Typists, Marion Dooley, Lily Rosina Fancey.

Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries: Clerk-Typist, Esther Bruce Aimer.

Exchequer and Audit Department: Assistant Auditor, John Alan Mitchell.

Ministry of Health: Assistant Inspector in the Insurance Department, John Martin Oxtoby.

Home Office: Clerk-Typists in the Offices of Inspectors of Factories, Olive Bentley, Mary Margaret Freeman, Joyce Frances Veasey, Berice Eileen Watts.

Inland Revenue Department: Assistant Examiner in the Estate Duty Office, Douglas John Frank Boiling.

Assistant Collectors, Margaret Edith Gould, Robert Sidney Smith, Reginald Keith Yelland.

Clerical Assistants in Offices of Inspectors of Taxes, Winifred Lily Dennis, Margaret Adelaide Gadan.

Clerk-Typists, Kathleen Guest, Joan Elizabeth Price.

Lord Chancellor's Department: Clerk in County Courts, Lilian Maud Brice.

Ministry of Labour: Departmental Clerical Class, Joyce Margaret Bethel.

Post Office: Female Sorting Assistants, London, Pearl Joyce Farman, Joan Brenda Neate, Audrey Joan Neil, Marie Elizabeth Pettitt, Janet Trent.

Female Telegraphist, London, Beatrice Eileen Dumbreck.

Male Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist (Postal), Southampton, George Ernest Griggs.

AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Inland Revenue Department: Third Class Valuers, John Raymond Davies, George Arthur Higgens.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Royal Mint: Workman, Andrew Aubrey Watkins.

Post Office: Male Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists, John Charles Hill (Bletchley), Roy William Jewell (Bristol), George Norman Macdonald (Lochmaddy), William Kirk McNair (Lanark), David Hadden Montgomery (Coleraine), Robert George Tattman (Huntingdon).

Female Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists, Joan Dora Margery D'Eye (Fleet, Aldershot), Jane Myra Edwards (Bettwsycoed, Llandudno and Colwyn Bay).

Night Telephonists and Call Office Attendants, Walter William Lea-Hair (Grantham), Louis Edney Steele (Bournemouth and Poole).

Telephonist, Liverpool, Dorothy Edmondson.

Postmen or Mail Porters, London, Isaac William Gronow, Alfred Charles Hoskins, Stephen Ernest Langsford, Philip Norman Putnam, George William Woodgate.

Postmen, George Edward Claxton (Richmond and Twickenham), Horace Leslie Cobbett (Goring-by-Sea, Worthing), Thomas Cunningham (High Wycombe), William Ernest Elstone (Guildford), George John Fifield (Hythe, Folkestone), Alfred Ernest Finchley

(Leeds), Ernest Herbert Gapp (Aylsham, Norwich), Lancelot Everest Lewis Gear (Tonbridge), Robert Gregory (Belfast), Norman Eric Hawker (Coventry), Robert Hobson (Keighley), Leslie Hull (Birmingham), Godfrey Raymond Jordan (Dudley and Stourbridge), John Alexander McLennan (Kingston-on-Thames), Thomas Davidson McLuckie (Falkirk), Douglas Mitchell (Shepton Mallet), John Osborne (East Grinstead), Sydney Purkis (Ilford and Barking), Reginald James Samms (Rickmansworth, Watford), Arthur John Francis Sherry (Westerham, Sevenoaks), David Corner Sinclair (Wick), Charles James Taylor (Caterham, Croydon), John Henry Thrupp (Wolverhampton), George Robert Ward (Waltham Cross).

Under Clause 3 of the General Regulations.

Royal Mint: Workman, Walter Maurice Wales.

Post Office: Male Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist, Kyle, Robert Stewart Holmes.

Under the second proviso of Clause 4 of the General Regulations.

Post Office: Postmen, Robert Stevenson Christie (Glasgow), Alexander Miller Oag (Wick).

August 9, 1938.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Executive Class, Philip Ernest Chapman, Jean Mary Gordon, Albert Henry Hughes, John Fussell Iles, Mair Jenkyn James, Arthur Cecil Richards.

Clerical Class, Edward Ernest Critchell, John Francis Larsen, Geoffrey Gordon Way.

Clerical Assistants, Grade I, Barbara Sylvia Coverdale, Kathleen Ford, Marguerite Florence Louise Gibbard, Mary Deakin Gill, Barbara Mary Hales, Lorna Elizabeth Helson, Daisy Irene Lake, Elsie May Plummer, Minnie Hilda Pryor, Joan Winifred Relph, Ella Margaret Rice, Joan Lilian Violet Roche, Davida Isobel Thompson, Dorothy Mary Wright.

Typists, Noreen Agnes Boyle, Janet Maitland Corrie, Norah Elizabeth Curran, Winifred French Gillespie, Ellen Maude Goode, Peggy Irene Green, Iris Millicent Greenham, Jessie Jane Knox, Winifred Peggy Painter, Moyra Evelyn Richards, Elsie Gwendoline Ridler, Edith Alice Roscoe, Anna Wallace Sayers, Kate Young.

Customs and Excise Department: Officer of Customs and Excise, Alfred Eustace Bullock.

Exchequer and Audit Department: Assistant Auditors, John Frederick Thomas Cheetham, Martin Francis Hughes.

Ministry of Health: Audit Assistant, Neil Stuart Middleton.

Assistant Inspectors in the Insurance Department, Walter Hodgson, Edward Shepherd.

Unemployment Assistance Board: Clerk-Typist, Marion MacLean MacKinnon.

Post Office: Probationary Inspectors in the Engineering Department, Alfred James Barker, John Carberry, Jack Evans, Norman Gandon, Cyril Alan Jelliffe, Frank Kenneth Radcliffe, Kenneth Roy Seamans.