THE COAL MINES ACT, 1930,

SCOTTISH DISTRICT (COAL THE MINES) SCHEME, 1930.

Whereas by subsection (5) of Section 1 of the Coal Mines Act, 1930, it is provided that any Scheme may be amended with the approval of the Board of Trade in manner provided by the Scheme;

And whereas in pursuance of powers conferred upon them by subsection (4) of Section 3 of the said Act, the Board of Trade have made the Scottish District (Coal Mines) Scheme (Amendment) Order, 1934, which provides that the Scottish District (Coal Mines) Scheme, 1930, may be amended so as to provide for certain matters specified in the Schedule to the said Order in substitution for certain matters mentioned in the said Section 3;

And whereas it is provided by Clause 25 of the said Scheme (inter alia) that any alteration in the provisions of the Scheme shall be operative from such date as may be prescribed by the Board of Trade;

And whereas in pursuance of the said Clause 25 the amendments of the said Scheme set out in the Schedule hereto have been submitted to the Board of Trade by the Executive Board nominated under the provisions of the said Scheme:

Now therefore the Board of Trade in pursuance of the powers conferred upon them by subsection (5) of Section 1 of the said Act hereby approve the amendments of the Scottish District (Coal Mines) Scheme set out in the Schedule hereto and prescribe the 1st day of January, 1935, as the date from which the said amendments shall come into force:

Provided that where under the said Scheme as amended the Executive Board are empowered to make any determination or to obtain any information which is necessary or expedient for bringing the said Scheme as amended into operation on the said 1st day of January, and any owner is required to furnish such information to the Executive Board, the provisions of the said Scheme as amended in relation to the matters aforesaid shall come into force on the 31st day of October, 1934.

> (Signed) Ernest Brown, Secretary for Mines.

Board of Trade, Mines Department, Cromwell House, Dean Stanley Street, Millbank, London, S.W.1. 29th day of October, 1934.

SCHEDULE.

THE SCOTTISH DISTRICT (COAL MINES) SCHEME, 1930 (hereinafter referred to as "the Scheme") shall be amended as follows:-

- 1. Clause 2 of the Scheme shall have effect as if:-
- (i) the words "District Allocation" were deleted;

(ii) at the end of the Clause there were added the following paragraphs, that is to

"Allocation" means any allocation made to the District for any period under the provisions of the Central Scheme;

"Export Supply" means loading at the customary shipping places of the District as cargo into ships for conveyance therein to destinations outside the United Kingdom, the Irish Free State, the Isle of Man and the Channel Islands, or as fuel for use on ships proceeding to such destinations or as fuel for use on fishing vessels or supply to works situated at ports to be used for the preparation of patent fuel for ex-

"Inland Supply" means supply otherwise than as export supply including supply to other parts of an undertaking of which the coal mine forms part, but excluding supply for use in working the coal mines and supply free or at reduced rates for the use of persons who are or have been employed in or about the mine and the dependents of persons who have been so employed;

"The Customary Shipping Places of the

District " means:-

Aberdeen, Aberdour, Alloa, Annan, Anstruther, Arbroath, Ardrossan, Avoch, Ayr, Banff, Beauly, Boddam, Bo'ness, Bowling, Bridgeness, Brora, Broughty Ferry, Buckhaven, Buckie, Burghead, Burntisland, Cambus, Campbeltown, Carradale, Castlehill, Charlestown, Cockenzie, Crail, Cromarty, Cunc, Dalbeattie, Dingwall, Drummore, Dumbarton, Dumfries, Dunbar, Dundee, Dunston, Dysart, Elie, Eyemouth, Fortrose, Dunston, Dysart, Elie, Eyemouth, Fallin, Findhorn, Findochty, Fortrose, Fort William, Fraserburgh, Gardenstown, Garlieston, Gatehouse, Glasgow, Golspie, Gourdon, Girvan, Gourock, Grangemouth, Granton, Greenock, Hartlepool, Helmsdale, Hopeman, Im-Inveraray, Invergordon, mingham, Inverkeithing, Inverness, Irvine, Isle of Whithorn, Johnshaven, Katerline, Kentallen, Kincardine, Kinghorn, Kinlochleven, Kirkcaldy, Kirkcudbright, Kirkwall, Kyleakin, Largo, Largs, Leith, Littleferry, Lerwick, Lossiemouth, Mallaig, Methil, Lybster, Macduff, Monifeith, Montrose, Morrison's Haven, Musselburgh, Nairn, Newburgh (Aberdeenshire), Newburgh (Fifeshire), New-castle Staiths, North Berwick, Oban, Paisley, Partington, Pennan, Perth, Peterhead, Pittenween, Port Erroll, Portessie, Port Glasgow, Port Gordon, Portknockie, Port Logan, Port-mahomack, Portobello, Portpatrick, Port Seton, Portsoy, Port William, Purfleet, Queensferry South, Raasay, Renfrew, Rosehearty, Rosyth, St. Abb's, St. Andrews, St. Davids, St. Monans, Saltcoats, Sandhaven, Scalloway, Scapa, Scrabster, Silloth, Stirling, Stonehaven, Stornoway, Stranraer, Thurso, Troon, Ullapool, Wemyss, Whitehaven, Whitehills, Wick;

and any other shipping places declared from time to time by the Board to be customary shipping places of the District.