. 1927.
Harry Alfred Clarke, M.B.E., 1st Apr. 1928.
Frank George Watt Robertson, 3rd May 1928.
William James Dixie, 29th June 1928.
Alfred Thomas Penlington, 16th July 1928.

INDIAN MEDICAL SERVICE.

Temp. Lts. to be Temp. Capts.

Bhalchandra Kondopant Phatak, 14th July 1928.

Gurbaksh Dhamrait Rai, 14th July 1928.

The undermentioned appts. are made:—
To be Temp. Lts.

Gurdit Singh Malik, 25th Feb. 1928.
Bhairo Prasad Nigam, 7th Aug. 1928.
Sambhunath Roy, 11th Aug. 1928.
Neelakanda Pillai Palpoo Pillai, 14th Aug. 1928.

Lt.-Col. J. H. Murray, C.I.E., M.D., retires, 24th Mar. 1923.

INDIAN MEDICAL DEPARTMENT.

Senr. Asst. Surgn. & Capt. F. G. Cutler retires, 3rd Dec. 1927.

ARMY IN INDIA RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

Lt. Khatanmal Teckchand Thadani to be Capt., 3rd Oct. 1928.

The undermentioned appts. are made:—

To be Capts.

Leslie John Cardew Wood, 13th Feb. 1928, with seniority 13th Jan. 1926.

John Theodore Badham, 21st July 1928, with seniority 29th May 1926.

William Henry Webster Sellars, 15th June 1928, with seniority 31st Oct. 1927.

To be Lts.

Philip Ryder Pattison, 22nd Feb. 1928, with seniority 1st Feb. 1925.

Vinajak Krishna Mehendale, 3rd Apr. 1928.

To be 2nd Lts.

Gordon Reid West, 8th June 1928, with seniority 4th June 1927.

James Boyd Parnall, 21st May 1928, with seniority 5th June 1927.

Bhalchandra Daji Renavikar, 22nd Aug. 1928.

Capt. E. M. St. G. Daintith resigns his commn. 10th July 1928.

INDIAN LAND FORCES.

The undermentioned officers resign their hon.

Hon. Lt. Silas San Wa, 12th Aug. 1928.

Hon. Lt. Thacharakairl Nilambur Appunni Trimulpad, 1st Sept. 1928.

Hon. Lt. Chaudhri Harpal Singh, 1st Sept. 1928.

Hon. 2nd Lt. Pothery Damodaran, 1st Aug. 1928.

INCOME TAX.

Whereas it has become necessary to renew the list of persons to supply vacancies amongst the Commissioners appointed to act in the division of Tendring, in the county of Essex, as Commissioners for the General Purposes of the Acts of Parliament relating to Income Tax: Now we, two of the Commissioners of Inland Revenue, in pursuance of the powers vested in us in that behalf, do hereby convene a Meeting of the Land Tax Commissioners having jurisdiction with regard to Land Tax within the division aforesaid being respectively qualified to act as such Commissioners, to be holden at the Police Court, Clacton-on-Sea, on Tuesday, the 13th day of November, 1928, at 10.30 o'clock in the forenoon, for the purpose of choosing fit and proper persons to be Commissioners to supply vacancies amongst the Commissioners for the general purposes of the aforesaid Acts for the division of Tendring aforesaid.

F. A. Barrett.

G. B. Canny.

Inland Revenue, Somerset House, London.

16th October, 1928.