The following notice which appeared in the London Gazette of 7th June, 1935, is cancelled:—

CERTIFICATE ISSUED.

May 14, 1935.

Ministry of Labour: Clerk, Special Class, William Flower.

Civil Service Commission, 9th August, 1935.

In pursuance of the Provisions of His Majesty's Order in Council of 22nd July, 1920, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce the undermentioned Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, etc. (including Assignments to the Clerical Class, etc.), for the month of July, 1935:—

I.—CERTIFICATES ISSUED.

July 1, 1935.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Writing Assistant, Kathleen May Johnson.

Post Office: Male Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist, Stockport, Frank James Burman.

Male Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist (Postal), Leicester, Eric Chesterton.

AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Post Office: Female Telegraphists, London, Alice Harriet Dorothea Bruce, Evelyn Joan Cole, Kitty Miriam Dowling, Gladys Rose Eales, Ivy Dorothy Hinson, Peggy Glendoline Pain.

Male Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists (Postal), William George Bennett (North Wales District), James Etheridge (North Wales District), Robert John Gardner (North Western District), John Gemmell (Glasgow District), John Bain Munro (Glasgow District), George Plant (North Wales District), Walter Leonard Wood (South Eastern District).

Female Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists, Jean Scott Crosland (Liverpool District), Jean Marshall Erskine (Eastern Scotland District).

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Admiralty: H.M. Dockyards and Naval Establishments, Engine Fitter, Albert William Hopkins.

Inland Revenue Department: Clerk, Special Class, Harold Percy Ward.

Ministry of Labour: Clerks, Special Class, William James Johnstone, Lionel Douglas Terry.

War Office: Established Civilian Employé, Laurence George Gale.

Post Office: Male Sorter, London, Charles Stanley Edward Fox.

Male Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist, Guernsey, Kenneth Neville Denziloe.

Male Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist (Postal), Sheffield, Kenneth Simpson.

Female Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists, Mary Elizabeth Godden (Braintree), Mary Guy (Blantyre, Glasgow), Irene Presland (Great Clowes Street T.S.O., Manchester).

Telephonist, London, Joyce May Jackson.
Telephonist, Criccieth, Portmadoc,
Eiluned Griffiths.

Postmen or Porters, London, Alfred Joseph Fulcher, George William Roffe.

Joseph Fulcher, George Trederick Burdett (Newton Abbot), George Frederick Burdett (Hayes, Southall), Frank George Burton (Northwood, Harrow and Wembley), James Chase (Wentworth, Rotherham), Duncan Forbes (Blackburn and Accrington), William John Ford (Oxford), Charles Frederick Harris (Kingston-on-Thames), Albert Hewett Line (Dover), George Frederick Longdon (Cambridge), James Edward Lowndes (Manchester), John William Oram (Kettering), Joseph Ormrod (Ashton and Stalybridge), James Stephen Seaman (Lincoln), Richard Edgar Guy Shaw (Sevenoaks), Albert Cyril Taylor (Banstead, Sutton), Arthur John Weedon (Sutton), Stephen Whelan (Durham).

Under Clause 3 of the General Regulations.

Post Office: Postman or Porter, London, James Barnes.

Under the second proviso of Clause 4 of the General Regulations.

Ministry of Labour: Clerks, Special Class, William Sydney Pugh, Gilbert Sharp Smith.

Under Clause 10 (c) of the General Regulations.

Home Office: Inspectors' Assistant in the Explosives Branch, Theophilus William Warrell.

July 2, 1935.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Clerical Class, George Julian Norman Bolster, Gladstone Cecil Jones-Evans, Mabel Ethel Gray, Allan Roland McGlashan, Albert Llewellyn Pimlott, Walter Hudson Seadon.

Admiralty: Departmental Clerical Class, Stanley Edward Restall.

Customs and Excise Department: Male Assistant Preventive Officer, Robert James Lowe.

Forestry Commission: Clerical Class, Charles Edward.

Ministry of Labour: Departmental Clerical Class, Geoffrey Charles Joseph Denner, Wilfred John Lees, George Anderson Pealin, Douglas Storer, George Harrison Thurlbeck.

AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Post Office: Female Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists, Margaret Gertrude Johnston (Home District), Mary Ellen Irving (Newcastle-on-Tyne District), Vivienne Kathleen Vann (Coventry).