Foreign Office, August 30, 1928.

The KING has been pleased to approve of:— Mr. Norton Francis, as Vice-Consul of the Netherlands at Christchurch for the District of Canterbury, New Zealand.

> Foreign Office, October 10, 1928.

The KING has been pleased to approve of:— Signor Massimo Zanotti Bianco, as Consul of Italy at Montreal for the Provinces of Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island;

Monsieur Thoralf Eriksen, as Consul of Czechoslovakia at Durban;

Mr. Ivan H. King, as Consul of Czechoslovakia at East London; and

Mr. John Dock, as Vice-Consul of Czechoslovakia at Port Elizabeth.

> Foreign Office, November 19, 1928.

The KING has been pleased to approve of:— The Honourable Henry Marks, C.B.E., as Consul of Denmark at Suva, for the Fiji Islands.

> Foreign Office, December 10, 1928.

The KING has been pleased to approve of:—
Monsieur A. Van Biervliet, as Consul-General
of Belgium at Nairobi, for Kenya Colony
and Protectorate, Uganda Protectorate,
Zanzibar and the mandated territory of
Tanganyika;

Muhammad Osman Khan, as Consul-General of Afghanistan at Delhi;

Mr. John K. Davis, as Consul-General of the United States of America in London;

Senhor Candido Pinto de Lima, as Consul of Portugal in London;

Mr. A. G. Georgiadi, as Consul of Greece at Calcutta;

Monsieur Ernest Pierre Frederic Chalant, as Consul of France at Bombay; Major William Peer Groves, as Consul of

Major William Peer Groves, as Consul of Japan at Manchester;

Señor Don José Joaquin Murillo, as Consul of Colombia at Belfast;

Monsieur Jacques Marcel Charles Pingaud, as Consul of France at Trinidad, for Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, Barbados, the Windward Islands, the Bahamas, British Guiana and British Honduras; and

Mr. Stanley G. Slavens, as Vice-Consul of the United States of America at Lagos, Nigéria.

DANGEROUS DRUGS ACTS, 1920-1925.

The Secretary of State for the Home Department gives notice that in pursuance of the International Opium Convention of 1925, he has made new Regulations under the Dangerous Drugs Acts as follows:—

Under section 3 of the Act of 1920, regulations for controlling dealing in Coca-leaves and Indian hemp;

Under Section 7, Consolidated Regulations which will take the place of the Regulations at present in force and which include the drugs brought in by the Convention. The Regulations, which are dated 14th December, come into force on 1st January, 1929.

into force on 1st January, 1929.

On and after that date the following drugs, in addition to those which are already controlled, can be dealt in only by persons licensed or authorised by the Secretary of State:—

Coca-leaves.

Indian hemp (including the resins, extracts and tinctures).

Preparations containing less than 0.1 per cent. of diacetylmorphine (heroin).

Applications for licences should be addressed to the Under Secretary of State, Home Office.

Whitehall,

18th December, 1928.

Factory Department, Home Office, December 13, 1928.

The Chief Inspector of Factories has appointed Dr. J. Reid to be Certifying Surgeon under the Factory and Workshop Acts for the Carnwath District of the County of Lanark.

Factory Department, Home Office,
December 15, 1928.

The Chief Inspector of Factories has appointed Dr. J. H. Hume to be Certifying Surgeon under the Factory and Workshop Acts for the Jedburgh District of the County of Roxburgh.

Factory Department, Home Office, December 17, 1928.

The Chief Inspector of Factories has appointed Dr. S. M. Green to be Certifying Surgeon under the Factory and Workshop Acts for the Prescot District of the County of Lancaster.

Factory Department, Home Office, December 14, 1928.

The Chief Inspector of Factories gives notice that in consequence of the death of Dr. V. O'Reilly an appointment as Certifying Surgeon under the Factory and Workshop Acts at Parbold, in the County of Lancaster, is vacant.

> Downing Street, 17th December, 1928.

The KING has been pleased to approve of the retention of the title of "Honourable" by James Dooley, Esq., who has served for more than three years either as a Member of the Executive Council or as Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of the State of New South Wales.