Miss Edith Helen Major, M.A., F.R.H.S. Mistress of Girton College, Cambridge.

Miss Louisa Martindale, M.D., B.S., J.P. President of the Medical Women's Federation and Vice-President of the Medical Women's International Association.

William Heathcote Unwin Napier, Esq. Controller of the London Telephone Service.

John Allen Parkinson, Esq., M.P. A Lord Commissioner of the Treasury since 1929. Member of Parliament for Wigan since 1918.

The Reverend Prebendary Edward de Montjoie Rudolf. Founder of the Church of England Waifs and Strays Society.

Professor Sidney Russ, D.Sc. Professor of Physics, Medical School, Middlesex Hospital. For work in connection with radium.

John Johnson Shaw, Esq. Seismologist. Secretary to the Seismological Section of the British Association.

John Stark, Esq., O.B.E. Assistant Commissioner of Police for the City of London.

Francis Bernard Stead, Esq. Chief Inspector of Secondary Schools, Board of Education.

James Hubert Taylor, Esq. Deputy Controller of Death Duties, Estate Duty Office, Board of Inland Revenue.

Major Ernest Blechynden Waggett, D.S.O., T.D., M.A., M.B., B.Ch., M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P. Honorary Consultant in diseases of the throat, nose and ear, to the Queen Alexandra Military Hospital.

To be Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:—

Captain Walter Murray Ablewhite, M.C. Steward of the Bethlem Royal Hospital.

Ralph Allan, Esq. Vice-Chairman of the Northumberland Public Assistance Committee.

John Hughes Ashley, Esq. Chief Constable, Criminal Investigation Department, Metropolitan Police.

James Brown, Esq., M.I.M.E. Superintendent, Royal Ammunition Factories, Royal Arsenal, Woolwich.

Robert Stanley Capon, Esq. Superintendent of Scientific Research, Royal Aircraft Establishment, Air Ministry.

Joseph MacLeod Carey, Esq. H.M. Divisional Inspector of Mines.

George Harry Collinge, Esq. Chairman of the National Federation of Meat Traders (Mutual) Insurance Association. A Past President of the Executive Council of the National Federation of Meat Traders.

John Soden Corbett, Esq. Secretary, Empire Forestry Association.

Captain William Redwood Davey. Head of the Prison Mission Department of the Church Army.

George Thomas Dixon, Esq. Livestock Commissioner, Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries.

Charles Cleveland Ellis, Esq. Senior General Inspector of the Department of Health for Scotland.

John Bevan-Evans, Esq., M.A., J.P. Member of the National Savings Committee.

Francis Edward Forward, Esq., F.R.C.S., L.R.C.P. Class I Prison Medical Officer, Home Office. James Hill, Esq., J.P. Chairman of the West Bromwich Smethwick and District War Pensions Committee.

Richard Pote-Hunt, Esq. Admiralty Pilot on the Lower Yangtse.

John Charles Innes, Esq. Member of the National Savings Committee.

George Kay, Esq. Assistant Accountant General, General Post Office.

Fred Kershaw, Esq., J.P. Financial Adviser for Trade Union Approved Societies. For Services in connexion with the Insurance side of Trade Union Work.

John King, Esq. Deputy Chief Ship Surveyor, Mercantile Marine Department, Board of Trade.

Joseph Legge, Esq., J.P. Chairman of the Willenhall Local Employment Committee.

Miss Joan Stewart Hamon McCabe. Headmistress, Milham Ford Secondary School, Oxford.

George McKellar, Esq., J.P. Provost of Ardrossan. Some time Chairman of the Joint Hospital Committee for the Burghs of Ardrossan and Saltcoats.

Frank Richard Marten, Esq. Assistant Solicitor, India Office.

Major Robert Walter Mellish. Judge of Alderney.

Alexander Morgan, Esq., M.A., D.Sc., F.R.S.E. A member of the Scottish Savings Committee.

Miss Theodora Matilda Morton. Late Principal Organiser of Children's Care Work under the London County Council.

Edward John Scarles, Esq. Collector, London Port, Board of Customs and Excise.

Frank Nevill Smith, Esq., Principal Private Secretary to the Minister of Pensions.

Agnes Elsie Diana, Mrs. Stewart (Agnes Herbert). For many years editor of the Artists' and Writers' Year Book. Member of the Council of the Society of Women Journalists.

Francis Timbrell, Esq. Chief Constable of the Borough of Bedford.

George Clifford Widdowson, Esq., F.S.I. Chief Quantity Surveyor, H.M. Office of Works.

Robert Bruce Wilson, Esq. Senior Inspector of Taxes, Board of Inland Revenue.

John Lade Worsfold, Esq., Clerk and Receiver to the Royal Hospitals of Bridewell and Bethlem.

To be Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:—

Ernest Alderson, Esq. Assessor and Collector of Taxes, Board of Inland Revenue.

Miss Harriet Amelia Alsop. Lately Matron, St. Mary Abbots Hospital, Kensington.

Alexander Smith Anderson, Esq. Manager of the Norwich Union Life Insurance Society in Aberdeen. A member of the Aberdeen, Banff and Kincardineshire War Pensions Committee.

Major George Frederick Anderson, M.C. Staff Officer, Mines Department, Board of Trade.

Alexandro Emanuel James Arrighi, Esq. Higher Executive Officer, Board of Inland Revenue.