Under Clause 8 of the General Regulations.

- Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries: Junior Economist, William Francis Darke.
- Post Office: Factory Forewoman in the Stores Department, Mabel Saundery.

May 5, 1938.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

- Clerical Class, Cyril Charles Baillie, Phyllis Bean, James Howard Bridger, John Anthony William Denton, Alan Douglas Hilton Gray, James Grierson, Ronald Francis Hunt, John Beauchamp Ibbott, James Osborne Johnston, Audrey Agnes King, Donald McIver Lauder, Sheila Mary Lock, Alison Marjory Lough, Eric Harry Nicholson, George McLean Pearson, William Sandiford, Violet Daisy Steer, Sylvia Christine Todd, Eric Vickers.
- Shorthand Typists, Mary Elizabeth Aylott, Enid Joan Bevan, Hilda, Gertrude Brett-Clarke, Mary Edith Clark, Elsie Maud Ellen Grinyer, Muriel Ellen Reeve, Winifred Kathleen Roberts.
- Clerical Assistants, Grade I, Margaret Brown Wright Bishop, Lilian Elizabeth Crinson, Agnes Jean Thompson Hood, Eileen Hoy, Mary Eleanor Potts, Mary Margaret Vincenti.
- Customs and Excise Department: Departmental Clerical Class, Albert Thomas Graham Boyce, Peter Ernest Hibbert, Ruby Alice Mayfield, John Smellie.
- Home Office: Clerk-Shorthand-Typist in the Offices of Inspectors of Factories, Winifred Kelly.
- Inland Revenue Department: Tax Officers, Sylvia Gertrude Atherton, Valerie Bacon, Arthur John Coles, Robert Gilchrist Finlay, Kenneth Holder, Lynne Edward Tilney Jones, Ewing McDonald, Dennis Harry Moorcraft, Edward Gale Strickland, John Marshall Wilkinson, Ronald Henry Williams. Assistant Collectors, Stanley Birch, Isabella Dickson Brown.

Clerical Assistant in Offices of Inspectors of Taxes, Bessie Taylor.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Post Office: Telephonists, London, Joyce Heleen Bird, Edna Joan Burress, Julia Amy Carter, Gwendolen Betty Charman, Beatrice May Day, Margaret Enid Day, Barbara Dorothy Denham, Norah Lillian Ethel Vivienne Anne Dorset, Frances Denness. Irene Douglas, Patricia Frances Maria Elvin, Madeline Fennell, Phyllis Eva Green, Joan Greensitt Kathleen Marv Hadden, Dora Greensitt, Kathleen Mary Hadden, Frances Harradine, Eunice Mary Harris, Evelyn Gertrude Headworth, Edna Zilpah Henley, Marie Inward, Eileen Dorothy Jessie Jones, Betty Joan Knock, Margaret Jean Sinclair McRonie, Barbara Pascall, Kathleen Ruby Ruse, Cissie Dorothy Shears, Sybil Valentine Stevens, Joan Phyllis Taffs, Grace Ivy May Taylor.

Telephonists, Lily Mary Bardell (Huntingdon), Bessie Phyllis Bartlett (Honiton, Exeter), Olga Bolton (Pleasington, Blackburn and Accrington), Audrey Blanche Forman (Middlesbrough and Stockton-on-Tees), Catherine McGregor Kemp (Oban), Mary McPherson (Bishop Auckland), Eileen Patricia Roberta Mitchell (Middlesbrough and Stockton-on-Tees), May Edith Burn Neale (Slough), Norah Newcombe (Ashington, Morpeth), Joan Louisa Pritchard (Southampton), Constance Robinson (Oxshott, Leatherhead), Phyllis Rose (Southampton), Daphne Mary Searle (Cambridge), Audrey Isobel Shackleton (York), Molly Slater (Grange-over-Sands, Carnforth), Kathleen Fielden Walsh (Blackburn and Accrington), Marjorie Ruth Ward (Chalfont St. Giles, Chesham and Amersham).

Postmen or Mail Porters, London Thomas Henrickson, Henry Albert Edward Taylor, David Lionel Albert Tovey.

Postmen, William Herbert Bailey (Winchester), Joseph Cooper (Manchester), Walter Robert Furby (Banstead, Sutton), Edward Kinsley (New Malden, Kingston-on-Thames), Arthur Dow McBain (Harrow and Wembley), Cornelius McCarthy (Harrow and Wembley), Antoni May (Welwyn Garden City, Barnet), Robert Williams Woods (Harrow and Wembley).

- UNDER CLAUSE 3 OF THE GENERAL REGULA-TIONS AND UNDER CLAUSE 11 OF THE GENERAL REGULATIONS.
- Ministry of Pensions: Shorthand-Typist, Winifred Phyllis Vogt.

UNDER CLAUSE 10 (C) OF THE GENERAL REGULATIONS.

H.M. Office of Works: Assistant Inspector of Ancient Monuments, George Hulbert Chettle.

May 6, 1938.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

- Clerical Class, Rosemary Helen Ackland, David Desmond Asprey, Frank Duncan Brightman, Winifred Mary Cormack, Gerald Nelson Debenham, Alexander Fleming, William Peter Garrod, Mary Smith Cleland, Joan Patricia Goodison, Frank Hansford, Joyce Rosalie Howard, Joyce Annie Louisa Martin, John Harold Phillips, John Reith, Robert Laurence Webster.
- Shorthand Typist, Marjorie Whittaker Middleton.
- Admiralty: Departmental Clerical Class, Ronald Edmund Northover, Harold Simmonds.
- Customs and Excise Department: Departmental Clerical Class, William Frederick Newns, Rupert Dudley Powell, Daniel John Pullen, Gordon George Roach, John Stuart Smithies, Harry Walker.
- Inland Revenue Department: Tax Officers, Irene Lily Bootle, Joyce Margaret Breatt, Eliza Thomson Lawson, James Leyland, Margaret Pickerill, Alfred Richardson, Kenneth William Trevett Rigby, Frank Shaw, William Thomas George Tate, Robert Harvey Thomson, James Walker, James Lawrence Wesley Willsteed.
- Ministry of Labour: Departmental Clerical Class, Charles Norman Tebay.
- Lord Chancellor's Department: Clerk in County Courts, Arthur John Powell.
- Post Office: Female Sorting Assistants, London, Helen Bristow, Yvonne Patricia Griffin, Phyllis Josephine King, Joan Isabel Southam, Muriel Eileen Wafer, Bertha Joyce Westall, Betty Edith Wrench.