5. If a Decree submitted to Convocation under the provisions of the preceding clause shall have been rejected by that House, the Hebdomadal Council shall be entitled to introduce the same or substantially the same Decree again to Congregation at any time not being earlier than the third or later than the sixth Term after that in which the Decree was rejected by Convocation. If the Decree be then accepted by Congregation it shall thereupon come into effect, provided that it is certified by the Chancellor (but not by his Deputy) to be the same or substantially the same measure as that which was previously rejected by Convocation.

6. Notice of the proposal of a Decree which does not contain a preamble shall be publishe by the Registrar in the University Gazette not later than the fourth day before that on which the Decree is to be submitted to

Congregation.

7. If a Decree which does not contain a preamble is approved by Congregation it shall thereupon come into effect; if rejected by Congregation the same proposal shall not be reintroduced before the second Term after that in which it was rejected.

8. No amendment in a Decree shall be made

by Congregation."

3. Ibid. Sect. II § 3. cl. 1 (5) (p. 243, l. 40), delete "§ 4" and substitute "§ 5".
4. In Statt. Tit. X. Sect. 1. § 3 (Statuta, ed. 1934, p. 234, l. 18), insert the following new sub-clause and renumber the subsequent subclause:-

- "(8) To make such changes by Statute in § 4, § 5, clauses 1-14, § 6, and § 7, clauses 1-3 and 6-9, of this Sectio as it may from time to time determine."
- 5. This Statute shall come into operation on the first day of October, 1935.

(L.S.)

Westminster, 21st December, 1934.

This day, the Lords being met, a message was sent to the Honourable House of Commons, by the Gentleman Usher of the Black Rod, acquainting them that The Lords, authorized by virtue of a Commission under the Great Seal, signed by His Majesty, for declaring His Royal Assent to the Acts agreed upon by both Houses, do desire the immediate attendance of the Honourable House in the House of Peers to hear the Commission read; and the Commons being come thither, the said Commission, empowering the Lord Archbishop of Canterbury, and several other Lords therein named, to declare and notify the Royal Assent to the said Acts, was read accordingly, and the Royal Assent given to:—

Special Areas (Development and Improvement) Act, 1934.

Hamilton Burgh Order Confirmation Act, 1934. Aberdeen Corporation Order Confirmation . Act, 1934.

> Crown Office, House of Lords,

> > 20th December, 1934.

The KING has been pleased by Letters Patent under the Great Seal to present The Rev. Robert Spencer Gerald Sampey, B.A., to the Vicarage of Billingborough, in the County of Lincoln and Diocese of Lincoln, void by the cession of the last Incumbent and in His Majesty's Gift in full right.

> Crown Office, House of Lords,

> > 20th December, 1934.

The KING has been pleased by Letters Patent under the Great Seal to present The Rev. Robert Simpson Watson, M.A., to the Vicarage of St. Agnes, Burmantofts, in the County of York and Diocese of Ripon, void by the resignation of the last Incumbent and in His Majesty's Gift for this turn only by reason of the avoidance of the See of Ripon.

> The Order of Mercy, 12, Whitehall, London, S.W.1.

> > December 13th, 1934.

His Majesty The KING, Sovereign of the Order of Mercy, has been graciously pleased to confer the Bar to the Order of Mercy on the following President, Lady Vice-Presidents, and Members of the League of Mercy:

President.

Colonel The Lord Cornwallis, C.B.E., Medway.

Lady Vice-Presidents.

Mrs. Mosley Cheke, Mid-Essex. Mrs. R. T. Glover, St. Pancras, North and Highgate.

. Members.

Mrs. Ryan, Lewisham. Miss Watson, Hornsey-Finchley.

His Majesty has also been graciously pleased to confer the Order of Mercy on the following Lady Presidents, Lady Vice-Presidents and Members:

Lady Presidents.

Mrs. Noel Baxter, East Fife. Mrs. H. E. Davis, Chatham.

Mrs. J. L. Sleeman, Herefordshire. .

Lady Vice-Presidents.

The Honble. Mrs. I. J. Pitman, St. Marylebone, East.

Lady Barker, South Paddington. Lady Dyson, Greenwich. Lady Latham, Chertsey-Woking.

Lady Poole, Cornwall.

Mrs. Armitage, Epsom-Esher.

Mrs. Neville Armitage, Hornsey-Finchley.

Miss A. G. Butler, East Sussex.

Miss Dora Crompton, Epsom-Esher.

Mrs. Alfred Dore, Epsom-Esher.
Mrs. Butler Harris, Epping.
Mrs. Heming Johnson, Chichester.
Mrs. Pasteur, Tonbridge.

Mrs. Howel Price, Epping.

Mrs. Prytherch, Enfield.

Mrs. Soames, Lewes. Mrs. Osborne Vallance, Faversham. Miss Wetherall, Enfield.