18th Sept. 1929. Flying Officer Francis Thomas STACEY. CLASS C.

15th Sept. 1929.

Flying Officer James Andrew Charles FLORENCE.

Flying Officer Leslie Rodway MIZEN. Flying Officer Ronald John Stevens.

Flying Officer Gerald Bourke Collet relinquishes his short service commission on account of ill-health. 15th Sept. 1929.

The short service commissions of the undermentioned Pilot Officers on probation are terminated on cessation of duty:—

13th Sept. 1929.

Francis Richard Bevan.

George Rollo O'Connell LEMPRIERE.

17th Sept. 1929.

Kennard Robin GARLE.

Flying Officer Philip Norman Romaine Hallward (Lt. The Border Regt.) relinquishes his temporary commission on return to Army duty. 12th Sept. 1929.

MEDICAL BRANCH.

Flight Lt. James Hill, M.B., is granted a permanent commission in this rank. 18th Sept. 1929.

Flying Officer Gerard Thomas O'BRIEN is promoted to the rank of Flight Lt. 8th

Sept. 1929.

Squadron Leader John Harold PEEK, M.D., D.P.H., relinquishes his short service commission on account of ill-health and is permitted to retain his rank. 19th June 1929. (Substituted for the notification in the Gazette of 21st June 1929.)

CHAPLAINS BRANCH.

The Rev. Charles Percy Nott Rowband is granted a short service commission as a Chaplain with the relative rank of Squadron Leader. 6th Sept. 1929.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS. GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH.

The undermentioned are granted commissions in Class A.A.ii as Pilot Officers on probation:—

Philip Ernest Hudson. 2nd Sept. 1929. Louis Edward Hunt. 4th Sept. 1929.

The undermentioned Pilot Officers are promoted to the rank of Flying Officer:---

14th Sept. 1929.

Derek PRICE. Charles Richard Fildes WINTEINGHAM.

15th Sept. 1929. Harry St. George BURKE. Robert William BURKITT. Ronald William Henry KNIGHT.

16th Sept. 1929.

Eric David MILLS.

Pilot Officer Alfred Graham Douglas is transferred from Class AA (ii) to Class C. 15th Sept. 1929.

Pilot Officer Havelock CLIVE-SMITH is transferred from Class C to Class AA (ii). 9th Aug. 1929.

The undermentioned relinquish their commissions on appointment to permanent commissions in the R.A.F. 7th Sept. 1929:—

Flying Officer Henry Paterson Fraser.

Flying Officer Gerard John Christopher Paul.

Pilot Officer Francis Joseph St. George Braithwaite.

Pilot Officer Robert Harston.

Pilot Officer Francis Oscar Tickell resigns his commission. 9th Sept. 1929.

## THE ROADS ACT, 1920.

COUNTY OF DERBY.

Notice is hereby given that on the 12th day of September, 1929, the Minister of Transport made an Order under Section 7 (4) of the Roads Act, 1920, in respect of certain highways in the County of Derby.

The Order will come into force on the seventh day of October, 1929, and is to the following

effect:-

I. During the period of five years from the date on which the Order comes into force, no person shall drive or cause to be driven any mechanically-propelled vehicle in a northerly direction on the highway specified in the First Schedule hereto;

II. During the period of five years from the date on which the Order comes into force, no person shall drive or cause to be driven any mechanically-propelled vehicle in a southerly direction on the highway specified in the Second Schedule hereto.

## SCHEDULES.

FIRST SCHEDULE.

Borough of Chesterfield.

Packer's Row from the junction with High Street and Burlington Street (A. 619) to the junction with Low Pavement and Vicar Lane (A. 6099).

SECOND SCHEDULE.

Borough of Chesterfield.

Tapton Lane from the junction with Durrant Road and Felkin Street to the junction with Holywell Street (A. 61) and Corporation Street (A. 619).

Electricity Commission,
Savoy Court,
Strand, W.C. 2.
12th September, 1929.

For the purposes of the Electricity (Supply) Acts, 1882 to 1928, and all Orders and Licences made or granted and issued thereunder, and any Local Act relating to the supply of electricity, the Electricity Commissioners approve of the construction and pattern of the meter (hereinafter described) for the measurement of electrical energy when supplied on the constant pressure, two wire, single phase, alternating current system, and known as the "British Electric Meters" Type S, Single Phase, Watthour Meter, rated sizes 2.5, 5, 10 and 20 amperes, 200 to 220 and 230 to 250 volts, at a frequency of 50 cycles per second.

Provided that the meter be constructed as described in the specification and drawings deposited at the National Physical Laboratory, Teddington, Middlesex, dated 31st July, 1928, and numbered No. 126, and be in accordance with the pattern meters Nos. 32094, 32095 and 32100 desposited at the National Physical