Civil Service Commission, 7th November, 1933.

In pursuance of the Provisions of His Majesty's Order in Council of 22nd July, 1920, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce the undermentioned Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, etc. (including Assignments to the Clerical Class, etc.) for the month of October, 1933:—

I.—CERTIFICATES ISSUED.

October 2, 1933.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Typists, Gwendoline Drake Craymer, Hazel Joyce Harwood, Gladys Lottie Ramsey.

Writing Assistants, Doris Ethel Angel, Nina Rosie Proom.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Admiralty: H.M. Dockyards and Naval Establishments, Ship Fitter, John Thomas Emmanuel Felix Attard.

Foreign Office: Office Keeper, David James Hedges.

Prison Service, England and Wales: Subordinate Officer (Male), William Samuel Evens Avent.

Post Office: Male Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist (Postal), Liverpool, Herbert Kitchener Smith.

Skilled Workman, Sydney Thomas Stevens.

Telephonist, London, Joan Sylvia Daynes. Telephonists, Ursula Sarah Strachan (Arbroath), Kathleen May Webb (Stony Stratford, Bletchley).

Postman or Porter, London, James Holden.

Postman, Wilmslow, Manchester, Harold Grantham.

Temporary Postman-Messengers, James Barnes, Philip Peronne Dawe, William Henry Gregory, Alexander Thomas Gulless, Alfred William Hagen, George Edwin Herbert Jacobs, Thomas Burnett Keith, Adam McNeil McArthur, John Edward Moyser, Albert Thomas Natt, Norman Eric Newberry, Herbert Henry Packard, Alexander George Sexton, John George Snook, Ernest Eric Whitby.

Under the second proviso of Clause 4 of the General Regulations.

Ministry of Labour: Clerk, Special Class, Douglas Alexander Jenkins.

Post Office: Postmen, John Henry Davenport (Rochdale), Leslie Alfred Rundle Newsome (Birmingham).

Under the second proviso of Clause 4 of the General Regulations and under Clause 10 (b) of the General Regulations.

Ministry of Health: Health Insurance Officer, William Montague Osborne.

Under Clause 10 (b) of the General Regulations.

War Office: Writing Assistant, Clara Maud Allen.

Under Clause 10 (c) of the General Regulations.

Home Office: Immigration Officer, Edward Benjamin Burford.

October 3, 1933.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Executive Class, Alfred Francis Toms.

Typists, Edith Olive Hewitt, Margaret Wood. Writing Assistant, Olive Mary Appleton.

Inland Revenue Department: Assistant Inspector of Taxes, David Blyth Allan, Charles Henry Godden, Alexander Millar Houston, Peter Thomson Menzies, William Arthur Priestley Waddington.

Ministry of Labour: Third Class Officer, Robert Metcalfe, James Geddes Robertson, Harris Wilson.

Board of Trade: Clerk-Typist in the Ex-headquarters Bankruptcy and Companies Service, Kathleen Mary Keane.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Board of Control, England: Attendant in the State Institution Service, Herbert Edwards.

Prison Service, England and Wales: Subordinate Officers (Male), Albert Clifford Harris, Herbert Paine, Harry Raymond Potter, James Skinner.

Matron in Borstal Institutions, Norah Margaret Henesey.

Post Office: Mechanic-in-Charge, Ernest John Wiles.

Male Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists, Edward Leopold Lawley (Kidderminster), Henry Arthur Tullett (Croydon), Leonard Stephen Wilson (Weston-super-Mare).

Skilled Workman, William Clayton.

Storeman in the Stores Department, Frederick Henry Berwick.

Telephonists, London, Louisa Aldridge, Gladys Jessie Fox, Irene Florence Violet Morton, Lorna Winifred Parrott, Dorothy Margaret Pearce, Dorothy Violet Pearce.

Telephonists, Hilda Barbara Betsy Stubbs (Chester), Ethel Adelaide Wilde (Princes Risborough).

Postmen or Porters, London, Albert Edward Burrows, Bertram Henry Jeffery, William Terry.

Postmen, Walter Bowkett (Gloucester), James Douthwaite (Greenock and Port Glasgow), Edward Royland Newsome (Pontypridd), Ernest Alfred Parker (Kirkham, Preston), Thomas Lewis Upchurch (Huntingdon).

Temporary Postman-Messenger, Harold Walker.

Under the second proviso of Clause 4 of the General Regulations.

Post Office: Postman, Glasgow, James Young Gibson.

Under Clause 8 of the General Regulations.

Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries: Marketing Officer, John Morgan Jones.

National Savings Committee: Assistant Commissioner, John Henry Noel Price.