Departmental Clerical Class, Douglas Henderson Macniven.

Customs and Excise Department: Officer of Customs and Excise, Norman Angus Abbott. Departmental Clerical Class, William

Alexander Mitchell.

Home Office: Clerks to Inspectors of Factories, Howard Clarke, Ernest George Cooke.

Inland Revenue Department: Clerk-Typist, Rosina Tidmus.

Lord Chancellor's Department: Clerks in County Courts, Ernest Firth, Felix Henry Grinter, Patricia Olwen Jenkins, John Williams.

Clerk-Typist in County Courts, Elsie Lightbown.

Board of Trade: Clerk-Shorthand-Typist in the Bankruptcy and Companies Ex-Headquarters Service, Lillian Mary Hannah Green.

## AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Public Record Office: Assistant Keeper, Thomas Humphrey Brooke.

Post Office: Male Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist (Postal), Manchester District, John Arthur Barton.

Female Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist, North Western District, Elsie Alwyn Lewis.

## WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Admiralty: Pensioner Clerk in His Majesty's Naval Establishments, Alfred George McLeod.

H.M. Office of Works: Depot Clerk, John William Henry Mackey.

Post Office: Male Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists (Postal), Ronald Abercrombie (Glasgow), George Edward Broughton (Birmingham).

Female Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists, Joyce Mary Smith (Coalville, Leicester), Dorothy Wortley (Boston).

Night Telephonists and Call Office Attendants, Cyril Owen Arthur (Leicester), Archibald Percy Bishop (Leicester), Harold Percy Webb (Canterbury).

Telephonists, London, Joan Bowie, Grace Violet Dellow.

Telephonists, Gladys Dryden Caird (Newcastle-on-Tyne), Vera Phillips (Leeds), Beatrice Harrison Ridley (Leicester), Margaret Robinson (Crewe).

Postmen or Mail Porters, London, William Edward Bailey, James Baillie, Leonard Arthur Hamblin, William Henry Johnson, Albert Edward Simmonds, Victor Charles White.

Postmen, Albert Addy (East Keswick, Leeds), George Young Black (Arbroath), Joseph Black (Lurgan), Walter Ernest Owen Brailsford (Bradford), Ernest Butler (Coventry), Robert Cameron (Dumfries), John Conley (Newton Mearns, Glasgow), William James Denton (Luton), William Henry Drabble (Sheffield), Frederick Charles Dring (Sutton), Joseph Musgrave Emerson (Bexleyheath, Dartford), Andrew Ferguson (Greenock and Port Glasgow), Edwin William Henry Garland (Pinner, Harrow and

Wembley), Percy Alan Ham (Birmingham), Samuel Heath (Birmingham), Thomas Daniel Henman (Birmingham), William Edward Samuel Heau (Birmingham), Willian Henman (Birmingham), Willian (Hilverston), Edward Johnson (Newcastle-on-Tyne), William Langridge (Croydon), Charles William Lazarus (Esher, Kingston-on-Thames), Noel Alfred Looker (Devizes), James Lorimer (Birmingham), Ronald Alexander Macdonald (Fort William), George Marsden (Bromley and Beckenham), Edward Marshall (Slough). Tom Millward (Matlock), John James Moran (Newcastle-on-Tyne), George Witherington McCall Murdoch (Preston), Thomas Stanley Norbury (Widnes and Runcorn), John O'Donnell (Swinton, Manchester), Harold Edward Peacock (Bristol), Eric Peirce (Grange-over-Sands, Carnforth), Wilfred Winston Purdy (Dewsbury and Batley), Colin Albert Reeve (Norwich), Frederick Harold Rice (Whitchurch, Cardiff), Harry Richardson Edgar Walsham, (North Norwich), William Redvers Rolfe (Belton, Great Yarmouth), Donald Roy (Edinburgh), Reuben Shaw (Derby), William Aitken Shields (Enfield), Frederick William Smith (New Malden, Kingston-on-Thames), Frederick William Street (Croydon), Bernherd Southall), Charles Thorne (Greenford, Charles Vincent Tutin (Leeds), George Harold Twigg (Epsom), Thomas Wellings (Newcastle-on-Tyne), Arthur Whitworth (Burnley and Nelson), George Edward John Wilkins (Warwick and Leamington), John Murray Wood (Newcastle-on-Tyne), George Woodcock (Coalville, Leicester), Henry William Louis Woods (Epsom), Alfred Woodward (Liverpool), Frank Dudley Wren (Portslade, Brighton), Henry Gilbert Wright (Peasdown St. John, Bath).

## Under Clause 3 of the General Regulations.

Prison Service, England and Wales: Subordinate Officer, Alfred Charles Kendall.

Under Clause 3 of the General Regulations and under Clause 11 of the General Regulations.

Inland Revenue Department: Tax Officer, Clifford Arnold Hawkins.

Under the second proviso of Clause 4 of the General Regulations.

Post Office: Night Telephonist and Call Office Attendant, London, Bernard McWilliams.

Night Telephonist and Call Office Attendant, John Bryn Roberts (Bangor).

Postmen, William Glasson (Penzance), Alexander Joseph Hopkins (Newcastle-on-Tyne), Albert Knowles (Fulbourn, Cambridge), James Riddell (Crieff).

Under the second proviso of Clause 4 of the General Regulations and under Clause 10 (b) of the General Regulations.

H.M. Office of Works: Architectural Assistant, Grade, II, Thomas Fischer Stubington.

Under Clause 8 of the General Regulations.

Air Ministry: Civilian Wireless Operator, Anthony Brunskill Boswell.