Civil Service Commission, 9th November, 1934.

In pursuance of the Provisions of His Majesty's Order in Council of 22nd July, 1920, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce the undermentioned Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, etc. (including Assignments to the Clerical Class, etc.) for the months of July, August, September and October, 1934:—

I.—CERTIFICATES ISSUED.

October 1, 1934.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Writing Assistants, Gladys Bingham, Winifred Cumberland.

Inland Revenue Department: Clerk-Typist, Mary Mills.

AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Post Office: Female Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist, Norwich, Edith Vera Abbott.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Admiralty: H.M. Dockyards and Naval Establishments, Engine Fitter, Harold English.

Department of Scientific and Industrial Research: General Assistant, Geological Survey and Museum, Robert Eckford Montgomery.

Post Office: Male Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists, John William Garner (Kettering), Charles Bertram Minifie (Altrincham).

Skilled Workman, Alexander Ingram.

Telephonist, London, Florence Le Maître Hinde.

Telephonist, Swindon, Kathleen Eleanor Young.

Postmen or Porters, London, Henry Edward Cronin, Harry Gomm, Charles Redvers Halliday.

Postmen, Frank Gibbs (Northwood, Harrow and Wembley), Ernest Henry Hiscock (Southampton), Joseph Newbury (Sutton), Allan Henry Lindsay (Kilmarnock).

Under Clause 10 (b) of the General Regulations.

Ministry of Labour: Departmental Clerical Class, Ralph Watson.

Post Office: Writing Assistant, Maud Mary Servante.

October 2, 1934.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Executive Class, Richard Arthur Savours, Geoffrey Wilson.

Typist, Edna Octavia Christian McDavid.

Writing Assistants, Eva Constance Hitchcock, Evelyn Mabel Hooper, Winifred Jackson, Mary Dorothy Rowbottom, Constance Seddon.

Admiralty: Departmental Clerical Class, Jack Harfield Roche.

Customs and Excise Department: Officers of Customs and Excise, Arthur Muff Ashworth, Edward Thomas Beer, Reginald Albert Hall, Raymond Lemuel Holloway, Richard Alexander Jefferies, Charles Rice, George Albert Ruff, Philip Sydney Tovell.

AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Post Office: Male Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist (Postal) (Liverpool District), George Hunter Willan.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Admiralty: H.M. Dockyards and Naval Establishments, Joiner, James Clements.

Post Office: Male Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist, Bridgwater, Ivan Gerald Bromfield.

Skilled Workman, Austin Cecil Mead.

Telephonists, London, Vera Bond, Winnie Page.

Telephonists, Joan Frances Firth (Huddersfield), Marie Gabrielle Fitzsimmons (Liverpool), Gladys Mary Stedman (Walton-on-Thames and Weybridge).

Postmen, Charles Frederick Ashby (Rugby), John George Cooper (South Yardley, Birmingham), Thomas Hodgson (Crosshills, Keighley), Albert Edward Huke (Richmond and Twickenham), Charles Redver Jefferson (York), Horace Henry Layen (Seaford, Lewes), Frederick Pither (Hayes, Southall).

Temporary Postman-Messenger, Bernard Joseph Hogg.

Under the second proviso of Clause 4 of the General Regulations.

Post Office: Postman or Porter, London, Benjamin George.

Under Clause 10 (b) of the General Regulations.

Ministry of Labour: Departmental Clerical Class, Thomas Creag, Charles Frederick Iones

Prison Service, England and Wales: Assistant Housemaster in the Borstal Institution Service, Harold Leslie Worthen.

October 3, 1934.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Shorthand Typists, Ursula Mary Barber, Peggy Angela Johns, Ivy Violet Lenard, Ruth Edna Plows.

Typist, Jasmine Wright.

Writing Assistants, Kathleen Mary Monkcom, Marjorie Kathleen Scott.

Customs and Excise Department: Officers of Customs and Excise, Reginald Charles Benbow, Maurice Charles Glasman, Arthur Leslie Miller, William Stanley Sheldon, William Slatter, Stanley Steel, Ronald William Wooden.

Inland Revenue Department: Assistant Inspectors of Taxes, James Coffield, Jean Durie, Sheila Tilden Hart, Richard Alexander Hogg, Hubert Corot Hudspith, John Edwin Lucas, Sidney Thomas Offen, Thomas Scott, Ernest Vize Symons.

Clerk-Typists, Lily Frances Bowden, Sheila Jane Cockbill, Maria Eunice Cowman.

Ministry of Labour: Third Class Officers, Jenny Morrison Balmain, Beryl Margaret Anna Beale, Katherine Dunlop Matheson, Laurence Reason.