Lieutenant-Colonel Cuthbert Morley Headlam, D.S.O., O.B.E., T.D., J.P., D.L., M.P., Member of Parliament for Barnard Castle, 1924-29, and since 1931. Parliamentary and Financial Secretary to the Admiralty, 1926-29. Parliamentary Secretary to the Ministry of Pensions, 1931-32, and to the Ministry of Transport, 1932-34. For political and public services.

Sir Henry Jackson, M.A., M.B., M.P. services in connection with tra transport questions.

Councillor Sir Crawford McCullagh, J.P., D.L.,

Lord Mayor of Belfast.

William Mallinson, Esq., J.P. For political and public services, especially in Waltham-

Walter Russell Rea, Esq., M.P., Member of Parliament for Dewsbury. Chief Whip of the Opposition Liberal Party.

Sir (Hugh) Arthur Rose, D.S.O., LL.D., J.P.,

D.L. For public services.

John Ralph Starkey, Esq., J.P., President of the Newark Conservative Association, Member of Parliament for the Newark Division, 1906-22. For political and public services in Nottinghamshire.

Evan Williams, Esq., LL.D., D.L., President of the Mining Association of Great Britain.

For public services.

The KING has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of His Majesty's Birthday, and in commemoration of the completion of the twenty-fifth year of His Majesty's Reign, to signify his intention of conferring the Honour of Knighthood upon the following:—

Noel Ashbridge, Esq., Chief Engineer of the British Broadcasting Corporation.

Joseph Barcroft, C.B.E., M.A., F.R.S., Professor of Physiology, Cambridge University.

Alderman William Gurney Benham, J.P. For political and public services in Essex.

William John Board, Esq., O.B.E., Town Clerk of Nottingham. President of the Society of Town Clerks. On the occasion of the centenary of local government.

Laurence George Brock, Esq., C.B., Chairman of the Board of Control.

William Richard Codling, Esq., C.B., C.V.O., C.B.E., Controller, H.M. Stationery Office.

Francis Nicholas Cowlin, Esq. For public services in Bristol.

Charles Edwards, Esq., C.B.E., J.P., M.P., Member of Parliament for the Bedwellty Division. Chief Whip of the Labour Party.

Anthony Lieutenant-Colonel Gadie, J.P., Member of Parliament for Bradford Central, 1924-29. For political and public services in Bradford.

John Howarth Grey, Esq., J.P. For distinguished service to the Cotton industry.

Professor Arthur John Hall, M.A., M.D., D.Sc., F.R.C.P., Emeritus Professor of Medicine, University of Sheffield. For distinguished service to medicine and medical science, with special reference to problems of the health of industrial workers.

Cecil Hanbury, Esq., M.P., Member of Par-liament for North Dorset since 1924. For political and public services.

Harold Cecil Aubrey Harmsworth, Esq. For political and public services in the West of England.

Seymour Hicks, Esq., Actor-Manager.

Alderman William Hodgson, J.P., Vice-Chairman, Lancashire County Council. For public services in Lancashire.

Henry Nicholas Holmes, Esq., J.P. political and public services in Norwich.

John Hepburn Milne Home, Esq., Chairman, Advisory Council to Department of Agriculture for Scotland. For services to agriculture.

Herbert Henry Humphries, Esq., C.B.E., M.Inst.C.E., City Engineer of Birmingham, President of the Town Planning Institute. On the occasion of the centenary of local

government.

His Honour Judge Arthur Gwynne James,

County Court Judge.

Patrick Playfair Laidlaw, Esq., M.A., B.Ch., F.B.C.P., F.R.S., Pathologist to the Medical Research Council. For distinguished service to medical science.

Lieutenant-Colonel Charles Glen MacAndrew, M.P., Member of Parliament for the Partick Division of Glasgow since 1931, and for the Kilmarnock Division of Ayr and Bute, 1924-29. For political and public services.

Alfred Newton Macaulay, Esq., T.D., J.P. For public services, especially in Sutherland. Frederick James Marquis, Esq., J.P., Chairman of the Incorporated Association of Retail Distributors.

George Middleton, Esq., J.P., First Church Estates Commissioner, and Chairman of Committees of Queen Anne's Bounty.

George Arthur Mitchell, Esq., M.I.M.E., J.P. For services to Commerce and Industry.

William Luscombe Munday, Esq. For political and public services in Plymouth.

Clement Henry Newsum, Esq., J.P., D.L. For political and public services in Lincoinshire.

Arthur Maule Oliver, Esq., O.B.E., Town Clerk of Newcastle. On the occasion of the centenary of local government.

Standen Leonard Pearce, Esq., C.B.E., D.Sc., Engineer-in-Chief, London Power Company, Limited.

Arthur Pugh, Esq., C.B.E., J.P., General Secretary of the Iron and Steel Trades Confederation and the British Iron, Steel and Kindred Trades Association.

Bruce Lyttelton Richmond, Esq., Editor of the Times Literary Supplement.

Colonel George Fossett Roberts, O.B.E., T.D., For political and public services in J.P. Cardiganshire.

Alderman Arthur Douglas Robinson. political and public services in the Borough of Wandsworth.

Samuel Hanson Rowbotham, Esq., J.P. political and public services in the West Midlands.

Walter Westley Russell, Esq., C.V.O., R.A., Keeper of the Royal Academy of Arts.

Henry Sweetman, Esq. For political and public services in the Isle of Wight.

Alfred Jesse Suenson-Taylor, Esq., O.B.E., F.C.I.I. For political and public services.

William Brown Thomson, Esq., J.P., D.L., Convener of the County Council of Lanarkshire.