Civil Service Commission,

November 6, 1928.

In pursuance of the Provisions of His Majesty's Order in Council of 22nd July, 1920, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce the undermentioned Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, etc. (including Assignments to the Clerical Class, etc.), for the months of August, September and October, 1928:—

I.—CERTIFICATES ISSUED.

October 1, 1928.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Clerical Class, Frank Ernest Avery, Edgar James Dawes, Leslie John May, Frances Waight.

Typists, Florence Diana Dowswell, Janet Dargavel Inglis.

Writing Assistants, Norah Foster, Eveleen Mary Seager.

Indian Civil Service, Nandalike Devarao Krishna Rao, Ramaswamy Meenakshi Sundaram, Thinniam Subrahmania Swaminathan.

Inland Revenue Department: Assistant Inspectors of Taxes, James Andrew Herrick, Ernest Arthur Roe, Arthur Frederick Weightman.

Ministry of Labour: Departmental Clerical Class, Marjorie Mabel Elvin Abrams, Winifred Maud Chegwyn.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION AND UNDER THE SECOND PROVISO OF CLAUSE 4 OF THE GENERAL REGULATIONS.

Inland Revenue: Tax Clerk, Charles Alexander Cheyne.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Admiralty: H.M. Dockyards and Naval Establishments, Skilled Labourer, Samuel Spicer.

Indian Civil Service, Oo Kyaw Khine.

Post Office: Female Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists, Marjorie Anthony (Helston), Selina Annie Stephens (Droitwich, Worcester).

Skilled Workmen, Horace Alcock, Alfred Charles Ballard, Ernest Bradbury, William Henry Cole, Leonard Fairfax, Frank Guy.

Telephonist, London, Grace Dora Parker.

Postmen, John Ashton (Manchester), Frederick Price (Fareham), William Leonard Wright (Rochdale).

Temporary Postman-Messengers, Ronald Ernest Batchelor, David Bettesworth, Eric John Bower, John Montgomery Coleman, Wallace George Couling, William Walter Latham, John Peter Lawrence, Alexander Lindsay Lawrie, Henry Wellington Leeds, Andrew John Bond Luxton, David John McAvoy, Herbert Joseph Richardson, Horace William Seville, Charles Edwin Vernon.

Under Clause 11 of the General Regulations.

Office of Works: Clerical Officer, Michael Francis Beatty.

October 2, 1928.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Clerical Class, George Oliver Pike.

Inland Revenue: Assistant Inspector of Taxes, Francis Oakes Smith.

Tax Clerk, John Grenville Bull.

Ministry of Labour: Departmental Clerical Class, Blanche Louisa Young.

Lord Chancellor's Department: Clerk · in County Courts, Marjorie Lucy Perry.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Admiralty: H.M. Dockyards and Naval Establishments, Fitter, Andrew Edroff.

Office of Works: Parkkeeper in one of the Royal Parks, Percy James Castle.

Post Office: Male Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist, Brentwood, Norman Barrett Williams.

Female Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist, Ludlow, Mary Patricia Lacey.

Skilled Workmen, Walter Charles Draper, William James Gibson, Albert Goodman, Lawrence Llewellyn Langford, Wilfred Ernest Nutton, Harry Sydney Timms, Edward Samuel Wetton, Thomas Wright.

Telephonists, London, Mildred Elizabeth Bird, Sheila Mary Grace, Vera Irene Harkness, Olwen Elizabeth Harris, Lilian Char lotte Hartley, Kathleen Joan Harvey, Dorothy Levasseur, Madge Sylvia McLening, Edith Mary Rolls, Mary Eveline Shortall, Margery Kathleen Sowter, Marjorie Rachel Turner, Ethel Constance Bushnell-Wye.

Postmen or Porters, London, William Richard Chuter, Charles William Gleig. George Mant.

Postmen, Arthur John Beer (Bognor), Henry Arthur Fisher (Maidenhead), Leonard Murgatroyd (Doncaster), Thomas Power (Uxbridge), Peter Rooney (Dundee).

Temporary Postman-Messengers, Stanley Hall, Gilbert Harry Jennings, Walter McDonald, Kenneth Montague Martin, Alfred Edward Smith, John Trainor, Herbert Percy Warren, George Wigley.

Under the second proviso of Clause 4 of the General Regulations.

Post Office: Skilled Workman, Robert Petty.

Postmen, William Percival Emmott (Huddersfield), William Montague Gathercole (Croydon).

Under Clause 10 (B) of the General Regulations.

Post Office: Skilled Workman, Llewellyn George Mallion.

October 3, 1928.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Clerical Class, Cecilia Mary Grover, Ernest Albert Heckler, John Hegarty.

Typist, Annie Nicol Prescott.

Writing Assistant, Mary Noakes.

Inland Revenue: Assistant Inspectors of Taxes, James Kerr Dobinson, Herbert Allen Ferguson, John Llywelyn Jones, Leonard Wilfred Pennock.

Tax Clerk, Sidney John Martin.